Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine The Waxed Bat 2012

Argentina’s deep, dark reds are big news right now. Few are bigger than Opi Sadler’s acclaimed blend of Shiraz, Cabernet and Malbec. Packed with black fruit and made for steak.
Average Customer Rating:
3.693 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
39
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
6
60 out of 75(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waxed Bat 2012
Review 1 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tomhars
Location:Indiana
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
OK but not what I thought
Date:January 22, 2015
For all the hype I read about this wine, it was not up to my expectations. It was not as full bodied as I had hoped and a little too oaky for my taste. It is just an ordinary red blend from my perspective.
Review 2 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cecco
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Old Smoky
Date:December 30, 2014
Smooth and smoky . . . or was it the glowing fire in front of which I enjoyed this delightful Argentinian favorite?
Review 3 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmh5
Location:Waynesboro,VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Rich, Dark fruit
Date:December 29, 2014
Mmm, smell is of rich fruit, taste mellow, little oak, low tannen, perfect, wonderful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 29, 2014
Thanks for your review; we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the The Waxed Bat 2013! Here’s how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click:

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
Review 4 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
newkem
Location:southern, missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Value
Date:December 27, 2014
This is a great blend that is well worth the price. Can be enjoyed with a variety of meals; we have done steaks, BBQ and even hearty pastas and this wine compliments the well. I have ordered more than once. Enjoy.
Review 5 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Duxgirl
Location:Boston, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Worst Blend Ever
Date:December 5, 2014
I am not particularly fond of blends, but a few squeak by and may turn to be surprisingly enjoyable. Unfortunately, this
is not one of those blends. I found the aroma offensive and the taste bitter. I'm not sure who is rating this wine so highly, for me if failed miserably.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 7, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy the wine. Perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven't already been refunded we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 6 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BIGTEX
Dissapointed
Date:December 1, 2014
This wine was harsh. Had a bite that would not let go. Not recommended.
Review 7 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tuck7612
poured out half the bottle
Date:December 1, 2014
First wine i've had from WSJ where we actually poured out the rest of the bottle after the first glass.
Luckily I have another bottle that I can give away to someone who has been a grinch this holiday season.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 2, 2014
Very sorry you didn't like this wine. That's where our money-back guarantee really helps - we'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 8 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very Tart
Date:November 26, 2014
The 'Waxed Bat' is the perfect example of a wine that can be called "chewy". It pours a deep opaque purple color and after a few sips it will turn your teeth & gums the same color. It's thick & heavy tasting with notes of smoke, blackberry, exotic spices and alcohol in abundance. The 2013 vintage is comprised of 41% Cabernet Sauvignon, 32% Shiraz and 27% Malbec. This vintage also exhibits a lot more tartness than prior vintages and as such is not one of our favorites. For a couple $$ more per bottle we would recommend the Waxed Bat Reserve which is a lot more refined, rich and mellow tasting.
Review 9 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RobertWine
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Nice WIne
Date:November 19, 2014
Just opened the 2013 Waxed Bat and it is slightly lighter bodied than 2012, it is still a nice wine with a great bouquet. Easy to drink.
Review 10 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lynnski
Location:Southwest coast florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Perfect for our Halloween Party
Date:November 18, 2014
We served it because of the name, but we ended up really liking this cab/malbec blend. Our guests were too timid to try it which means we happily get to drink the rest.
Review 11 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
claryqueen
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
very tasty
Date:November 16, 2014
easy drinking wine. Always a crowd pleaser. I don't like having to put a minimum number of characters on a review.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceNovember 17, 2014
Thanks for your review, we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed The Waxed Bat!

Sorry about the minimum character requirement – we hear you! The good news is we’re working on this right now and it will be changed shortly – thanks for the feedback!
Review 12 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Molly
Location:Willis, Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big disappointment
Date:November 14, 2014
This is the first wine that I have been disappointed with from WSJwine. I am confused by all the rave reviews about this wine's smooth, rich character. To me it was thin and tart and tasted like it cost about $8.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceNovember 16, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy. Please get in touch and we'll take care of it.
Review 13 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RougeOenophile
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Fruity Peppery Bold Red
Date:November 13, 2014
Here's a nice red blend that tastes great with no decanting. The aroma is fantastic - jammy dark berries with spicy undertones. It's a rich wine with body and color coming from the Malbec, pepper from the Shiraz though the Cabernet is a bit overshadowed. Tannins are thick but the finish is fairly clean. This wine would be amazing with steak but I even enjoyed it with a cheese flat bread spread with roasted red pepper sauce.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kc2519
Location:Detroit, MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Silky Argentine Blend
Date:November 11, 2014
This is a luscious wine with a very approachable character. The flavors of dark berries and cocoa are decadent yet well balanced. A winner.
Review 15 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ferenc
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Fun Halloween Wine
Date:November 11, 2014
We served this along side the Reserve Super Cuvée - the reserve won. However, this one did score high marks with our guests. Dark and rich in color, strong nose, finishes well. Good value for the dollar and served well with our Halloween Chili buffet.
Review 16 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klloyd6
Location:Austin. TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Excellent
Date:November 11, 2014
Nice mouth and nose to this wine. I had it with a tasty rib eye steak and it paired really well.
Review 17 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrianandPam
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
value
Date:November 10, 2014
Soft tannins. Pairs well with cheese. A great wine to have on hand when friends drop in.
Review 18 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Berry flavorful
Date:November 9, 2014
This is an excellent wine! The licorice flavors are a real delight. Had it with old time Southern steak and gravy with mashed potatoes.... wow! so nice and complex that it is downright chewy!
Review 19 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeyG
Location:Boston
Fantastic!
Date:November 5, 2014
Wonderful, full bodied, delicious... my guests couldn't get enough.
Review 20 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AlbuquerqueRoja
Location:Albuquerque, NM
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big disappointment
Date:November 1, 2014
Wine was bitter and bland. After being open an hour, it was drinkable but not enjoyable.
1 2 3 next>>