Product Reviews

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
41
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
7
86 out of 110(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lbrichman
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good Malbec
Date:July 25, 2014
This Malbec was definitely enjoyable and better than average.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gman
Location:Catskills
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Disappointed
Date:June 5, 2014
Bought as an add on to a case. My wife loves Malbec and we were both disappointed. The others we have bought, Finca federatata, alambrado, accabella, San Lucas were wonderful. Too bad I still have 2 more bottles.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hartt723
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Wonderful Malbec
Date:July 3, 2014
This was a great wine, loved the flavor and it really was a joy to drink.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texasraider21
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Malbec
Date:June 25, 2014
Really enjoyed this wine! not too sweet, just right
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Petheridge
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Easy to Drink
Date:June 22, 2014
This is one of my go to wines. I have purchased this over several vintages and have always enjoyed it. It has a pleasant flavor and goes well with dark chocolate. When I have shared with friends, this Malbec is always well received and is usually the first bottle to empty.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KeepItSimple
Location:Boulder CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
value
Date:June 14, 2014
very well balanced with full body and complexity in a young wine thus could be a value price if aged
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
peashooter
smooth
Date:June 11, 2014
Good for sipping and with food, well rounded bouquet.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Curlygirl
Location:Olathe, ks. (Suburb of Kansas City
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Surprised and impressed
Date:June 9, 2014
I just opened my first bottle of this wine. I was actually going to let it age for awhile because it is such a young vintage but because I have a few bottles I decided to try one. It is surprisingly good; rich berry flavor and (as the label says) i could taste the underlying vanilla and smoky notes. I can't wait to see what happens when it is left to age several years.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Accordionguy
Location:Albuquerque
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Don't bother
Date:June 4, 2014
Disappointing even at the WSJ $7 special offer. There was a weak bouquet when first opened. When aerated, and allowed to breath...even that disappeared! Absent taste, all that is left is alcohol.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tedmac278
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Standard issue Malbec
Date:June 2, 2014
Nothing super special here. I'm a big fan of malbecs and this one was just ok. Easy to drink and did enjoy it though.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mandmhaley
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
As far as Malbec
Date:March 30, 2014
This is enjoyable and ok. I would recommend it has a lot of good basic qualities
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Willy
Good Malbeck
Date:December 30, 2013
Fair priced. Good product. Better than some Malbecks I have tasted.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Maybe 3.5 stars
Date:December 1, 2013
we are learning to appreciate Malbec. This one has lots of depth and complexity. Great nose and finish. Could not really decide between and 3 and 4 stars. Better than 3 really.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cecco
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
No complaints
Date:November 4, 2013
A very nice wine. No complaints. Glad my Discovery case included 2 bottles.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Middle of the Road Malbec
Date:September 18, 2013
The 2012 Opi Malbec poured a ruby red color in the glass. It presented an attractive nose of smoke, blackberry and a touch of spice. When tasted it did seem rather young and a previous reviewer hit the nail on the head when he termed it "The Beaujolais of Malbec" as it did come across as being rather undeveloped and lacking of the typical Malbec depth of flavor. I found it to be average overall, but my wife just did not really care for any aspect of this wine and as such we can only give it a fair rating.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2infused
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Disappointing
Date:August 25, 2013
The Beaujolais Noveau of Malbec. Immature and undeveloped. May improve with age.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareAugust 28, 2013
Sorry for any disappointment – we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Levi
Location:North of Indy, East of Chicago
Mediocre Malbec
Date:July 24, 2013
Regarding tasting notes, I think it was described very well by another reviewer (see “Quality Malbec. Nice surprise! Date:May 23, 2013). I don’t disagree. Of note, though, is that upon opening the nose was packed powerfully with fruit, but the palate was left wanting. After an hour or so, the flavor caught up with the aroma. Decant this to enjoy it fully. It’s decent and priced well, but it’s only average compared to other Malbecs I’ve received from WSJ.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JasonB
Location:Raleigh, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Quality Malbec. Nice surprise!
Date:May 23, 2013
Very ripe and juicy! Nose has tannin of cherry and earth with a nice combination of black and red fruit with a nice jammy after nose.
Taste was very smooth. Earth, tree bark, and clay. A hint of pepper and black berries make this a very smooth Malbec. I enjoyed this wonderfully by itself and also paired it with rice and vegetables. A fantastic find for $13. I am ordering this one again with the Summer Malbec Showcase. If you can get this for $12 or under, it's worth every penny.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bill3
Location:Ridgewood, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Malbec
Date:May 22, 2013
Thsi was a good Malbec, no make that; this was a good red wine. Really enjoyed it with a steak.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trapshooter
Location:Mattoon, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
best of trial order
Date:January 28, 2013
a great spicy aroma. very dark color but surprisingly light. very clean finish.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>