Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine The Waxed Bat 2012

Argentina’s deep, dark reds are big news right now. Few are bigger than Opi Sadler’s acclaimed blend of Shiraz, Cabernet and Malbec. Packed with black fruit and made for steak.
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(258 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (258 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
101
3 stars
40
2 stars
16
1 star
10
188 out of 211(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waxed Bat 2012
Review 1 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2016
Keep 'em coming!
Review 2 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2016
Pretty nice red. Nice smooth wine with good flavor.
Review 3 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2016
Good value, relatively complex and full bodied
Review 4 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2016
too dry
Response from WSJwine:By BrittanyCustomer ServiceJune 6, 2016
Sorry for any disappointment — we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 5 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2016
Absolute least favorite, tasted like a dirty wet sock ... Awful definitely not one of order
Response from WSJwine:By FredCustomer ServiceJune 1, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it, and we'll make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
Review 6 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2016
Delightfully smooth, flavorful, peppery. Drank this on its own, but will certainly pair this wine with some bacon-wrapped filets with the next bottle opened.
Review 7 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2016
LOVE it
Review 8 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2016
Everyone liked this wine.
Review 9 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2016
This wine was delicious once it opened up. I recommend aerating, for sure. It's wound a little tight in the bottle so open it up about 20 minutes before you enjoy it. We pump our unfinished bottles and found that this one was even more delicious the next day!
Review 10 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2016
A great wine blend. Enjoyed with and without food.
Review 11 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2016
we enjoyed this blend
Review 12 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2016
great wine..full body!
Review 13 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2016
Presents as a cab, not a blend. Nicely balanced. Good value.
Review 14 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2016
This was a very, very good wine with lamb
Review 15 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tastes really good
Date:March 3, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised at this blend- tastes very rich and good.
Review 16 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2016
Excellent . Better than four stars, but not quite up to five.
Review 17 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2016
I really enjoyed the taste of this one. Very satisfying just sipping it alone, and with some nice spicy grilled meat!
Review 18 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016
full bodied; rich and hearty
Review 19 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2015
one of my favorites!
Review 20 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mountainside, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Fine wine Overall
Date:December 31, 2015
Reasonable wine at a regular price tag. Always enjoyable and easy drinking.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>