Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Saserello 2010

“Everybody's talking about how fantastic today's best Sicilian wines are,” says Decanter — and the renowned Mario Ercolino’s gold-medal winning ‘Super Sicilian’ will show you why.
Average Customer Rating:
3.588 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
23 out of 34(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saserello 2010
Review 1 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GOVik
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not an enjoyable wine
Date:July 10, 2014
I have received several bottles as a part of various packages. This wine isn't enjoyable to my wife and me. It has somewhat of a bitter taste.
Response from WSJwine:By CustomerCareJuly 13, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy the wine, perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven't already been refunded we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 2 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PapaRazzi
Location:LI, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Malbec
Date:June 14, 2014
Great finish. Soft to the palette with a hint of blackberry and currant.
Review 3 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ferenc
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Enjoyable
Date:May 5, 2014
Loved it. Full bodied; aromatic, earthy smell. Pleasing to the pallet – paired excellently with a sharp cheddar cheese. A fairly decent value at less than $15 a bottle, we would recommend this to friends.
Review 4 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cecco
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Certainly Sassy Saserello
Date:February 21, 2014
Sweet, syrupy, cherry, vanilla, dark, different, fruity and good with pasta.
Review 5 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yanknc
Location:NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Enjoyable
Date:February 1, 2014
Full bodied, smooth and flavorful. Was concerned that it would be to fruity, but was surprised and really enjoyed this wine.
Review 6 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PreferReds
Location:Upland, California
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Satisfying and Excellent with Pasta
Date:January 31, 2014
We opened this 2011 Super Sicilian for a Friday night dinner of classic Italian Pasta with Red Meat Sauce. The combination was superb and everyone spoke highly of the pairing. We are glad to see that WSJ shipped two bottles. We will reorder.
Review 7 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wineenthusiast
Location:new york
disappointing
Date:January 22, 2014
high hopes for this wine after sampling the initial taste and aroma. however, the fruitiness of the wine quickly overpowered the complexity making it more similar to fruit juice. Utterly disappointing.
Review 8 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wineisgood
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wow!
Date:November 30, 2013
Wow, I was so surprised! Great nose and taste. Full bodied and long, lasting smooth texture. Im buying a case!
Review 9 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Consumer
Location:MA
Too many bottles
Date:November 1, 2013
We were disappointed to find another two bottles of this wine in a preselected purchase. Not sure what went in to this wine besides grapes, but it did not agree with us.
It has no resemblance to earthy "real" Sicilian wines. Merchandise made for a targeted market.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareNovember 11, 2013
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 10 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Syrupy Saserello
Date:September 23, 2013
The 2011 Saserello is a different wine than the 2009 that we had previously rated quite a while back. Gone is the overly earthy Italian terroir smells from the 2009 bottling which have been replaced by significant syrupy cherry aromas in the 2011. Pouring a relatively bright cherry color in the glass I had high hopes for the taste. The fruit vs. alcohol balance was much better than the 2009 bottling with the alcohol bite tamed down and while the fruit was still on the tart side it was much mellower than the 2009. The biggest downside for us was that the aroma experienced on the nose translated over into a taste which was very reminiscent of cherry cough syrup and sweet licorice. These are definitely not characteristics that we look for in a good bottle of "dry" Italian red wine and as such we cannot recommend it to anyone but novice red wine drinkers who might appreciate the wines syrupy sweetness.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saserello 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorthofBoston
Location:Boston
Nice Stuff
Date:April 1, 2013
Loved the big jammy fruit forward nature of this offering. Served with the anitpasto at recent family gathering and it was a a big hit. Matched up well with the prosccuito, aged provolone, and other cured meats and strong Italian cheeses we typically have on our antipasto at this time of year.
Review 12 for Saserello 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SongOfTheBeach
Location:Carolina Beach, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
First Drink of Heaven
Date:January 7, 2013
Excellent Flavor. Smooth, Pleasing and OH! I'm in a happy place! It made my tastebuds dance with joy!
Review 13 for Saserello 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Harry
Location:Charleston, WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Sicilian wine
Date:November 14, 2012
I like Sicilian but this blend is terrible. I don' t know why it is called super.
Review 14 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2009.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Onabighill
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Vile - Bad Bottle?
Date:September 15, 2012
I was concerned when I poured my first glass and it fizzed. Took a sip and it was not enjoyable at all. Tasted like it was going to vinegar? Worried about the second bottle that I got in the case. Will be contacting customer service.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceSeptember 18, 2012
Thanks for review. Yes, does sound like it could be a faulty bottle. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a full refund if you haven't already contacted us.
Review 15 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2009.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HagueGal
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Plumy
Date:May 28, 2012
The plum comes on strong with the first sip. After that the flavors balance out more. Quite tasty.
Review 16 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2009.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NewbaumTurk
Location:Columbus, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A cheeky little Sicilian
Date:May 19, 2012
Nice, even after just opening the bottle. A fantastic blend with plenty of zest but packed with flavor and stuffed with quality. I tried it with smoked gouda and it was a hit. It might be a little spicy by itself for some tastes, so experiment with some favorite foods. It might qualify as a grillin' red with the right foods. Enjoy!
Review 17 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2009.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bridgeplayer
Location:Ridgefield,NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
good wine
Date:May 1, 2012
I have been getting wines from the WSJ club for about a year now. This is my first review because I was impelled to express my delight for this wine. IT is a real smooth red with a nice fruity taste. I usually like cabs and Shiraz but this one contains 2 other grapes as well. I really enjoy it
Review 18 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2009.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Milonguero
Location:New Mexico
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Flavorful Sicilian
Date:March 23, 2012
This is a nice, inexpensive Italian. No complaints, and much better than most at this price. A bit on the fruity side but it does not linger and is very enjoyable. The bottle went fast. No hesitation on getting more.
Review 19 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2009.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JBCS
Location:NC
Great value
Date:January 19, 2012
A very enjoyable wine at a reasonable price. Full-bodied with a lot of fruit, but distinctively Italian.
Review 20 for Saserello 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Missed the Mark
Date:November 27, 2011
This wine is comprised of equal parts of Cabernet, Merlot, Sangiovese and Syrah. However, these 4 regal grapes just don't come together in a harmonius way in this wine as the alcohol seems to bite and overshadow the fruit. It's OK to drink with pizza, but that's about it.
1 2 next>>