Product Reviews

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.844 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (263 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
110
3 stars
45
2 stars
20
1 star
11
209 out of 263(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daniellebp
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Date:January 6, 2015
Fruit forward - didn't love it but it got better over time
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peewee
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
J Opi Malbec - great value, great wine
Date:January 6, 2015
We opened this wine to have with some grilled skirt steak and roast potatoes. It was spot on. Nice balance of tannin and fruit, very smooth. Nice with the food and for sipping afterwards.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beast
Location:Washington
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Watered down nothing
Date:January 4, 2015
This Malbec was not enjoyable in the least. Generally, Malbec has some structure but this tasted like I was drinking watered down cough syrup.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJanuary 6, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any future wine club cases.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
taosdreaming
Location:Washington, DC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best Malbec Ever
Date:January 4, 2015
Definitely a labor of love ! Full taste and very subtle finish.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kram60077
Dry wine nice Bouquet
Date:January 4, 2015
Dry wine, nice bouquet. No aftertaste. I'd purchase again.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RiojaLover
Location:Ohio
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Date:January 2, 2015
Excellent Malbec for the price... in fact it beats many $20-30 Malbecs that I have tried recently. Big and flavorful but not to heavy on the finish, I will be ordering a case of this one soon.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BigRedRidingHood
Location:Alexandria, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nothing wrong with this wine
Date:December 30, 2014
This wine was okay. It was recommended for pairing with steak, which I did, but I've bought bottles at the local grocery that I've enjoyed more with steak. Again, it's okay, it just didn't stand out as anything special.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEMNDC
Location:Washington, DC
Yummy
Date:December 29, 2014
Outstanding value. Full bodied and fruity without being sweet.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldjm
Location:Brighton, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very good
Date:December 27, 2014
We shared this wine Christmas eve and it was enjoyed by all. Nice legs and great flavor.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JCB1
Location:CEDAR GROVE, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
smooth
Date:December 27, 2014
smooth, very good after taste. Would recommend this wine
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoubleL
Yummy Malbec
Date:December 26, 2014
I really enjoyed this wine with ham and cheese appies.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJJJMo
Location:NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great wine for the price point
Date:December 20, 2014
Nice Malbec with blackberry aroma and vanilla taste. For less than $14
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TJG1833
Location:Indiiana
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good with meal
Date:December 20, 2014
At first this wine was a little to full bodied however with a meal it was very good and got better as a casual wine after dinner
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DXM313
Location:Playa Vista
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Flat, Uninteresting
Date:December 18, 2014
I have a second bottle and must try again however this first bottle was uninteresting. Surprised!
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marman
Location:Fresno, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Simply Good Wine
Date:December 16, 2014
Best nose ever, dark and rich taste. Very good wine
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BBMove
Location:SC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Pleasant Surprise
Date:December 15, 2014
Finally, an Argentine wine I really like. Easy drinking with a rich flavor. The 2013 J Opi Malbec wine is quite satisfying - this coming from a person who is a reluctant malbec drinker. I recommend to any red wine fan.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BromSeller
Location:Manhattan Beach, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great for any occasion
Date:December 14, 2014
Very good medium body red for steak or any red meat. Also priced right,
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PhillipS
Location:Houston
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
If This Wine Was $8/Bottle, I'd Buy A Ton
Date:December 10, 2014
Very enjoyable. If this were $8 a bottle, it'd immediately be my go-to everyday wine.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jordi
Location:Seattle
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
excellent value
Date:December 10, 2014
very deep red; almost purple
nose - could detect blackberries
taste - very smooth aftertaste; immediately drinkable. Paired with pork loin.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alli
Date:December 9, 2014
Our least favorite red of the initial sampler. We may not be malbec fans. For malbec fans it is a good value. Theanne thouught it was quite good.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 10, 2014
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases.

We’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>