Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.869 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(320 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (320 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
131
3 stars
57
2 stars
23
1 star
12
257 out of 320(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kemau
Location:Boulder, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Surprised by the Malbec
Date:January 24, 2015
I was worried about a red from Argentina but we were pleasantly surprised.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WolverineReds
Location:Holly, mi
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Friday evening fruity
Date:January 23, 2015
Enjoying this bottle of wine with my dad, who is recovering from cancer treatments. Every bottle, whatever the quality, is a moment shared and had only once. Enjoy!
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Payit4wardken
Location:Pueblo Colorado
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
2014 Mendoza Malbec
Date:January 22, 2015
Well balanced and smooth. I found it to be quite enjoyable. Deep rich, red color with a bouquet and tastes of blackberry and plum with light smoky notes. I savored it as suggested. Dinner included a hearty spicy burger and cheesy biscuits and starchy vegetables!
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamasWine
Location:WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Loved It
Date:January 21, 2015
I dont know anything about pairings or age just what I like, and I will open this bottle before all others. Not dry and not too sweet.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alegria32
Location:South Carolina
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good value
Date:January 21, 2015
If you like malbec, you won't be disappointed with theJ. Opi. It's smooth while also maintaining that powerful flavor of a good malbec. We served it with a grilled ribeye and it really complemented the steak.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AaronG
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Wine
Date:January 18, 2015
Dry, Flavorful. Excellent alone or paired with red meat.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveS
Location:Berksire County, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Fantastic
Date:January 15, 2015
My wife and I found this Malbec to be a perfect accompaniment to a ribeye steak.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shj1954
Location:Columbia, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not a favorite.
Date:January 14, 2015
A bit thin, light on the nose. Just didn't move me. Probably would like better with some age.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JonB
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
So so
Date:January 13, 2015
We drink a lot of Malbec. This one is young but has some potential. Could use some seasoning for more flavor.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PaulD
Location:SW Florida
Hmmm...not sure!
Date:January 13, 2015
I enjoyed this wine, but a draw a blank on explaining why?
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nouvellevague
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great everyday Malbec
Date:January 12, 2015
We love Malbecs, and this is a great "every day" wine - as in, we could really drink this every day
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BigSipper
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
First Bottle from shipment
Date:January 12, 2015
Enjoyed this wine with both cheese and steak. Good bouquet, with a nice fruity taste, medium body. Look forward to the next one.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MichiganGirl
Location:Howell, MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very Good Malbec
Date:January 11, 2015
I enjoy a really good Malbec but it is sometimes difficult to find the good ones. The J Opi came as my introductory purchase and I Love it! A nice bodied, fruit finish paired nicely with some cheese and fruit.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Azam
Location:Hartford, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delicious and very drinkable
Date:January 7, 2015
Enjoyed this one afternoon. Robust and ready to drink now. Can't wait to pair the next bottle of this malbec with a nice steak.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lala
Location:Selah, Wa
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good
Date:January 7, 2015
We enjoyed this somewhat but would not invest in it again.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SusieQ
Date:January 7, 2015
Good to excellent wine. Very good taste, good aroma, slightly lacks body.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daniellebp
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Date:January 6, 2015
Fruit forward - didn't love it but it got better over time
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peewee
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
J Opi Malbec - great value, great wine
Date:January 6, 2015
We opened this wine to have with some grilled skirt steak and roast potatoes. It was spot on. Nice balance of tannin and fruit, very smooth. Nice with the food and for sipping afterwards.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beast
Location:Washington
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Watered down nothing
Date:January 4, 2015
This Malbec was not enjoyable in the least. Generally, Malbec has some structure but this tasted like I was drinking watered down cough syrup.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJanuary 6, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any future wine club cases.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
taosdreaming
Location:Washington, DC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best Malbec Ever
Date:January 4, 2015
Definitely a labor of love ! Full taste and very subtle finish.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>