Product Reviews

WSJwine Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012

Simona Barbanera's flagship cuvée has been hailed as “one of the all-time great Super Tuscan reds.” This exclusive (far more affordable) option’s made with the same Sangiovese-based blend, and has a history gold-medal acclaim. Enjoy the new release.
Average Customer Rating:
3.877 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (195 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
79
3 stars
30
2 stars
8
1 star
14
164 out of 195(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Review 21 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Red!
Date:November 16, 2014
Great red wine, thoroughly enjoyed it with a spicy Thai meal !
Review 22 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A rich, fruity blend!
Date:October 23, 2014
Dark, inky red color. Black cherries with a hint of vanilla and a moderately long finish.
Wish there more blends like this!
We really enjoyed it with prosciutto and caprese.
Review 23 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MN-SC-Chicxulub, MX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A true Super Tuscana
Date:October 14, 2014
The mellowness of a cab-merlot, with the spice of sangiovese. Like a chianti that is smooth as silk.
Review 24 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Italian Value
Date:October 4, 2014
Smooth clean finish with plenty of fruity accents. Great value
Review 25 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:el paso, texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Favorite so far
Date:October 2, 2014
I just opened my second order and wow, I love this one. I'm a Merlot kind of girl but this is smooth and not too sweet.
Review 26 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington state
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not that great
Date:September 17, 2014
Sweet and sour to our palate's. Would not buy again.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceSeptember 17, 2014
Very sorry you didn't like the wine. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 27 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Islands, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Better Chianti
Date:August 14, 2014
Smooth, confident and finishes with a wonderful aftertaste. I don't think I've had a better Chianti
Review 28 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Lacks flavor
Date:August 4, 2014
After reading the description, my wife and I took this wine to an Italian restaurant. We both felt the flavor was weak. It got a little better as it opened up, but got lost with the meal.
Review 29 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Date:August 1, 2014
Full bodied, balanced with fruit and smooth finish-good enough by itself, or with chocolate
Review 30 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Iowa
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
good but not great
Date:July 31, 2014
We enjoyed the wine but it lacked any memorable "wow" factor for us. Soft, nice, ok, mellow. Prefer something with more body and more memorable. Good value however at the price point.
Review 31 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Better with tomato sauce
Date:July 23, 2014
Pretty thin and acidic by itself. Passable for tomato dishes.
Review 32 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Lush Fruit
Date:August 19, 2014
This wine has wonderful fruit and a nice smooth finish. It is always a hit when I serve it.
Review 33 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Favorite from Toscana
Date:June 29, 2014
I really love this wine. Aroma of dark berries with an smooth taste of peppers and red fruit. Enjoy with a great pasta or after dinner with dark chocolate.
Review 34 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nyack, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Favorite Tuscan So Far
Date:May 4, 2014
Enjoy the robust flavors, and good with almost anything. Ordered a case of this, which was 2012. But the 2010 is a bit better at this point.
Review 35 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo County, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Daughter raved about this one
Date:April 5, 2014
Gave this one to my daughter and she loved it enough to ask me where I got the bottle!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Favorite
Date:March 13, 2014
From the first case that came, this way by far my favorite. Complex and earthy.
Review 37 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Bay
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Tuscan
Date:February 28, 2014
We enjoyed this wine with a salumi and cheese platter, and it was excellent. Fruity with decent tannins, and great after taste. Even better when decanted for an hour
Review 38 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Flavorful & Smooth
Date:January 28, 2014
Excellent red with good flavors and very smooth finish.
Review 39 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fargo, ND
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Absolutely delicious!
Date:February 2, 2014
This is a great wine. Smells and tastes wonderful.
Review 40 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Nice match for Italian food
Date:January 24, 2014
Sangiovese is typically not my favorite, but this blend is a bit softer while still maintaining the tangy edge that balances a rich pasta.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>