Product Reviews

WSJwine The Waxed Bat 2012

Argentina’s deep, dark reds are big news right now. Few are bigger than Opi Sadler’s acclaimed blend of Shiraz, Cabernet and Malbec. Packed with black fruit and made for steak.
Average Customer Rating:
3.893 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waxed Bat 2012
Review 1 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VinoLover17
Location:Mohegan Lake, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pleasantly surprised
Date:June 3, 2014
I wasn't sure I'd like this blend but I really liked it good fruits up front and soft finish surprised me would order again
Review 2 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chuck
Location:Northern Virigina
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Deep rich taste
Date:May 2, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with this wine. The aroma was great, the taste was deep and rich.
Review 3 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
redwine5
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
4 Stars
Date:March 23, 2014
Rich, dark red color. Blackberry, grape and plum. Medium-bodied, smooth finish, low tannins. Very enjoyable. Took a bottle to a party and was sad to have to leave it there unopened! :)
Review 4 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Allen
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Satisying blend
Date:February 25, 2014
Great balance, good finish, great price. What's not to like?
Review 5 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LAFinn
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Interesting blend
Date:January 31, 2014
Not my favorite sipping wine, too much tobacco and spice. I think it would provide nice balance for a meaty dish - maybe some flank steak with chimichurri sauce...?
Review 6 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Luis
Location:Los Angeles
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Argentine wines
Date:January 14, 2014
Very nice blend, good nose nice finish. Really enjoyed this one.
Review 7 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheech
Location:Ventnor NJ 08406
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
All my wines have been excellant
Date:January 13, 2014
I am a Stroke Survivor. Any one
who does me a favor gets a
bottle of WSJ wine. Of course,
my wife and I drink our share.
Frank A Mangano
Review 8 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheerfulwino
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Lovely, fruity
Date:December 29, 2013
This is a nice, drinkable, fruity and elegant red wine. Can't beat it at this price.
Review 9 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Detlev
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Chemical Taste
Date:July 3, 2013
We've tried 3 bottles of this over the past five months, tasting them between 5 mins and 24 hrs decanting (bottles stored in cellar.) It tastes best after 1 to 1.5 hrs where it develops a smooth raisiny, integrated flavor similar to an Amarone. However, all bottles had a subtle chemical taste making it so we didn't finish any of them. I'm hoping we just got a bad case because we loved Opi's Malbec and the Waxed Bat Reserve 2010. I wouldn't recommend the 2012, except for cooking.
Review 10 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wine123
Location:Rosemount, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big and Bold
Date:March 29, 2013
I just opened this bottle and enjoyed it with a pizza with lots of toppings. It was (is) great!
If you like a wine... please consider reviewing it! Other reviews typically are what I rely on for selecting my extra wine purchases. Thanks to everyone who takes the time!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amalhotra
Location:Saratoga, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great wine, Need to air
Date:December 28, 2012
This is a great bottle of wine. A recommendation is to let the wine breather in a decanter for 20-30 minutes before serving
Review 12 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AD22
Location:Estes Park, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Big and bold
Date:December 26, 2012
This wine virtually punches you in the mouth with flavor. It's purple/red color is as deep as it's flavor. It's so visceral it's almost chewy. Good thing it's delicious!
Review 13 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Big & Bold Bat
Date:April 15, 2012
In our opinion this is the best vintage of the "Waxed Bat" so far and we have tasted 4 vintages. The wine pours a lovely rich deep red/purple color. The nose projects the aromas of dark fruits, licorice & smoke and you can definitely pick up on the addition of Cabernet Sauvignon to this blend. The taste just as the smell is big & bold with flavors of blackberry fruit and toasty oak coming forth. It is much more refined tasting from the previous vintages.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2010.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Chewy!!
Date:January 28, 2012
The 'Waxed Bat' is the perfect example of a wine that can be called "chewy". It pours a deep opaque purple color and after a few sips it will turn your teeth & gums the same color. It's thick & heavy tasting with notes of smoke, blackberry, exotic spices and alcohol in abundance. It's not your everyday wine, but it can be a lot of fun to drink every now & then.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Waxed Bat 2012
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 14 out of 14
Enjoyment: 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5