Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WSJwine Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011

Reserve release from California star Eric Hickey – who's "serious about quality" (RP) – and his 3,600-ft high Santa Barbara Highlands vineyard. Warm days, cool nights and a long growing season help make this San Francisco gold medalist extra complex.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Review 1 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NCWineLover
Location:Charlotte, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tasty, smooth
Date:November 12, 2014
Full bodied, smooth, nice dinner wine. Recommended for most wine lovers.
Review 2 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rett
Location:Whitestone,NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
great purchase
Date:September 1, 2014
NADIA has a very nice aroma. Although it's a little on the bold side the taste was amazing.
Review 3 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LapisLee
Location:Lynchburg, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
The Best Introductory Bottle & Top Cali Cab Blend
Date:May 14, 2013
The wine looks Ruby colored. The legs are Slow. It smells like Black currant (cassis), Blackberry, Fig, Cherry and Oak. It tastes like Black currant (cassis), Fig, Cherry, Oak, Clove, Violet, Black Olive, and Walnut. The body is Medium/Full. The wine has Silky texture. The wine finishes Long.
This is clearly one of the best California Cabernet blends that I have ever tasted and I seriously doubt there is a better wine in the 15-bottle introductory box I received.
For me the 78% Cab, 12% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc is the perfect blend because it balances the tannins in the Cabernet Sauvignon, mellows the flavor slightly and produces a highly drinkable wine that pairs well with almost any red meat, fruit or hard cheese.
To have received this bottle for $6.23, when it's nearly impossible to buy it online for less than $19 is a real steal and I suspect each box has one wine that is definitely priced well below the usual price point to encourage repeat buyers.
I think that I am drinking this case in just the right order, because each wine has, for the most part, been better than the one before, in spite of my not really knowing what to expect due to my relative inexperience, not so much in drinking, but in thinking about and reviewing wine carefully and thoughtfully.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NewCouple52
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Cab, Strong Taste
Date:May 10, 2013
We liked the rich aroma and the strong legs. The taste was good but we thought it had a little too much alcohol flavor. Maybe needs a little more aeration as you decant it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cherie
Location:Jacksonvile, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
She came to us via Discovery
Date:May 5, 2013
This superb wine came to us in our first Discovery Club case. Saving up for a case or two.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
InVinoVeritas
Location:New York
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
This wine is an Elixir!
Date:April 3, 2013
This wine has heallng properties. I would buy it again when the price point is right.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Michele
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Excellent and Smooth
Date:March 10, 2013
This is one of my favorites so far from my introductory case. The color is rich and it is very flavorful with the berry and plum mix. I did not decant as suggested, but will do so with my next bottle.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nino
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Do Not Waste Your Money!!!
Date:March 8, 2013
I have been to Napa three times within the past five years. This could be the worst California wine that I have ever tasted. Maybe it is because when I received my case the bottle had more dust on it than a 100 Year Old bottle. I am assuming that all the bottles this company sells sits in storage for years because NO ONE ELSE will buy them. I do not know which was worse this or the Chianti that tasted like water with food coloring! I will be canceling my account ASAP!!!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mmacbeth
Location:sebring, fl
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very good wine!
Date:February 28, 2013
I have more wine knowledge, but I believe my wife has a better natural palate for wine. Anyway we both really liked this wine. It was as good or better than many California cabs that cost much more. Bright and fruity with little wood.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kalnins
Location:Arvada, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Terrific
Date:February 18, 2013
Decanting for an hour is important. Open and is tight, decant and it is superb.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Artie46
Location:Staten Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Seriously good buy
Date:February 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this cab. Mouth filling with a smooth finish. I got two of these gems in my introductory case. I enjoyed the 2nd bottle even more when I found it on this site at nearly $25 a bottle. Thank you WSJ!
My 1st case averaged $6.50 with the 3 bonus bottles of chianti. At that price I'll take by this one by the case.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheebs
Location:Madison, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
a favorite
Date:January 26, 2013
I enjoyed a full body flavor with satisfying and notable hints of spice yet too smooth to interfere with the experience.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
David16
Location:Colorado
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
clean and clear
Date:January 6, 2013
Excellent mid-level red. Dark fruits with a spicy kick.
Review 14 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LoveZinCab
Location:San Jose, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very good wine
Date:December 11, 2012
This has a rich color and a very nice flavor. It's perfectly balance and I consider it a medium weight cab - and a 4 to 5 rating. I would feel lucky to pay $12 for this.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NoWineSnob
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
No thanks!
Date:December 10, 2012
I can normally drink a glass of any wine, liking some more than others, but always finish the glass. But I couldn't get past three sips of this one. The entire bottle went down the drain.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 14, 2012
Very sorry you didn't like this wine! We don't want you to pay for any wines you don't enjoy, so we'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 16 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jjcc
Location:ny
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nadia
Date:November 7, 2012
nice blend between cab merlot and franc.
enjoyed this wine, smooth, rich, great aroma.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imajoey
Location:Maple Valley, WA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Fabulous
Date:October 9, 2012
I loved this bottle of wine, very smooth, a hint of sweet, not dry. Would definately purchase again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
This review is fromNadia Winemaker's Reserve 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very Nice California Bordeaux
Date:May 3, 2012
The 2010 Nadia Winemaker's Reserve is a very nice Bordeaux blend which is comprised of 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 22% Merlot and %18% Cabernet Franc. The wine poured a rich dark red color. Its nose projected the aromas of deep plummy fruit, black olives and enticing spices. On the palate the taste was quite refined with flavors of plums, mellow dark cherries and black olives coming forth. It was very smooth with well integrated tannins and had a nice finish. Overall this one rates 4.5 stars in our book.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 7
Enjoyment: 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value: 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5