Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Saserello 2010

“Everybody's talking about how fantastic today's best Sicilian wines are,” says Decanter — and the renowned Mario Ercolino’s gold-medal winning ‘Super Sicilian’ will show you why.
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
46
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
6
79 out of 92(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saserello 2010
Review 1 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2015
Blow away by the quality of this wine. Paired well with bolognese. Very well rounded for such a young wine. I had to go back and check the year. Very impressive wine from a region I know very little about.
Review 2 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2015
My friends find this a light and enjoyable wine at cocktail hour.
Review 3 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2015
Great color, nose and taste. It has a silky, fruity finish. It really fills the mouth with balanced flavor!
Review 4 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Jack of all trades
Date:July 13, 2015
The 2013 Saserello has some bright fruit, some spice and plums and a slightly tart cherry finish. No surprises given the four grapes, of equal amount, in this blend. Not a show horse but then again Tuesdays need a wine too...
Review 5 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Surprise
Date:July 6, 2015
Light on the nose - rose petals and clove, fuller mouth-feel than expected, light-bodied - noted that it was oddly reminiscent of our favorite Molly Dooker Blue Eyed Boy, just a bit lighter
Review 6 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Saserello 2013
Date:June 21, 2015
Dark red colored. Nose earthy and closed with tobacco box intrigue. Forest. Initial flavor is a burst of intense dark fruit, Opens to jammy semi-sweetness. Quite acidic and red currant in the lingering finish.
Review 7 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Quad-Blend Southern Italian Charmer
Date:June 11, 2015
Saserello is a rich wine - and my first experience suggests it needs to breathe some time before you really enjoy it. I didn't pick up as much of the spicy/peppery notes but there was earthy richness balanced by syrupy fruit taste and mouthfeel. This would pair very well with rich red meats including lamb dishes. I also hope to try it in the future with a white pasta sauce dish.
Review 8 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good Value
Date:June 7, 2015
The Saserello 2013 is a good value wine for the money. It poured a deep black cherry color. Its nose projected the aromas dark fruit, menthol and spicy oak. When tasted it was a solid wine on all accounts and you could find no faults. It's a good everyday drinker, but not one of those wines you would uncork for a special occasion.
Review 9 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Value
Date:May 19, 2015
Medium to full body. Hint of spice/smoke. Very nice drinking wine that could be paired well with a number of robust dishes. Good value.
Review 10 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbus, Ohio
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Comfortable Red
Date:March 15, 2015
This wine is a very comfortable wine. It is not a big heavy red nor is it a light red. It wasn't as robust as I expected but very enjoyable and fruit forward
Review 11 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Sip on the Wild Side
Date:February 26, 2015
This is a very enjoyable wine that still exhibits young wildness. Very fruity, nicely balanced and smooth. Will benefit from aging for a few years to blend things together.
Review 12 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Surprise
Date:February 20, 2015
Very nice and smooth with a spicy finish (black pepper). We save this to sip after our meal!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ridgewood, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
good value
Date:February 16, 2015
My wife loved this wine, it was very good value. Needed to age a bit more but very smooth and nice deep flavor, on the "bigger" side of taste for a red wine as opposed to lighter ones.
Review 14 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salmon, Idaho
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
good every day wine
Date:February 15, 2015
I enjoyed this one as an affordable every day wine
Review 15 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Smooth
Date:February 15, 2015
So smooth my wife and I drank almost two bottles on Friday night with a nice home made shrimp risotto and dutch oven bread. Not going to pretend to be a wine snob. It was really good and no headache afterward.
Review 16 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:estero, florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Date:February 13, 2015
This is really good wine. Reminds me of the 2011 Il Papavero which I love.
Review 17 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbia, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Excellent Blend
Date:January 21, 2015
Velvety smooth with immediate ripe berry hints and mild white pepper finish. Nice tannin's. A wine I would be happy drinking every day. Planning on buying a case for the price.
Review 18 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rye NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
FABULOUS ~ !
Date:December 28, 2014
Let it breathe just a bit before serving & it's stunning!!
Smooth cab, merlot, syrah blend that is absolutely delicious.
Goes well with hearty foods and even by itself!
Review 19 for Saserello 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT.
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best for price
Date:November 9, 2014
Easy to drink, and a serious bargain. Certainly not a premium red, but neither is the price
Review 20 for Saserello 2010
This review is fromSaserello 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bradenton, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Interesting Italian Red
Date:December 20, 2014
This wine has a very robust taste, yet not overpowering. Nice smooth finish, it paired very well with veal parmigiana. I would definitely buy this wine again.
1 2 3 next>>