Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001

This is what Spain does best: sumptuous, perfectly mature Gran Reserva.
Average Customer Rating:
3.523 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
29 out of 43(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Review 1 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2016
Nicely aged and is drinking well right now. Has a hint of raisin in the finish, my father thought he was drinking a $25 bottle of wine.
Review 2 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Excellent Wine
Date:February 13, 2015
We received this in a mixed case and just tried it. It was an excellent wine with the steak we had this evening. Very smooth with a nice flavor. I will be adding this to my favorites.
Review 3 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burley, Idaho
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Aged and subtle
Date:January 22, 2015
This wine was my New Year Eve treat. I was not disappointed. After it had time to breath, I was rewarded with a dry and subtle notes of fruit. Very good.
Review 4 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ft Lauderdale, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
OK
Date:December 2, 2014
This red was not great on its own, and good when served with pork souvlaki. Others are much better.
Review 5 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Outstanding Older Vintage Wine
Date:September 27, 2014
It's rare that I can enjoy a 10-year old wine, so I was very interested in this one from Spain. It is a dry, robust wine, with a warm finish. Bursting with flavor, I look forward to every glass.
Review 6 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Old and yummy!
Date:September 8, 2014
Dark ruby red. Extreme changes in flavor throughout an hour. Dry, mocha, mineral and earth. Some chalk and berry. Enjoyed it's unique character and old oak.
Review 7 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati
Good one
Date:August 2, 2014
This one goes good with anything. Nice and smooth.
Review 8 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Beautiful taste
Date:July 11, 2014
A very nice red with a dark garnet color. Excellent paired with spicy food!
Review 9 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Old World Find
Date:July 4, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed this wine. If you like aged, old world wines this is for you. We served it with steak and thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely would buy again
Review 10 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delish
Date:July 2, 2014
My favorite! Great with everything. Can't get enough!
Review 11 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
strong flavor too acidic
Date:June 6, 2014
This was a decent wine but not worth the price. It seemed a wee bit acidic to me. had with pork roast, and they did compliment each other.
Review 12 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Surprisingly Supple Spaniard
Date:June 6, 2014
I am not a great fan of Spanish wine, but this Beauty has elevated my appreciation.
Richly textured, moderately intense, good fruit, very smooth.
My friends who tried it with me all liked it , which is a good sign for any wine.
Review 13 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Past its peak
Date:June 6, 2014
This wine is so high on the alcohol and low on all other flavors that I cannot drink it. I opened it, decanted it, let it sit in a glass for an hour...still, not good. It is not "skunked," it's just bad. No one that I had over could finish a glass of it....we had to pour it down the drain.
This is the first wine that I've ever received from WSJ that this has happened with. Occasionally, I will come across a wine that is a little too sweet or too acidic for my preference...but the wine is still good. This one is just bad. I can't imagine anyone liking it.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareJune 9, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 14 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cape Cod, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Enjoyable evening wine
Date:May 28, 2014
This deep purple wine has a slight smokey flavor with a delicious flavor to the finish. Worth a try.
Review 15 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not a Favorite
Date:May 25, 2014
This one has an unappealing aroma. I did not like the flavor at all. I thought perhaps I was just having an off day, so had 2 other family members try this wine.
They agreed.
I would pass on this one.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMay 27, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 16 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Waynesboro,VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
a bit too earthy.
Date:May 23, 2014
With the first sip I was reminded of eating a handful of mushrooms but perhaps it was the tobacco I was picking up. I enjoyed it more after it was allowed to breath. My friend I was sharing the bottle loved it. Perhaps it will grow on me when I open the second bottle.
Review 17 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spanish Red
Date:May 21, 2014
Most definitely a full-bodied red wine. Could taste the tobacco. The tobacco was particularly pronounced when paired with the grilled pork loin.
Review 18 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Excellent
Date:May 10, 2014
After reading several reviews, we were very pleasantly surprised. Our first bottle was wonderful and enjoyed by 6 of us. Excellent nose, balance, acidity and fruit. Looking forward to the second bottle.....perhaps a batch sat in the heat somewhere during shipping?because we love this wine.
Review 19 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Broussard, LA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Too Strong
Date:April 27, 2014
We did not like the flavor of this wine.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareApril 27, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment- we only want you to ever pay for wines that you enjoy. You have been refunded for that bottle.
Review 20 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
This review is fromErmita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2 bottles
Date:March 3, 2014
The first bottle was corked. The second was fine. overall was disappointing.
1 2 next>>