Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.822 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(1642 Reviews) 651
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,642 reviews)
5 stars
495
4 stars
638
3 stars
313
2 stars
113
1 star
83
1,123 out of 1,237(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2016
This is one of the best Malbecs I have had. We enjoyed it with a steak last night and it paired perfectly, while not being too heavy for a beautiful, warm day.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2016
Pleasant enough, but nothing special.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2016
Very good with steak
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2016
Good value.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2016
When my husband first looked at this wine, his first comment.... yikes a 2015 wine... I said, just wait and taste it... We were both so impressed with the quality, flavor and richness of the wine... It's definitely a favorite of ours!!! Strongly recommend!
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2016
Tried this wine after sampling several other Malbecs and found it, in a word, meh. Others are much, much better.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2016
Now this is a Malbec to remember. Rich and complex with no after taste. Goes well with any savory meal - although you might be satisfied with the wine alone.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2016
Loved it! Not peppery like other Malbecs, but a good, full-bodied red with medium tannins. Great!
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2016
Very smooth, with a slight sweetness to the finish. The 2015 shows a few differences from the 2014 vintage, but we still feel this is a superbly enjoyable Malbec at this price point. Another "Favorite" from J Opi.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2016
A very good wine with rib eye steak, corn on the cob and a salad. We would recommend it with any red meat.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2016
Pretty good. Not the best Malbec I've had, even at the same price point, but very drinkable.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2016
I did not care for this. It seemed very dry.
Response from WSJwine:By NickCustomer ServiceMay 7, 2016

Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this

wine doesn't feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we'd love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and

dislike). It'll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles

that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under 'My

Wine Cellar' and away you go.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2016
Excellent with pork dishes (pot roast and barbecued ribs).
Pleasant bouquet and full bodied.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2016
Nice wine to share alone or with friends. Not too strong, fruity, or dry - JUST RIGHT!
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2016
Nice and smooth tannins, medium bodied. Perfect wine for a good steak, cheeses or By itself.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2016
Nice taste. I love Malbec. Solid
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2016
excellent wine! will be reordering this. im not one much to describe wines, but this one has a excellent bouquet and is smooth and easy to drink.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2016
Good and well balanced, easy to drink. Fruity and floral. Not strong acidity and tannin. Soft on palate.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2016
It took a while for this one to open up, but it was a decent Malbec, relatively light-bodied, and not fruity. It was quite good with a pasta with Chorizo sausage and lardons.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2016
Very smooth - a favorite from Mendoza!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>