Product Reviews

WSJwine Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010

Just beyond the (tiny) premium hill of Hermitage is Crozes-Hermitage, whose wines are a great-value introduction to pure Syrah at its finest – especially in the superlative 2010 vintage. A flavor-packed find from a dynamic winemaking duo.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Review 1 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clnew
Location:Currituck
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Enjoyable to drink
Date:November 16, 2014
A good table wine. I liked it and would drink another bottle if I had it but won't reorder. Rather take a risk on something that sounds great but never had before!
Review 2 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrenchWineSnob
Location:Arvada, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Rave reviews
Date:June 16, 2014
I was surprised at the other reviews of this wine. I brought this wine to a dinner party and it received rave reviews. This wine is full bodied with a smooth finish. I will be ordering more.
Review 3 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RougeOenophile
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not That Memorable But Decent
Date:January 7, 2014
Honestly I think these two bottles were overshadowed by other excellent reds in our case. I like Syrahs and this is an easy drinking medium red. However it just didn't seem more than average and certainly in the price range you can spend a bit more and get a better wine.
Review 4 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Lighter & Brighter Syrah
Date:December 26, 2013
The Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010 turned out to present a very different expression of the Syrah grape than the domestic Syrah's that I am used to drinking. It was much lighter in body and brighter in taste with a significant higher level of acidity. I decanted the bottle for a full 2 hours before drinking. Its color was an inky red-purple. Its nose offered up the aromas of dark plums with a high level of mineral content as well as a dash of white pepper. On the palate the taste was lighter than expected with a zesty plum/tart cherry type of flavor with lively acidity. Just as mentioned in the promotional advertising the wine did add a good dose of white pepper and a touch of violet as highlights. However, the finish did come up somewhat on the short side which was most likely due to that high level of acidity. My favorite Syrah is still the "Renaudin Reserve Carneros 2009" which provided opulent deep and dense fruit flavors with highlights of coffee, tobacco and dark chocolate, but none the less this French Syrah still provided an admirable drinking experience.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sethshaun
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very nice
Date:December 8, 2013
At first taste I was NOT overwhelmed, but I gave it a little more time. Wow, it really came to life! Very nice...
Review 6 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wswalker
Location:Fort Smith, AR
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pure Vinegar!
Date:October 21, 2013
I received this wine within a case of assorted wines. This bottle must have been bad because it tasted like pure vinegar! I will not be drinking any more of this particular brand.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareOctober 24, 2013
Sorry for the disappointment. Definitely sounds like a faulty bottle. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 7 for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cecco
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
The Taste of the Grape
Date:May 7, 2013
Many reviews discuss the different tastes that are elicited from a good wine. But often the taste of pure grape is often ignored. This wine has the grape taste. Yes, tastes like properly fermented grapes. Good style.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Les Deux Cotes Crozes Hermitage 2010
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4
Enjoyment: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5