Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001

This is what Spain does best: sumptuous, perfectly mature Gran Reserva.
Average Customer Rating:
3.242 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
20 out of 33(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Review 1 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freon
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Old and yummy!
Date:September 8, 2014
Dark ruby red. Extreme changes in flavor throughout an hour. Dry, mocha, mineral and earth. Some chalk and berry. Enjoyed it's unique character and old oak.
Review 2 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rivera
Location:Cincinnati
Good one
Date:August 2, 2014
This one goes good with anything. Nice and smooth.
Review 3 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimJudi
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Beautiful taste
Date:July 11, 2014
A very nice red with a dark garnet color. Excellent paired with spicy food!
Review 4 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hopgan
Location:MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Old World Find
Date:July 4, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed this wine. If you like aged, old world wines this is for you. We served it with steak and thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely would buy again
Review 5 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beachnat
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delish
Date:July 2, 2014
My favorite! Great with everything. Can't get enough!
Review 6 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
strong flavor too acidic
Date:June 6, 2014
This was a decent wine but not worth the price. It seemed a wee bit acidic to me. had with pork roast, and they did compliment each other.
Review 7 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ClintBordeaux
Location:Seattle, WA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Surprisingly Supple Spaniard
Date:June 6, 2014
I am not a great fan of Spanish wine, but this Beauty has elevated my appreciation.
Richly textured, moderately intense, good fruit, very smooth.
My friends who tried it with me all liked it , which is a good sign for any wine.
Review 8 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
claryqueen
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Past its peak
Date:June 6, 2014
This wine is so high on the alcohol and low on all other flavors that I cannot drink it. I opened it, decanted it, let it sit in a glass for an hour...still, not good. It is not "skunked," it's just bad. No one that I had over could finish a glass of it....we had to pour it down the drain.
This is the first wine that I've ever received from WSJ that this has happened with. Occasionally, I will come across a wine that is a little too sweet or too acidic for my preference...but the wine is still good. This one is just bad. I can't imagine anyone liking it.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareJune 9, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 9 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nathan
Location:Cape Cod, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Enjoyable evening wine
Date:May 28, 2014
This deep purple wine has a slight smokey flavor with a delicious flavor to the finish. Worth a try.
Review 10 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MENB
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not a Favorite
Date:May 25, 2014
This one has an unappealing aroma. I did not like the flavor at all. I thought perhaps I was just having an off day, so had 2 other family members try this wine.
They agreed.
I would pass on this one.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMay 27, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 11 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kmh5
Location:Waynesboro,VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
a bit too earthy.
Date:May 23, 2014
With the first sip I was reminded of eating a handful of mushrooms but perhaps it was the tobacco I was picking up. I enjoyed it more after it was allowed to breath. My friend I was sharing the bottle loved it. Perhaps it will grow on me when I open the second bottle.
Review 12 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jjored
Spanish Red
Date:May 21, 2014
Most definitely a full-bodied red wine. Could taste the tobacco. The tobacco was particularly pronounced when paired with the grilled pork loin.
Review 13 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaptainB
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Excellent
Date:May 10, 2014
After reading several reviews, we were very pleasantly surprised. Our first bottle was wonderful and enjoyed by 6 of us. Excellent nose, balance, acidity and fruit. Looking forward to the second bottle.....perhaps a batch sat in the heat somewhere during shipping?because we love this wine.
Review 14 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VAMPM
Location:Northern Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2 bottles
Date:March 3, 2014
The first bottle was corked. The second was fine. overall was disappointing.
Review 15 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Garayalde
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Undecided
Date:February 1, 2014
When I first tried this wine I found it a disappointing gran reserva, with alcohol overwhelming fruity flavors. I decided to let it rest and tried again the next day a day. The wine was much better, it was a more balanced wine and a lot more pleasant.
Would I buy it again? I'm still undecided, and I'll have to wait until the second bottle. in any case I would not disregard this wine too quickly.
Review 16 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nutmeg
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Let it breathe!
Date:January 20, 2014
At first opening we were unimpressed, but we let the wine breathe for almost an hour and it made a big difference. We thought the wine had depth and some complexity. We tasted rich berry flavor.
Review 17 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ironloo
Location:Rockville, MD
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
DO NOT BUY
Date:January 13, 2014
Disappointed.
Same feelings as others.
No bouquet. Uncleared color.
Bad after taste.
Do not buy this one.
Review 18 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HoneyDip
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
not this one
Date:January 5, 2014
this wine was too light, without any complexity. and it had an aftertaste that was so unpleasant I didn't even finish the bottle. poured it out after having the second glass...
Review 19 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dariusz
Location:Boston
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Dead tasteless wine
Date:October 18, 2013
I had pretty big expectations for this wine. Judging by the age I figured it was an age worthy wine a la Barolo, Barbaresco, Napa Cab, etc. But don't fool yourself, it's not.
I don't know if they just randomly found a palate of this somewhere, but it the wine was "dead". And by dead I mean it was totally void of any flavors or complexity after being aged too long. I'm thinking it was supposed to be drank much sooner, or the winemaker made an awful batch. It was a dry acidic mess, which I dumped out immediately after taking a sip.
Please do yourself a favor and don't get this!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareOctober 21, 2013
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 20 for Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2001
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2.5 Stars
Date:April 18, 2013
After spending 10 years in the bottle I was surprised to see that the bottom of this wines cork was a very pale red color. The wine did pour a medium deep red color. Its nose was unimpressive with a minty dried cherry type of aroma. The aroma was heavy on the mint and light on the dried cherry. On the palate the fruit vs. alcohol mix seemed to be off in favor of the alcohol. The taste was of tart dried cherries with earthy mushroom overtones added in. The finish was a bit hot and on the short side.
1 2 next>>