Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine The Waxed Bat 2012

Argentina’s deep, dark reds are big news right now. Few are bigger than Opi Sadler’s acclaimed blend of Shiraz, Cabernet and Malbec. Packed with black fruit and made for steak.
Average Customer Rating:
3.936 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (203 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
77
3 stars
33
2 stars
15
1 star
7
180 out of 203(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waxed Bat 2012
Review 1 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016
full bodied; rich and hearty
Review 2 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2015
one of my favorites!
Review 3 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mountainside, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Fine wine Overall
Date:December 31, 2015
Reasonable wine at a regular price tag. Always enjoyable and easy drinking.
Review 4 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2015
dull and flat
Response from WSJwine:By FredCustomer ServiceNovember 15, 2015
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we have taken care of the refund for this bottle.
Review 5 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2015
This was one of me favorites from WSJ so far.
Review 6 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2015
full body; perfect blend
Review 7 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Date:December 17, 2015
I brought this to a dinner party and other guests compared The Waxed Bat to their favorites. Wow, what a surprise. Now they have a new favorite
Review 8 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2015
Outstanding.
Review 9 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2015
really enjoyed it!
Review 10 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
This Waxed Bat Misses Expectations
Date:November 13, 2015
By normal standards this is a nice wine. However, considered how superb other J. Opi Mendoza wines are, I was slightly dissapointed. The Malbec is fruity and balances well against the Cab & Shiraz in the blend. Tannins are light and it's a fast clean finish. I would have liked more peppery notes and character on the finish.
Review 11 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2015
A favorite. It's great!
Review 12 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2015
Tasty but young.
Review 13 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2015
Vernice nose. Enjoyed by my wife, who is not a reds fan...
Review 14 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West Rocky Mountains
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A brand crusher
Date:October 18, 2015
Terrible, harsh, one dimensional, very disappointing. First bad wine from WSJ. Yes there are better box wines.
Response from WSJwine:By BradlyCustomer ServiceOctober 19, 2015
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the wine. We have already refunded you.
Review 15 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2015
Sour, poor aroma. Not as good as a low-end box wine.
Review 16 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2015
Big flavor, light bitter aftertaste.
Review 17 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Better than the 2013
Date:July 28, 2015
The Waxed Bat 2014 vintage is better than the previous vintage, but for whatever reasons it just has not returned to its earlier glory years. It was somewhat lighter in color displaying a more garnet red tone. Its nose did offer up some smoky blackberry aromas. When tasted it was rather average with a riper and tarter overall fruit taste. The vintages from 5 years ago were a purple/black color with a rich depth of flavor. The recent vintages have found these traits absent.
Review 18 for The Waxed Bat 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:nj
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
really good
Date:June 13, 2015
My husband was not a wine lover until he tasted this one
Review 19 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2015
This is a great everyday pizza or pasta wine. Also good with burgers on the grill!
Review 20 for The Waxed Bat 2012
This review is fromThe Waxed Bat 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keep it away from the wife!
Date:July 14, 2015
My wife went nuts for the Waxed Bat !
1 2 3 4 next>>