Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009

This deliciously vibrant tribute to their famous kinsman blends three of Tuscany’s star grapes — Sangiovese brings juicy black cherry flavors. Ciliegiolo adds spicy notes. Canaiolo adds fine structure.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
Review 1 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2010.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bobw
Got a bad botle
Date:April 10, 2013
Was fizzy. WSJ returned my
money so I have no complaints.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareApril 11, 2013
Very sorry you didn’t enjoy the wine, perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 2 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
figment
Not worth a star.
Date:March 15, 2013
This was the worst chianti I've ever tasted. Chemical flavor. Headache in a bottle.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMarch 16, 2013
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 3 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2010.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Levi
Location:North of Indy, East of Chicago
Unremarkable
Date:January 31, 2013
This wine was enjoyable enough, but it was no Chianti. It was easier to drink on it's own than traditional Chianti ( softer, fruiter, not as dry or "hot", not as "salty"), but it's not what one would expect from a Chianti. I think those same characteristics that made it okay on its own were responsible for its dullness with my pizza. The WSJ description implies a "prime" location for Chianti from this producer, but from what I remember after my recent visit to the area Montalcino is a bit north of the real Chianti region; Montalcino is Brunello country. Still, it's a DOCG, so I probably don't know what I'm talking about. I just know what I taste. Anyway, other reviews describe the flavors well enough. I just wanted to clarify that if you're looking for a good classic Chianti, this probably isn't a good example. If you're looking for something more approachable, then this isn't bad, but there are better varietals to fit that bill.
Review 4 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wine123
Location:Rosemount, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Chianti
Date:September 3, 2012
I really enjoyed this chianti. I just bought a few more bottles.
Review 5 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chickcove
Location:deltaville, va
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
surprise
Date:June 5, 2012
RIght off, I'll say, I don't love Chianti. Lived in Italy late 80s and got to try fabulous "superTuscans" in their early years. Love Brunello. From 70s on drank Vino Nobile di Montepulciano often. Those would be my favorite expressions of sangiovese varietals. So with this uphill battle ;-) was pleasantly surprised by this wine. Nicely balanced and flavorful. Very enjoyable accompaniment to pasta dishes.
Review 6 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HagueGal
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A great Chianti
Date:April 17, 2012
This is an excellent complement to pizza or pasta. I felt like I was in Italy.
Review 7 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
This review is fromDuca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Milonguero
Location:New Mexico
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Beautiful light
Date:March 23, 2012
No complaints with this Chianti. It is pretty light, not too fruity, not tangy at all, a hint of smoke, and then it is gone. Poof! Nothing outstanding, but very enjoyable.
Review 8 for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rashed
Location:Woodbury, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Duca di Cardino Chianti 2009
Date:January 8, 2011
This is a full-bodied chianti wine. It's a good wine for the price. Slight hint of plum and cherry and dry, typical of chianti wine. I expected more dominant cherry and plum flavors. Also, it is more sour (acidity) than I expected. The bitterness, however, is still very nicely present in this wine.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Duca di Cardino Chianti DOCG 2009
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5