Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WSJwine Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011

Reserve release from California star Eric Hickey – who's "serious about quality" (RP) – and his 3,600-ft high Santa Barbara Highlands vineyard. Warm days, cool nights and a long growing season help make this San Francisco gold medalist extra complex.
Average Customer Rating:
4.065 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
41 out of 46(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Review 1 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2015
I give this wine 3.5 stars. It was robust, with high tannins and plenty of acidity. I think it was just missing a little balance in the acidity.
Review 2 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good Cab
Date:July 27, 2015
The Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2013 is actually a blend of 83% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Cabernet Franc and 7% Merlot. As such it was different from your typical California Cab's and these added grapes provided some extra depth and complexity to the overall taste. Its nose offered up the aromas of black fruit, cigar box, and a touch of smoky vanilla. We decanted our bottle for the recommended hour and this help to soften up the wine and bring out more ripe fresh fruit flavors. It also helped to tame down the initial alcohol bite which I got during my first sip out of the bottle. We enjoyed our bottle with some grilled New Yprk Strip steaks and it was a good pairing.
Review 3 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Date:July 10, 2015
Great Cab. Needs big red meat to go with this wine, tasty!!
Review 4 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Date:July 5, 2015
Thouroghly enjoyable wine. Full bodied and smooth.
Review 5 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
great!
Date:July 3, 2015
Great aroma, great flavor.
It is a very good blend, with those dark fruits supporting the Cabernet's tannins.
i really enjoyed it. And the case had two bottles of this wine! i need to think carefully when to try the second.
Review 6 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Nice wine for a good meal.
Date:June 22, 2015
This is a bold wine and deserves a bold meal. We decanted per recommendation then paired with Top Sirloin from the grill and fresh vegetables. It has a lot of spice, fairly dry and a lot of oak at the finish. It’s a bit pricey but nice offering to pair with a good meal.
Review 7 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Bit Too Strong
Date:June 16, 2015
Very nice wine, but not to my liking. A little too oaky and strong.
Review 8 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, IL
Nose of a Great Bordeau
Date:June 10, 2015
Decanting advice taken and the result was spectacular! Break it out for company with a steak and rake in the compliments.
Review 9 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, Wi
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Bland Wine
Date:November 19, 2014
With tax and delivery charges, I paid $28 per bottle for a 76% Cabernet. I've had $30 bottles of wine before and this Nadia wine pales in comparison. I even opened a second bottle for a comparison test and was greatly disappointed. I will think twice before ordering any more recommended wine.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceNovember 21, 2014
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any future wine club cases.
Review 10 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tasty, smooth
Date:November 12, 2014
Full bodied, smooth, nice dinner wine. Recommended for most wine lovers.
Review 11 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitestone,NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
great purchase
Date:September 1, 2014
NADIA has a very nice aroma. Although it's a little on the bold side the taste was amazing.
Review 12 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lynchburg, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
The Best Introductory Bottle & Top Cali Cab Blend
Date:May 14, 2013
The wine looks Ruby colored. The legs are Slow. It smells like Black currant (cassis), Blackberry, Fig, Cherry and Oak. It tastes like Black currant (cassis), Fig, Cherry, Oak, Clove, Violet, Black Olive, and Walnut. The body is Medium/Full. The wine has Silky texture. The wine finishes Long.
This is clearly one of the best California Cabernet blends that I have ever tasted and I seriously doubt there is a better wine in the 15-bottle introductory box I received.
For me the 78% Cab, 12% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc is the perfect blend because it balances the tannins in the Cabernet Sauvignon, mellows the flavor slightly and produces a highly drinkable wine that pairs well with almost any red meat, fruit or hard cheese.
To have received this bottle for $6.23, when it's nearly impossible to buy it online for less than $19 is a real steal and I suspect each box has one wine that is definitely priced well below the usual price point to encourage repeat buyers.
I think that I am drinking this case in just the right order, because each wine has, for the most part, been better than the one before, in spite of my not really knowing what to expect due to my relative inexperience, not so much in drinking, but in thinking about and reviewing wine carefully and thoughtfully.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Cab, Strong Taste
Date:May 10, 2013
We liked the rich aroma and the strong legs. The taste was good but we thought it had a little too much alcohol flavor. Maybe needs a little more aeration as you decant it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonvile, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
She came to us via Discovery
Date:May 5, 2013
This superb wine came to us in our first Discovery Club case. Saving up for a case or two.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
This wine is an Elixir!
Date:April 3, 2013
This wine has heallng properties. I would buy it again when the price point is right.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Excellent and Smooth
Date:March 10, 2013
This is one of my favorites so far from my introductory case. The color is rich and it is very flavorful with the berry and plum mix. I did not decant as suggested, but will do so with my next bottle.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Do Not Waste Your Money!!!
Date:March 8, 2013
I have been to Napa three times within the past five years. This could be the worst California wine that I have ever tasted. Maybe it is because when I received my case the bottle had more dust on it than a 100 Year Old bottle. I am assuming that all the bottles this company sells sits in storage for years because NO ONE ELSE will buy them. I do not know which was worse this or the Chianti that tasted like water with food coloring! I will be canceling my account ASAP!!!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sebring, fl
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very good wine!
Date:February 28, 2013
I have more wine knowledge, but I believe my wife has a better natural palate for wine. Anyway we both really liked this wine. It was as good or better than many California cabs that cost much more. Bright and fruity with little wood.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Terrific
Date:February 18, 2013
Decanting for an hour is important. Open and is tight, decant and it is superb.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Seriously good buy
Date:February 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this cab. Mouth filling with a smooth finish. I got two of these gems in my introductory case. I enjoyed the 2nd bottle even more when I found it on this site at nearly $25 a bottle. Thank you WSJ!
My 1st case averaged $6.50 with the 3 bonus bottles of chianti. At that price I'll take by this one by the case.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>