Product Reviews

WSJwine Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012

Simona Barbanera's flagship cuvée has been hailed as “one of the all-time great Super Tuscan reds.” This exclusive (far more affordable) option’s made with the same Sangiovese-based blend, and has a history gold-medal acclaim. Enjoy the new release.
Average Customer Rating:
3.724 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
54
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
13
100 out of 127(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Review 21 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeK
Location:Ft Myers, Fl
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Italian Buy
Date:January 19, 2014
While not a great fan of most Italian wines, I truly enjoyed this one. Not overly dry.
Review 22 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timothy
Location:Osining NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pleasantly Surprised
Date:October 30, 2013
Will buy this wine again. Nice finish. Great buy in the Italian wine package bought.
Review 23 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kristy
Arrived carbonated
Date:October 12, 2013
We received this wine and it was VERY carbonated and had an awful taste. It obviously was bad, but I would never order this again.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareOctober 14, 2013
Sorry for the disappointment. Definitely sounds like a faulty bottle. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 24 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Vey drinkable
Date:September 29, 2013
very drinkable but short on flavor compared to other wines in my discovery case
Review 25 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark
Location:Kokomo, In
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2009 Super Tuscan
Date:September 3, 2013
Been very bias towards Sonoma Valley juice, but this number from Italy is woody and excellent. I'm saving a bottle for s special occasion, with confidence of impressing guests.
Review 26 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Levi
Location:North of Indy, East of Chicago
Super-Duper Tuscan
Date:July 25, 2013
Disclaimer: I rate Discovery Club wines relative to other Discovery Club wines I’ve experienced as well as to what I can grab from my local wine store. When I open an Italian wine from the Discovery Club there is a 50% chance that it will be decent. To be fair, that’s all in the spirit of a discover club. I received two bottles of this with my first official Discovery Club case over a year and a half ago. I didn’t write tasting notes then, but I liked it enough to save and age the second bottle. I opened it tonight and I still like it very much. The bouquet is woody. Immediately after opening the bottle is smells like a cigar box. After settling in the glass for a several minutes (I didn’t decant it) it calms into pencil wood (if pencil wood included cedar shavings). It also smelled of ripe dark berries and something else that I couldn’t identify until I read the official tasting notes online……black licorice. It switched gears a little on the flavor to resemble bright cherry rather than dark berries. The licorice aroma spilled into the flavor slightly. The oak still added a nice soft spiciness and a splash of vanilla. The mouth feel was medium-full. It ended 3-4 out of 5 on the smoothness scale. I found it only mildly tannic.
Review 27 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAEC
Location:FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delicious
Date:July 10, 2013
One of our favorite reds so far. It was so delicious we contemplated buying more to share with friends.
Review 28 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dman
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Decent Super Tuscan
Date:June 24, 2013
Decent Super Tuscan blend with hints of dark cherry, spices and leather featuring a long full finish.
Review 29 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JTEG
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Strange fruit, indeed
Date:June 12, 2013
Received 2 bottles of the 2010 as part of my introductory package. Must say I didn't like these at all. First off, the wine has plenty residue and dirties the glass considerably, so I decided to filter it. To my total amazement, in a Melitta-style filter, the wine turned effervescent and with a foam like in a glass of Guiness until it settled down in about 5 minutes. The color left the filter in a strangely unnatural color and when poured in a glass, I would say this wine was nearly undrinkable. Sour and tart with a strangely offensive fruit and leaving the tongue black with metallic taste. Keeping the bottle to air overnight, the next day I was able to finish it, with food. Another reviewer says the bottle sells for well under $10 in the stores and I think that's about right in terms of value. Not recommended at all.
Fortunately, the other wines in the sampler case have proven enjoyable so far
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareJune 17, 2013
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 30 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gears
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
2009 Is Really Good!
Date:May 26, 2013
Finally!! I started feeling like I was getting a stream of 'Discovery Club' duds! This was VERY nice. .
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JasonB
Location:Raleigh, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
An enjoyable surprise!
Date:May 22, 2013
This is a fantastic wine for the money! Looking at the grape blend, Sangiovese, Merlot, and Cabernet make a very tasty wine. It poured a nice medium to dark cherry. Nose opened up with oak, cherry and leather. Taste was a little dry but smoothed out as it went down. Oak, vanilla, leather, and a hint of tobacco on the back end with a very mellow after taste with hints of black berries.
This wine paired PERFECT with Italian Sausage which I had for dinner followed by some sharp cheddar. A wonderful find.
This being the fourth bottle I have opened from the wine club, I was expecting another disappointment. This was a nice surprise.
I didn't rate this higher because I have high standards for 4 star wines. Although I enjoyed this wine, I would only rate this 3 stars with a maximum value at $15. For the price, I would buy again and enjoy as an every day wine!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasGal
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Love it!
Date:May 10, 2013
This wine was so good that we ordered more the next day - before it was all gone. It has a just the right amount of cab and merlot to give the sangiovese a depth of character. Not tart or bitter - not tongue biting tannic - just very drinkable.
Review 33 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rett
Location:Bayside,NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A great find
Date:May 3, 2013
This wine speaks for itself. Fresh,Savory, and Succulent.
Review 34 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
COenophile
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A well balanced wine
Date:April 18, 2013
Usually I don't like super tuscans. But this really was well balanced and easy to drink. Very impressed for the price.
Review 35 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Berto
Location:Metro Detroit
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Mellow, lingering flavors
Date:April 13, 2013
Realy nice wine. Beautiful deep red colour. Smells of dark berries with a hint of tobacco. Tastes hits early with mild pepper flavor, then lingers cherry flavors for several minutes - fantastic!
Very light wine and easy to drink.
Review 36 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LapisLee
Location:Lynchburg, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Less Impressed Than More Experienced Reviewers
Date:April 10, 2013
This Super Tuscan red is a combination of 60% Sangiovese, a distinctively Italian varietal with an earthy, black cherry tartness that provides the primary structure to this blend, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, which I feel adds a robustness that the Sangiovese lacks and 15% Merlot, which adds a New World freshness and subtle berry flavor.
The aroma has complex hints of black cherry, currant and prune and seemed just a bit flat to me, although when I opened the bottle and poured it into the glass after waiting about 15 minutes there was a slight foaming around the edges, never a good sign.
I really had mixed feelings about the taste because it was dark, tart, sour and flat with only a black cherry fruitiness to relieve the dullness. I detected hints of currant, prune, leather, forest, tobacco, oak and nutmeg. There was a slight metallic aftertaste that made me less concerned about legs or tannins, which were slow and balanced, respectively.
I am uncertain what to look for in a Sangiovese and have never really been a huge fan of Cabernet, which may explain my reluctance to rate this wine higher. I love Merlot, but I felt that varietal was lost in the mix, although other reviewers felt the Merlot was more prominent.
A quick search online showed that this bottle is easily available for $7 to $10, which is where I would place its value. $15 is unrealistically priced for this one. I’m not certain I would drink this again unless backed into a corner.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almitra
Location:TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Delicioso!
Date:April 5, 2013
Impressive. Bold, peppery nose, deep dark purple color, and a rich fruity finish that lingers on the palate. I am sure it pairs beautifully with steak and tomato based dishes, but I thoroughly enjoyed this gem all on its own, which is how I recommend you enjoy it also. Kudos to WSJ Wine for sending 2 in the case!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BicParker
Location:Sussex County, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Good Super Tuscan
Date:March 26, 2013
A very good blend of San Giovese, Cabernet and Merlot. Enjoyed one bottle with Lasagna and consumed the other with beef. A versatile wine, I sampled the 2009 vintage. If you enjoy Super Tuscans, I recommend this wine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NewCouple52
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great taste, loved it!
Date:March 2, 2013
We enjoyed this wine as it had great taste and was light on aroma. We would recommend it as a nice blended product of the red wines we love.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
justinz
Location:Denville, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Beautiful Cherries!
Date:February 8, 2013
Amazing cherry notes on this wine. It didn't require decanting, it opened right up. A perfect blend of varietals, I am considering ordering more of this one. I recommend this one highly.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>