Product Reviews

WSJwine Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008

Hailing from a small, family-owned château, this gold-medal find is a classic Right Bank blend of Merlot and Cab that's drinking beautifully right now. 2008 "turned out to be excellent" (Parker) – and this wine's dark-fruit flavors show why.
Average Customer Rating:
1.957 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
21
6 out of 46(13%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Review 1 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
maddog2
Location:table Rock, SC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
a poor bordeaux
Date:April 15, 2014
The color is a nice ruby garnet.
The aroma is light and non-impressive
Taste: Bright fruit/cassis/kiwi/long puckery tannic finish. Went well with roast lamb.
Lost its taste very rapidly after opening.
Review 2 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
miamired
Location:florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Poor choice
Date:March 30, 2014
Flat, uneventful, did not finish the bottle. Drank 1/2 a glass and poured out the bottle. Very disappointing considering it was a Medal winner. Do not recommend
Review 3 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PRM2
Location:MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Terrible
Date:March 28, 2014
Like some previous reviewers, I had hope the wine would improve with air. While it may have gone from utterly undrinkable to barely palatable, it retained it's unpleasant odor and bad flavor. Huge discrepancy with it's description on the WSJ site.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMarch 30, 2014
Sorry for any dissapointment- we only want you to ever pay for wines you enjoy. It sounds like a faulty bottle. We have refunded you for that bottle.
Review 4 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
redwine5
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Disappointed
Date:March 6, 2014
I have to agree with other reviewers, and in fact logged on just to see if others had the same experience. My first thought upon opening was "mothballs." I let it breathe overnight, but not at all better. Very disappointing.
Response from WSJwine:By CustomerCareMarch 8, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 5 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ColoradoTim
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Disappointed
Date:February 21, 2014
This wine had a strong chemical smell and bitter aftertaste. It is very hard for me to reconcile the WSJ tasting notes with the other reviewers and my own experience. It definitely calls into question the legitimacy of the tasting notes posted by WSJ. I'm not pleased.
Review 6 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Designmind65
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Disappointed
Date:February 13, 2014
This was the first bottle I opened from my very first shipment and I was quite disappointed with this wine. Did not like the flavor at all and was then skeptical on the rest of the wines in the shipment, but so far, this one is my biggest disappointment. The rest are pretty good with a few exceptional ones, but again this one I did not even finish, I poured it out.
Review 7 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
skeena
Location:NY NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
No more
Date:February 12, 2014
I didn't like this wine at all. It had a bad smell and tasted awfull.
Response from WSJwine:By CustomerCareFebruary 12, 2014
Sorry for the disappointment. Definitely sounds like a faulty bottle. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 8 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mscoulter
Location:Wildwood, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Bad bottle, smelled of mold and old cork!
Date:February 8, 2014
This is the worst bottle I have ever tasted! We could not finish one glass between two people. We had to dispose of this bottle. The other bottles in this delivery were exceptional! I would not recommend this bottle, I do believe it has turned bad!! If I could give it zero stars I would do so... :( Incredibly disappointed!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer Care`February 11, 2014
Sorry for the disappointment. Definitely sounds like a faulty bottle. We have refunded that bottle back to your card that was charged.
Review 9 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
berivate
Location:Nashville
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Terrible first impression
Date:February 4, 2014
This was the first bottle I opened from my case. I expected a good wine but this one had an unpleasant acidic flavor and left a strong aftertaste. Being a fairly new wine drinker, I thought it could be just me so I bought a different Bordeaux to double check just to find out that the flavor and smell was completely different. After reading the reviews, it seems that I am not the only one that thinks this one is a really bad wine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareFebruary 6, 2014
We are so sorry for any disappointment- we only want you to pay for wines you enjoy. You have been refunded for that wine.
Review 10 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MarkSutherland
Location:Saint Louis, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Weak and watery
Date:February 3, 2014
Not the greatest of wines. Had a nice flavor, but very watery tasting.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smokey
Location:queens n.y.
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
poor
Date:February 2, 2014
the taste of this wine is not enjoyable.it smells funny and the taste is horrible.i will not buy this wine again.the wine was not aged correctly .it was released too early
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MGiacomet
Location:MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Worst purchase ever
Date:January 26, 2014
"Watery", not really a Bordeaux
Stinks like cat urine.
Really bad wine. Don't buy!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareJanuary 27, 2014
Sorry for the disappointment. Definitely sounds like a faulty bottle. We have issued you a refund for this bottle. We only want you to pay for the wines you enjoy.
Review 13 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Al303
Location:New York
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Worst wine
Date:January 22, 2014
This wine was really bad. It tasted as vinegar and had a strong rotten smell.
Review 14 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cliff
Location:Nebraska
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Bretty old world style
Date:January 21, 2014
I'm a newby but Brettanomyces funky notes seem bit much just after opening, especially if you prefer new world style. Decant for 5 hours to bring up fruit and down the brett. In end better but too heavy on oak and tannins and not enough fruit to produce a balanced wine for me. A 75?
Review 15 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WineOt
Location:Central NJ
OK Wine
Date:January 21, 2014
This wine improved after being open for a while. The taste was better with food than by itself.
Review 16 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KatL
Location:El Paso, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Real Stinker
Date:January 19, 2014
When first opened, there was an extremely unpleasant odor. We let it breathe for about 30 minutes- odor remained. The first sip was really non-descript: no particular flavor stood out, almost like drinking water. But we had to hold our breath to get past the odor. My husband likened it to dirty gym socks. Finally, after 2 or 3 sips, we gave up and poured the bottle down the drain.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cath
Location:New Jersey
Not very good
Date:January 12, 2014
Was disappointed, this was not what I expected for a Bordeaux
Review 18 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
winerookie
Location:Indialantic, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
terrible
Date:January 4, 2014
This wine was not to my taste. The wine was bitter, left a strong aftertaste and seemed overly heavy. There was no need for a 2nd glass.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareJanuary 6, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 19 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mookie
Location:New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not bad, Not great
Date:December 30, 2013
Did not know what to expect as it came with the introductory offer. Pricing seems fair. Was hoping for a wow but found it to be just OK.
Review 20 for Lionstone Selection Chateau Fleur Haut Gaussens 2008
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CodyB
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Disappointing
Date:December 29, 2013
I really looked forward to trying this wine. While opening the cork broke which was a sign of things to come. This wine was nearly acidic to the taste and had a bad aftertaste. I was very disappointed with this wine.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareJanuary 3, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
1 2 next>>