Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(495 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (495 reviews)
5 stars
142
4 stars
200
3 stars
96
2 stars
41
1 star
16
392 out of 495(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JGA13
Awesome Malbec
Date:May 1, 2015
One of my favorite Malbecs. Smooth and not too spicy. Elegant for a grape grown in a severe climate.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
garyshoe
Location:Lakeway
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Best 5 of 5
Date:April 25, 2015
We rated it last of the 5 but it was good too, just not as good as the Farbre or Schroeder
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kelsey
Not the best Malbec
Date:April 24, 2015
The Malbec was dry for my test, probably would have been better to drink a year or two down the road.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CabLover
Location:Chicago, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Love it
Date:April 23, 2015
I paired this with salmon prepared with a spicy Chinese bbq sauce. The sauce is deep and dark and the malbec complemented it beautifully. Finished the bottle in two quick evenings. Deep berry flavor, delicious.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLiz3
Location:Las Vegas, NV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Red
Date:April 22, 2015
I really enjoyed this wine. Definitely a great find. Right up my alley.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TaylorVino
Location:Denver
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Value!
Date:April 19, 2015
I am no wine connoisseur, but I do appreciate a good Malbec. This has to be one of my favorites! It is smooth, easy to drink, and not heavy at all. Great on it's own. Excited to have discovered this!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SCGamecock83
Location:Raleigh, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Okay, so it was cheap...
Date:April 18, 2015
This wine had a bland, almost bitter,taste. It was woefully underwhelming. It was way too dry even for a big red, which this is not, but so desperately wanted to pretend to be. WSJ's "guarantee" of rave reviews was an EPIC FAIL!!!
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceApril 20, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheWineSnob
Location:East China, Michigan
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Great Opi Malbec
Date:April 10, 2015
Took this bottle to a small gathering where it was determined to be one of the best wines there.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jakewine
Location:Rossmoor, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec!
Date:April 8, 2015
A Malbec's Malbec. Big, fruity, a little dark and smoky... really enjoyed this as a stand alone wine or paired with a grilled meat. I'll drink this one anytime.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dickam
Location:Colorado
not ready
Date:April 8, 2015
Perhaps this Malbec will improve with some age. Right now it is a little "green"
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikewine
Location:Carmel, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec
Date:April 6, 2015
A great, smooth Malbec... I'm not a wine expert, but I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes Malbec or red wine in general.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Qban2013
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Needs aging time
Date:April 3, 2015
The 2014 Opi Malbec was a surprise for a yung Malbec. Hintts of the full body are present at it's early age and with time the Malbec boldness will develp and Opi will be a fine wine to enjoy with a meal.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Norsema
Location:Oregon
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very drinkable
Date:April 2, 2015
Soft tannins. Opens up nicely over the course of an hour. I wasn't paying attention when I looked at the label, and would not of opened it had I realized it was a 2014. It is drinkable now, but a year or two would help smooth it out.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bonhomme
Date:April 1, 2015
Nice flavor, but a little too light and lacking in complexity for my taste.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mango
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
The Malbec I Didn't Like
Date:March 31, 2015
I am definitely a Malbec fan, but I fear I am the exception to the rule in that I did not like this one at all. I am not facile with wine tasting parlance, but this seemed too "dry" and all berry but no softness. It tasted like a $8.99 bottle. However, to each his own. Please keep the Malbecs coming, though!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceApril 6, 2015
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, you can also click on the heart symbol next to any wines in your list that you’ve loved, which will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages!
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bdoll
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Revisit this Malbec
Date:March 29, 2015
Smooth fresh pleasing on the palate with a slight peppery finish. I struggle in possibly rating this higher. Will revisit this wine in future.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigReds74
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very nice
Date:March 29, 2015
I enjoyed this wine with steaks Although I like amore full Malbec this went well with meat, I will order more
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
skyrat
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not for me
Date:March 29, 2015
This wine, although a good wine, is just not for me. It is far too dry. I tend to like the fruitier taste in wines and this one just doesn't work for me. It is, however, a good dinner wine for steak, pork or fish. Quite versatile.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMarch 30, 2015
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, you can also click on the heart symbol next to any wines in your list that you’ve loved, which will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages!
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mast
Location:Boulder, co
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Buy - Great Wine
Date:March 29, 2015
One of the best Malbecs I have had anywhere. Soft on the palate. Strawberry flavors. Perfect tannins.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
amateur
less than ordinary
Date:March 28, 2015
I have tasted better wines from the supermarket for less than $10.00
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>