Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001

This is what Spain does best: sumptuous, perfectly mature Gran Reserva.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
9 out of 17(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Review 1 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VAMPM
Location:Northern Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2 bottles
Date:March 3, 2014
The first bottle was corked. The second was fine. overall was disappointing.
Review 2 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Garayalde
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Undecided
Date:February 1, 2014
When I first tried this wine I found it a disappointing gran reserva, with alcohol overwhelming fruity flavors. I decided to let it rest and tried again the next day a day. The wine was much better, it was a more balanced wine and a lot more pleasant.
Would I buy it again? I'm still undecided, and I'll have to wait until the second bottle. in any case I would not disregard this wine too quickly.
Review 3 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nutmeg
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Let it breathe!
Date:January 20, 2014
At first opening we were unimpressed, but we let the wine breathe for almost an hour and it made a big difference. We thought the wine had depth and some complexity. We tasted rich berry flavor.
Review 4 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ironloo
Location:Rockville, MD
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
DO NOT BUY
Date:January 13, 2014
Disappointed.
Same feelings as others.
No bouquet. Uncleared color.
Bad after taste.
Do not buy this one.
Review 5 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HoneyDip
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
not this one
Date:January 5, 2014
this wine was too light, without any complexity. and it had an aftertaste that was so unpleasant I didn't even finish the bottle. poured it out after having the second glass...
Review 6 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dariusz
Location:Boston
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Dead tasteless wine
Date:October 18, 2013
I had pretty big expectations for this wine. Judging by the age I figured it was an age worthy wine a la Barolo, Barbaresco, Napa Cab, etc. But don't fool yourself, it's not.
I don't know if they just randomly found a palate of this somewhere, but it the wine was "dead". And by dead I mean it was totally void of any flavors or complexity after being aged too long. I'm thinking it was supposed to be drank much sooner, or the winemaker made an awful batch. It was a dry acidic mess, which I dumped out immediately after taking a sip.
Please do yourself a favor and don't get this!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareOctober 21, 2013
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 7 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2.5 Stars
Date:April 18, 2013
After spending 10 years in the bottle I was surprised to see that the bottom of this wines cork was a very pale red color. The wine did pour a medium deep red color. Its nose was unimpressive with a minty dried cherry type of aroma. The aroma was heavy on the mint and light on the dried cherry. On the palate the fruit vs. alcohol mix seemed to be off in favor of the alcohol. The taste was of tart dried cherries with earthy mushroom overtones added in. The finish was a bit hot and on the short side.
Review 8 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 1991.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RB00
Sigh - Expected More
Date:August 16, 2012
Ordered 6 bottles & set them aside for a special moment. When it came, 1st one was a disappointment & we thought it may just have been a one off.
The next 2 were the same too. Would not recommend this to anyone
Review 9 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorsey
Location:FL
Worthy of Consideration
Date:January 30, 2011
I am not a wine expert and do not have all the "correct" lingo but this wine was very interesting and very much enjoyed. I usually am not into "acidic" as the wines with that definition have not been to my liking but this wine was different. It definitely had acidity but it was not in the least unpleasant. The light fruity taste balanced it very nicely and I found this wine worth a repurchase.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 8
Enjoyment: 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value: 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5