Product Reviews

WSJwine Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012

Simona Barbanera's flagship cuvée has been hailed as “one of the all-time great Super Tuscan reds.” This exclusive (far more affordable) option’s made with the same Sangiovese-based blend, and has a history gold-medal acclaim. Enjoy the new release.
Average Customer Rating:
3.847 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (163 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
66
3 stars
23
2 stars
8
1 star
13
133 out of 163(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Review 21 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TomG
Location:New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Lacks flavor
Date:August 4, 2014
After reading the description, my wife and I took this wine to an Italian restaurant. We both felt the flavor was weak. It got a little better as it opened up, but got lost with the meal.
Review 22 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryjuno
Location:Chicago, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Date:August 1, 2014
Full bodied, balanced with fruit and smooth finish-good enough by itself, or with chocolate
Review 23 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Banksjiowa
Location:Iowa
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
good but not great
Date:July 31, 2014
We enjoyed the wine but it lacked any memorable "wow" factor for us. Soft, nice, ok, mellow. Prefer something with more body and more memorable. Good value however at the price point.
Review 24 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Johnnythewire
Location:San Francisco
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Better with tomato sauce
Date:July 23, 2014
Pretty thin and acidic by itself. Passable for tomato dishes.
Review 25 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck1234
Location:San Diego
Lush Fruit
Date:August 19, 2014
This wine has wonderful fruit and a nice smooth finish. It is always a hit when I serve it.
Review 26 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorCalJG
Location:Fremont, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Favorite from Toscana
Date:June 29, 2014
I really love this wine. Aroma of dark berries with an smooth taste of peppers and red fruit. Enjoy with a great pasta or after dinner with dark chocolate.
Review 27 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curiousme
Location:Nyack, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Favorite Tuscan So Far
Date:May 4, 2014
Enjoy the robust flavors, and good with almost anything. Ordered a case of this, which was 2012. But the 2010 is a bit better at this point.
Review 28 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tamoshanter12
Location:San Luis Obispo County, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Daughter raved about this one
Date:April 5, 2014
Gave this one to my daughter and she loved it enough to ask me where I got the bottle!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erin
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Favorite
Date:March 13, 2014
From the first case that came, this way by far my favorite. Complex and earthy.
Review 30 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Northerncalifornia
Location:East Bay
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Tuscan
Date:February 28, 2014
We enjoyed this wine with a salumi and cheese platter, and it was excellent. Fruity with decent tannins, and great after taste. Even better when decanted for an hour
Review 31 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yanknc
Location:NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Flavorful & Smooth
Date:January 28, 2014
Excellent red with good flavors and very smooth finish.
Review 32 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlovelyB
Location:Fargo, ND
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Absolutely delicious!
Date:February 2, 2014
This is a great wine. Smells and tastes wonderful.
Review 33 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LAFinn
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Nice match for Italian food
Date:January 24, 2014
Sangiovese is typically not my favorite, but this blend is a bit softer while still maintaining the tangy edge that balances a rich pasta.
Review 34 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jimmy
Location:beverly ma
Deep rich flavor red
Date:January 19, 2014
We really enjoyed this wine which resembled the red wines I tasted in the French region of haut medoc, margaux near Bordeaux. Deep smooth rich taste that went extremely well with the pasta Bolognese that I made. I would buy a case of this but for being very price conscious after the holidays -- maybe in spring.
Review 35 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeK
Location:Ft Myers, Fl
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Italian Buy
Date:January 19, 2014
While not a great fan of most Italian wines, I truly enjoyed this one. Not overly dry.
Review 36 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timothy
Location:Osining NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pleasantly Surprised
Date:October 30, 2013
Will buy this wine again. Nice finish. Great buy in the Italian wine package bought.
Review 37 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kristy
Arrived carbonated
Date:October 12, 2013
We received this wine and it was VERY carbonated and had an awful taste. It obviously was bad, but I would never order this again.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareOctober 14, 2013
Sorry for the disappointment. Definitely sounds like a faulty bottle. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 38 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Vey drinkable
Date:September 29, 2013
very drinkable but short on flavor compared to other wines in my discovery case
Review 39 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark
Location:Kokomo, In
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2009 Super Tuscan
Date:September 3, 2013
Been very bias towards Sonoma Valley juice, but this number from Italy is woody and excellent. I'm saving a bottle for s special occasion, with confidence of impressing guests.
Review 40 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Levi
Location:North of Indy, East of Chicago
Super-Duper Tuscan
Date:July 25, 2013
Disclaimer: I rate Discovery Club wines relative to other Discovery Club wines I’ve experienced as well as to what I can grab from my local wine store. When I open an Italian wine from the Discovery Club there is a 50% chance that it will be decent. To be fair, that’s all in the spirit of a discover club. I received two bottles of this with my first official Discovery Club case over a year and a half ago. I didn’t write tasting notes then, but I liked it enough to save and age the second bottle. I opened it tonight and I still like it very much. The bouquet is woody. Immediately after opening the bottle is smells like a cigar box. After settling in the glass for a several minutes (I didn’t decant it) it calms into pencil wood (if pencil wood included cedar shavings). It also smelled of ripe dark berries and something else that I couldn’t identify until I read the official tasting notes online……black licorice. It switched gears a little on the flavor to resemble bright cherry rather than dark berries. The licorice aroma spilled into the flavor slightly. The oak still added a nice soft spiciness and a splash of vanilla. The mouth feel was medium-full. It ended 3-4 out of 5 on the smoothness scale. I found it only mildly tannic.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>