Product Reviews

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.746 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
43
3 stars
20
2 stars
11
1 star
8
90 out of 118(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachwino
Location:Moncks Corner SC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
j opi reserve malbec
Date:September 1, 2014
great wine, this malbec has a nice smooth taste with no bitterness or aftertaste. will definitely order more
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shorefront
Location:Ventnor, NJ
Fruity, fun to drink
Date:August 30, 2014
Nice and fruity, medium body. Very good value and highly recommend.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BordeauxFan
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Disappointing Melbec
Date:August 27, 2014
We are normally big fans of Melbec's from Argentina. However, this particular year is not impressing us. Perhaps it needs to lay down longer. Because at this point we would not necessarily include it in future orders.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dingus
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Very good price.
Date:August 21, 2014
Went great with prime rib. Full rich flavor with no after bite.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CCBurn
Location:Queens, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice and Smooth
Date:August 18, 2014
Flavorful wine; smooth, bold...a new favorite for us.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefTrvs
Location:Castle Pines, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Decent Malbec, Good value
Date:August 17, 2014
Decent wine, lots of fruit on the nose and finish, benefits from a decant of about a half hour, could greatly benefit from proper cellaring for another year.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Karebear
Not a huge fan of reds
Date:August 11, 2014
This is a good red I can enjoy without getting overwhelmed.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuckles
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best malbec we've ever tasted
Date:August 3, 2014
Granted, I haven't tasted many Malbecs, but this one is a keeper.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lbrichman
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good Malbec
Date:July 25, 2014
This Malbec was definitely enjoyable and better than average.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gman
Location:Catskills
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Disappointed
Date:June 5, 2014
Bought as an add on to a case. My wife loves Malbec and we were both disappointed. The others we have bought, Finca federatata, alambrado, accabella, San Lucas were wonderful. Too bad I still have 2 more bottles.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hartt723
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Wonderful Malbec
Date:July 3, 2014
This was a great wine, loved the flavor and it really was a joy to drink.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texasraider21
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Malbec
Date:June 25, 2014
Really enjoyed this wine! not too sweet, just right
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Petheridge
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Easy to Drink
Date:June 22, 2014
This is one of my go to wines. I have purchased this over several vintages and have always enjoyed it. It has a pleasant flavor and goes well with dark chocolate. When I have shared with friends, this Malbec is always well received and is usually the first bottle to empty.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KeepItSimple
Location:Boulder CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
value
Date:June 14, 2014
very well balanced with full body and complexity in a young wine thus could be a value price if aged
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
peashooter
smooth
Date:June 11, 2014
Good for sipping and with food, well rounded bouquet.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Curlygirl
Location:Olathe, ks. (Suburb of Kansas City
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Surprised and impressed
Date:June 9, 2014
I just opened my first bottle of this wine. I was actually going to let it age for awhile because it is such a young vintage but because I have a few bottles I decided to try one. It is surprisingly good; rich berry flavor and (as the label says) i could taste the underlying vanilla and smoky notes. I can't wait to see what happens when it is left to age several years.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Accordionguy
Location:Albuquerque
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Don't bother
Date:June 4, 2014
Disappointing even at the WSJ $7 special offer. There was a weak bouquet when first opened. When aerated, and allowed to breath...even that disappeared! Absent taste, all that is left is alcohol.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tedmac278
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Standard issue Malbec
Date:June 2, 2014
Nothing super special here. I'm a big fan of malbecs and this one was just ok. Easy to drink and did enjoy it though.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mandmhaley
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
As far as Malbec
Date:March 30, 2014
This is enjoyable and ok. I would recommend it has a lot of good basic qualities
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Willy
Good Malbeck
Date:December 30, 2013
Fair priced. Good product. Better than some Malbecks I have tasted.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>