Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.843 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(413 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (413 reviews)
5 stars
122
4 stars
164
3 stars
81
2 stars
32
1 star
14
330 out of 413(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DonJusn
Location:Bergen County, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good but not great
Date:March 15, 2015
Love Malbecs and this one had nice smokey hints but overall didn't really love the experience. Tasted a bit too acidic and the aftertaste wasn't good.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iceman
Location:Plano, Tx
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec
Date:March 15, 2015
Loved it especially for the price and age! Thoroughly enjoyed!
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
agolex
Location:Lexington, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Weird Taste
Date:March 13, 2015
Bad finish - Licorice type taste. I will not get this again ever.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wine118
Corked
Date:March 12, 2015
First bottle was good, second was corked. Disappointing.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMarch 13, 2015
Very sorry you didn’t enjoy the wine. Perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PBWIneGuy
Awful
Date:March 11, 2015
New wine, not ready to drink. Bitter. I've had much better and was quite disappointed as I love Argentinian Malbecs
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMarch 13, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CharlaOlli
Location:Lompoc, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Balanced and Enjoyable
Date:March 11, 2015
Nicely balanced it had a lot of depth and texture. Malbec is generally a different "beast" that you have to train your palate for, this one was enjoyable.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sumo
Location:North Carolina
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wow, she is in love
Date:March 7, 2015
This wine is superb. A sprightly dancer on your tongue, this wine will make you say "wow." Dry, light, a wisp of fruit, my wife said she is "in love" with it. To give you some context, we are Valpolicello and Rioja kind of people, Barolo with something heavier. Cotes du Rhone with something lighter. This wine is superb.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gerri
Location:Wanaque
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful
Date:February 28, 2015
A rich, hearty, full bodied red that has no harsh after taste. Very smooth. Was the best of the lot.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mgilmer
Location:columbia, sc
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great with food or alone
Date:February 27, 2015
I love wines that can be sipped alone or enjoyed with a nice dinner. This is a medium bodied wine that is very versatile.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Austin
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Needs to Age
Date:February 26, 2015
This Malbec is 2014. I think if it stays in the bottle one more year, it'll be much better.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Zoet
Location:Mankato MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Dry Red Wine
Date:February 25, 2015
Here. You want dry red wine? Drink this. Have some swiss cheese and apples, too. But if you decide to leave the sauna, re-wrap the towel around your waist. Then head out to the snowbank, scoop up two handfuls of freshly driven white snow and bury your cheeks and eyebrows in it. Then come back to the warming snifter of J Opi Malbec and sweat out the memories of your workday.
Faint caramel notes, more sharply intoxicating than Dão. Light weight, granular color of grey ruby, 13%ABV.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shuttleboogie
Location:Indianapolis, IN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
novice
Date:February 24, 2015
I really don't know wine, but I know if the taste is what I like. This is a wine that has a taste that I like.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Harlan
Location:CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good value, medium bodied wine
Date:February 22, 2015
We enjoyed this wine, but it was not spectacular. Medium aromas, soft flavors of blackberry, vanilla, smoke, wet leaves. Had a nice finish. We enjoyed it but probably would not buy again.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melachar
Location:Chicagoland
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Big flavor, good value
Date:February 18, 2015
Just getting familiar with Malbecs. This one has big flavor, but the tannins arent't too heavy. Very enjoyable and the price is right.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaptainJoe
Nice Malbec
Date:February 17, 2015
Very nice Malbec. Light but not weak, fruity but not sweet.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:New York
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
It was enjoyable.
Date:February 15, 2015
It was a little sweet, but yet still pretty dry, giving it a very nice blend. I would buy again.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tnkrtam
Location:Tucson, AZ
My Favorite Wine is:White Wine Only
Enjoyed this Malbec
Date:February 15, 2015
Malbecs are one of my favorites. This one was less robust than I'd anticipated with a Malbec, yet flavorful and thoroughly enjoyable. Had a really great finish.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hoover
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Average
Date:February 14, 2015
Bold and full bodied. just did not knock my socks off. Love dry wines. This was good but not exceptional
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LI00385
Location:Le Claire, IA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Malbec
Date:February 14, 2015
Very good Malbec from Argentina. Nice body and taste
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Switch73
Location:Arizona
MIxed
Date:February 7, 2015
I like, my wife doesn't (she doesn't like Malbecs).
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>