Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.829 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(532 Reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (532 reviews)
5 stars
154
4 stars
214
3 stars
103
2 stars
41
1 star
20
429 out of 532(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wessberg
Location:Minnesota
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Wonderful
Date:May 21, 2015
Oaky nose, great smooth mouthfeel, dark cherry notes, spicy overtones and dry, tannic finish
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
menerdari
Location:Ohio
Good wine
Date:May 20, 2015
I found it to have a nice fruity nose, tasted black cherry and a hint of dark chocolate. quite complex for my inexperience but very enjoyable. Flavor improved as it was left to breath for a while.
Medium tannin, low acidity and moderate alcohol. I am looking forward to my second bottle but may let it age a bit more.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sundowners
Location:Idaho
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Hard to go wrong with Malbec
Date:May 17, 2015
For those who favor a red wine, it is hard to go wrong with Malbec. Great with meals or without. Savored every drop.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lubking
Location:Scottsdale, Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Average Red
Date:May 13, 2015
A bit metallic tasting, not the earthy Malbec tones I was expecting.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spalermo53
Location:Matamoras, PA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good value.
Date:May 12, 2015
Dry and fruity with an oaky finish. Great for the price.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ferenc
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Appealing Malbec
Date:May 9, 2015
Appealing crimson color. A dry Argentine Malbec with a slightly spiced aroma and a mild finish. An okay value for the price, probably would buy again. Paired well with red meat from the grill. Next time we’ll pair with sausage and hard cheese!
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jts2112
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not understanding the Opi thing
Date:May 9, 2015
Maybe we're strange, but we're just not really enjoying the Opi wines. They seem to be a big thing at WSJ, but our 'taste profile' must be out of sync with this wine. Nothing wrong with it, just not what we like.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMay 12, 2015
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you do like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go!
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrFelix
Location:Seattle
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Surprise
Date:May 9, 2015
It's my first time taste the Argentina Malbec. Quite different from other Malbac.
Very soft and fruity.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JGA13
Awesome Malbec
Date:May 1, 2015
One of my favorite Malbecs. Smooth and not too spicy. Elegant for a grape grown in a severe climate.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
garyshoe
Location:Lakeway
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Best 5 of 5
Date:April 25, 2015
We rated it last of the 5 but it was good too, just not as good as the Farbre or Schroeder
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kelsey
Not the best Malbec
Date:April 24, 2015
The Malbec was dry for my test, probably would have been better to drink a year or two down the road.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CabLover
Location:Chicago, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Love it
Date:April 23, 2015
I paired this with salmon prepared with a spicy Chinese bbq sauce. The sauce is deep and dark and the malbec complemented it beautifully. Finished the bottle in two quick evenings. Deep berry flavor, delicious.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLiz3
Location:Las Vegas, NV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Red
Date:April 22, 2015
I really enjoyed this wine. Definitely a great find. Right up my alley.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TaylorVino
Location:Denver
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Value!
Date:April 19, 2015
I am no wine connoisseur, but I do appreciate a good Malbec. This has to be one of my favorites! It is smooth, easy to drink, and not heavy at all. Great on it's own. Excited to have discovered this!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SCGamecock83
Location:Raleigh, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Okay, so it was cheap...
Date:April 18, 2015
This wine had a bland, almost bitter,taste. It was woefully underwhelming. It was way too dry even for a big red, which this is not, but so desperately wanted to pretend to be. WSJ's "guarantee" of rave reviews was an EPIC FAIL!!!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceApril 20, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheWineSnob
Location:East China, Michigan
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Great Opi Malbec
Date:April 10, 2015
Took this bottle to a small gathering where it was determined to be one of the best wines there.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jakewine
Location:Rossmoor, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec!
Date:April 8, 2015
A Malbec's Malbec. Big, fruity, a little dark and smoky... really enjoyed this as a stand alone wine or paired with a grilled meat. I'll drink this one anytime.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dickam
Location:Colorado
not ready
Date:April 8, 2015
Perhaps this Malbec will improve with some age. Right now it is a little "green"
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikewine
Location:Carmel, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec
Date:April 6, 2015
A great, smooth Malbec... I'm not a wine expert, but I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes Malbec or red wine in general.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Qban2013
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Needs aging time
Date:April 3, 2015
The 2014 Opi Malbec was a surprise for a yung Malbec. Hintts of the full body are present at it's early age and with time the Malbec boldness will develp and Opi will be a fine wine to enjoy with a meal.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>