Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine The Waxed Bat 2012

Argentina’s deep, dark reds are big news right now. Few are bigger than Opi Sadler’s acclaimed blend of Shiraz, Cabernet and Malbec. Packed with black fruit and made for steak.
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
32 out of 36(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waxed Bat 2012
Review 1 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GlennM
Location:Riverdale, Bronx, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A favorite now
Date:October 21, 2014
The Mrs. still raves about this one. Amazing wine.
Review 2 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
withay
waxed bat
Date:October 16, 2014
Andy and Stan really liked it. Dark, full, lush. Good bouquet
Review 3 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nily
Location:Miramar, FL
Tastes Awful
Date:October 15, 2014
My husband says it tastes awful. He is not a wine expert but he usually likes the wines from here. This one he actually poured the remainder of the bottle down the sink. And the other bottle that came in the box he gave away.
Review 4 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mccaefer
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Smooth
Date:October 14, 2014
Very smooth wine, not dry but still a lot of flavor. It is dark and rich.
Review 5 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NBD12
Location:NH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Poor
Date:September 29, 2014
Was hoping for a more complex, full bodied malbec / cab mix. This was thin, fruity, and cheap tasting. Really not impressive.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceSeptember 29, 2014
Very sorry you didn't like wine. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 6 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VinoLover17
Location:Mohegan Lake, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pleasantly surprised
Date:June 3, 2014
I wasn't sure I'd like this blend but I really liked it good fruits up front and soft finish surprised me would order again
Review 7 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Petheridge
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Interesting Blend
Date:June 22, 2014
The blend of these three grapes gives a complex bouquet to this expressive wine. The Cab and Malbec add depth and temper the fruitiness of the Shiraz and the combination produces a tasty, aromatic sensation that goes well with stronger tasting foods.
Review 8 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chuck
Location:Northern Virigina
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Deep rich taste
Date:May 2, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with this wine. The aroma was great, the taste was deep and rich.
Review 9 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wineforlife
very good
Date:June 11, 2014
It is fruity, complex, unusual character for a blend.
Review 10 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
redwine5
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
4 Stars
Date:March 23, 2014
Rich, dark red color. Blackberry, grape and plum. Medium-bodied, smooth finish, low tannins. Very enjoyable. Took a bottle to a party and was sad to have to leave it there unopened! :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ruminatus
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Solid blend
Date:April 30, 2014
I've had this wine a few times now. I enjoy it, although I can't say that it is very distinctive. Has a full fruity mouth, a bit juicy when you first open it. I think it was better the second day. It's a very drinkable and enjoyable wine but I'm having a hard time remembering anything specific about it. perhaps that is the nature of a blend like this?
Review 12 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Allen
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Satisying blend
Date:February 25, 2014
Great balance, good finish, great price. What's not to like?
Review 13 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LAFinn
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Interesting blend
Date:January 31, 2014
Not my favorite sipping wine, too much tobacco and spice. I think it would provide nice balance for a meaty dish - maybe some flank steak with chimichurri sauce...?
Review 14 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Luis
Location:Los Angeles
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Argentine wines
Date:January 14, 2014
Very nice blend, good nose nice finish. Really enjoyed this one.
Review 15 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheech
Location:Ventnor NJ 08406
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
All my wines have been excellant
Date:January 13, 2014
I am a Stroke Survivor. Any one
who does me a favor gets a
bottle of WSJ wine. Of course,
my wife and I drink our share.
Frank A Mangano
Review 16 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheerfulwino
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Lovely, fruity
Date:December 29, 2013
This is a nice, drinkable, fruity and elegant red wine. Can't beat it at this price.
Review 17 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Detlev
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Chemical Taste
Date:July 3, 2013
We've tried 3 bottles of this over the past five months, tasting them between 5 mins and 24 hrs decanting (bottles stored in cellar.) It tastes best after 1 to 1.5 hrs where it develops a smooth raisiny, integrated flavor similar to an Amarone. However, all bottles had a subtle chemical taste making it so we didn't finish any of them. I'm hoping we just got a bad case because we loved Opi's Malbec and the Waxed Bat Reserve 2010. I wouldn't recommend the 2012, except for cooking.
Review 18 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wine123
Location:Rosemount, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big and Bold
Date:March 29, 2013
I just opened this bottle and enjoyed it with a pizza with lots of toppings. It was (is) great!
If you like a wine... please consider reviewing it! Other reviews typically are what I rely on for selecting my extra wine purchases. Thanks to everyone who takes the time!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amalhotra
Location:Saratoga, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great wine, Need to air
Date:December 28, 2012
This is a great bottle of wine. A recommendation is to let the wine breather in a decanter for 20-30 minutes before serving
Review 20 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AD22
Location:Estes Park, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Big and bold
Date:December 26, 2012
This wine virtually punches you in the mouth with flavor. It's purple/red color is as deep as it's flavor. It's so visceral it's almost chewy. Good thing it's delicious!
1 2 next>>