Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(1516 Reviews) 620
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,516 reviews)
5 stars
451
4 stars
594
3 stars
289
2 stars
108
1 star
74
1,123 out of 1,237(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2016
Just ok.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2016
Very smooth, even flavor. Thoroughly enjoyed with a ham dinner. I have now officially been turned on to Malbec!
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2016
This was overwhelmingly bitter and dry. One glass gave me a headache, I had to pour the rest of the bottle in the sink.
Response from WSJwine:By FredCustomer ServiceApril 22, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it, and we'll make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2016
This was a very disappointing bottle of wine it had a burnt taste. I didn't like it.
Response from WSJwine:By NicholasCustomer ServiceApril 19, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2016
I drink a lot of Malbecs and this is one of the better ones. A good value for the quality.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2016
Such a well-rounded Malbec! Not too dry, not too sweet... not too anything. Well, maybe too good!!!
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2016
I have never had anything from Opi's collections that I did not enjoy, and this one is no exception. However, and I am being overly critical, this vintage was not as smooth and slightly more tart than his prior releases. Still a solid wine.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2016
we enjoyed this Malbec
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2016
Very nice Malbec and we recommend highly. We would certainly order again.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2016
This is a great wine for any occasion with or without a meal.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016
Want this one again. One of my favs!!
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016
This wine was somewhat lighter than I expected but quite tasty. To me this was similar to a Pinot Noir in taste.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016
One of the best balanced Malbecs I have ever tasted.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2016
This is the third bottle from my introductory shipment from WSJ and this is the best one of the three I've tried. Not fantastic, but certainly worth drinking. I would consider ordering this one again, but it would have to again be at an introductory price level; in other words decent for the approximately $6 per bottle I paid for it.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2016
Went well with pizza at a pizza oven party.
Response from WSJwine:By TonyaCustomer ServiceApril 12, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2016
Delish!
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2016
Great with food. Very versatile.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2016
Excellent. Very smooth with no after taste.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016
Nice, smooth, not too dry or tart. To me, the smoke notes were very subtle. Just an excellent blend.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016
Really impressive.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>