Product Reviews

WSJwine Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012

Simona Barbanera's flagship cuvée has been hailed as “one of the all-time great Super Tuscan reds.” This exclusive (far more affordable) option’s made with the same Sangiovese-based blend, and has a history gold-medal acclaim. Enjoy the new release.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
12
92 out of 117(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
Review 21 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JasonB
Location:Raleigh, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
An enjoyable surprise!
Date:May 22, 2013
This is a fantastic wine for the money! Looking at the grape blend, Sangiovese, Merlot, and Cabernet make a very tasty wine. It poured a nice medium to dark cherry. Nose opened up with oak, cherry and leather. Taste was a little dry but smoothed out as it went down. Oak, vanilla, leather, and a hint of tobacco on the back end with a very mellow after taste with hints of black berries.
This wine paired PERFECT with Italian Sausage which I had for dinner followed by some sharp cheddar. A wonderful find.
This being the fourth bottle I have opened from the wine club, I was expecting another disappointment. This was a nice surprise.
I didn't rate this higher because I have high standards for 4 star wines. Although I enjoyed this wine, I would only rate this 3 stars with a maximum value at $15. For the price, I would buy again and enjoy as an every day wine!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasGal
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Love it!
Date:May 10, 2013
This wine was so good that we ordered more the next day - before it was all gone. It has a just the right amount of cab and merlot to give the sangiovese a depth of character. Not tart or bitter - not tongue biting tannic - just very drinkable.
Review 23 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rett
Location:Bayside,NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A great find
Date:May 3, 2013
This wine speaks for itself. Fresh,Savory, and Succulent.
Review 24 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
COenophile
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A well balanced wine
Date:April 18, 2013
Usually I don't like super tuscans. But this really was well balanced and easy to drink. Very impressed for the price.
Review 25 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Berto
Location:Metro Detroit
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Mellow, lingering flavors
Date:April 13, 2013
Realy nice wine. Beautiful deep red colour. Smells of dark berries with a hint of tobacco. Tastes hits early with mild pepper flavor, then lingers cherry flavors for several minutes - fantastic!
Very light wine and easy to drink.
Review 26 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LapisLee
Location:Lynchburg, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Less Impressed Than More Experienced Reviewers
Date:April 10, 2013
This Super Tuscan red is a combination of 60% Sangiovese, a distinctively Italian varietal with an earthy, black cherry tartness that provides the primary structure to this blend, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon, which I feel adds a robustness that the Sangiovese lacks and 15% Merlot, which adds a New World freshness and subtle berry flavor.
The aroma has complex hints of black cherry, currant and prune and seemed just a bit flat to me, although when I opened the bottle and poured it into the glass after waiting about 15 minutes there was a slight foaming around the edges, never a good sign.
I really had mixed feelings about the taste because it was dark, tart, sour and flat with only a black cherry fruitiness to relieve the dullness. I detected hints of currant, prune, leather, forest, tobacco, oak and nutmeg. There was a slight metallic aftertaste that made me less concerned about legs or tannins, which were slow and balanced, respectively.
I am uncertain what to look for in a Sangiovese and have never really been a huge fan of Cabernet, which may explain my reluctance to rate this wine higher. I love Merlot, but I felt that varietal was lost in the mix, although other reviewers felt the Merlot was more prominent.
A quick search online showed that this bottle is easily available for $7 to $10, which is where I would place its value. $15 is unrealistically priced for this one. I’m not certain I would drink this again unless backed into a corner.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almitra
Location:TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Delicioso!
Date:April 5, 2013
Impressive. Bold, peppery nose, deep dark purple color, and a rich fruity finish that lingers on the palate. I am sure it pairs beautifully with steak and tomato based dishes, but I thoroughly enjoyed this gem all on its own, which is how I recommend you enjoy it also. Kudos to WSJ Wine for sending 2 in the case!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BicParker
Location:Sussex County, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Good Super Tuscan
Date:March 26, 2013
A very good blend of San Giovese, Cabernet and Merlot. Enjoyed one bottle with Lasagna and consumed the other with beef. A versatile wine, I sampled the 2009 vintage. If you enjoy Super Tuscans, I recommend this wine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NewCouple52
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great taste, loved it!
Date:March 2, 2013
We enjoyed this wine as it had great taste and was light on aroma. We would recommend it as a nice blended product of the red wines we love.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
justinz
Location:Denville, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Beautiful Cherries!
Date:February 8, 2013
Amazing cherry notes on this wine. It didn't require decanting, it opened right up. A perfect blend of varietals, I am considering ordering more of this one. I recommend this one highly.
Review 31 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vidnoir
Location:NJ
Disappointment
Date:January 19, 2013
I cannot account for the 2010, but the 2009 was such a terrible disappointment. I got two bottles that are, I'm sorry to say, undrinkable. I'm not even referring to a mediocre wine that you could, depending on your standards, drink and sigh hoping to numb your senses in the meantime. This wine in particular was just spoiled.
Review 32 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Michele
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very Good Wine
Date:January 10, 2013
This wine had a nice ruby color and medium body. I liked the big cherry taste and it was not too fuity. Pairs well with pasta. Smooth finish.
Review 33 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RJvino
Location:Minneapolis, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delicious
Date:January 6, 2013
Italian delight! Value wine with smooth fruity flavors and limited bite.
Review 34 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2009.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DryRed
Location:Desert of New Mexico
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
BadNews!
Date:January 6, 2013
Unfortunately, I got the 2009 vintage of this wine. It was a gigantic disappointment! Take the worse of sangiovese, merlot and cabernet sauvignon grapes, put them together, and what do you get - this swill!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJanuary 8, 2013
We’ve identified a small faulty batch of Saracosa 2009. If you haven’t already been refunded, please contact us at 877-975-9463 and we’ll take care of this immediately. And rest assured, the currently listed 2010 is delicious!
Review 35 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bojhowell
Location:Cincinnati, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great red for any occasion
Date:December 27, 2012
This was a great wine. It was light and smooth, but firm all the way down. Very nice!
Review 36 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
apexbeat
Location:wa
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Excellent value
Date:December 13, 2012
Ordered a 12 bottle case and have enjoyed it over last 6 months. A few bottles had air inside them and tasted sour. But overall nice medium bodied
Review 37 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finicky
Location:Asheville, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great value
Date:December 1, 2012
The first WSJWC bottle we opened with a white sauce sausage lasagna and it was GREAT. Medium body, deep color, smooth, spicy bouquet. Everyone enjoyed it and were surprised at the price.
Review 38 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DarrylDiane
Location:Kitchener, Ontario
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A great little wine
Date:November 18, 2012
A great wine for all situations. I had the wine with pasta and it did great. The garlic beat it up a bit but it had the finish of a pro and ended the meal very well. I hate to call this a utility wine but it is a great go to wine with a light meal.
Review 39 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2009.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AD22
Location:Estes Park, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
One of our favorites
Date:October 30, 2012
This is a rich, smooth, well balanced, red that is great with red sauce or just on it's own. One of our favorites.
Review 40 for Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2012
This review is fromSaracosa Rosso di Toscana 2009.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jaws346
Location:Abilene, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Date:October 10, 2012
Very good, paired with pasta with red sauce. The best I've had from WSJ so far.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>