Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.849 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(456 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (456 reviews)
5 stars
132
4 stars
188
3 stars
86
2 stars
35
1 star
15
366 out of 456(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Qban2013
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Needs aging time
Date:April 3, 2015
The 2014 Opi Malbec was a surprise for a yung Malbec. Hintts of the full body are present at it's early age and with time the Malbec boldness will develp and Opi will be a fine wine to enjoy with a meal.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Norsema
Location:Oregon
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very drinkable
Date:April 2, 2015
Soft tannins. Opens up nicely over the course of an hour. I wasn't paying attention when I looked at the label, and would not of opened it had I realized it was a 2014. It is drinkable now, but a year or two would help smooth it out.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bonhomme
Date:April 1, 2015
Nice flavor, but a little too light and lacking in complexity for my taste.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mango
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
The Malbec I Didn't Like
Date:March 31, 2015
I am definitely a Malbec fan, but I fear I am the exception to the rule in that I did not like this one at all. I am not facile with wine tasting parlance, but this seemed too "dry" and all berry but no softness. It tasted like a $8.99 bottle. However, to each his own. Please keep the Malbecs coming, though!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceApril 6, 2015
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, you can also click on the heart symbol next to any wines in your list that you’ve loved, which will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages!
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bdoll
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Revisit this Malbec
Date:March 29, 2015
Smooth fresh pleasing on the palate with a slight peppery finish. I struggle in possibly rating this higher. Will revisit this wine in future.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigReds74
Location:NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very nice
Date:March 29, 2015
I enjoyed this wine with steaks Although I like amore full Malbec this went well with meat, I will order more
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
skyrat
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not for me
Date:March 29, 2015
This wine, although a good wine, is just not for me. It is far too dry. I tend to like the fruitier taste in wines and this one just doesn't work for me. It is, however, a good dinner wine for steak, pork or fish. Quite versatile.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMarch 30, 2015
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, you can also click on the heart symbol next to any wines in your list that you’ve loved, which will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages!
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mast
Location:Boulder, co
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Buy - Great Wine
Date:March 29, 2015
One of the best Malbecs I have had anywhere. Soft on the palate. Strawberry flavors. Perfect tannins.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
amateur
less than ordinary
Date:March 28, 2015
I have tasted better wines from the supermarket for less than $10.00
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rambler
Location:Richmond, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
J Opi Malbec 2014
Date:March 26, 2015
Dark red. Very smoky and earthy. Medium-heavy tannins and medium body. Red currants, cherries, and dried fruits. Long and slightly sweet finish.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tiffany
Location:Grapevine, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great Malbec
Date:March 26, 2015
Malbecs are not a typical choice of mine and I made the mistake of giving one of the two bottles to a friend, since he is a Malbec lover. I should have kept them both for myself. I really enjoyed this one. It had a nice medium body and finished very smooth. Definitely would buy again.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stormy
Location:San Antonio, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
First Opened
Date:March 25, 2015
This was the first bottle opened from our first shipment. It was yummy - but others have proved to be even better in this shipment.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VolvoRacer9
Location:Silver Spring, MD
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Promising, but give it time to mature!
Date:March 24, 2015
Great color, rich texture, though flavors were not well-knit and tannins were still quite hard. I suspect this will be a great Malbec, but I won't open my second bottle for at least 3 years.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChossBoss
Location:Cincinnati, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Interesting and sneaky
Date:March 19, 2015
At first sip the wine had a very strong flavor and I thought I didn't like it. After taking a few more sips it quickly grew on me. By the end of my first glass I couldn't wait to have another. Very unique!
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Babahaha
Location:Cincinnati, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Average Malbec
Date:March 16, 2015
This wine was too heavy. It had a full, robust flavor and a decent finish. But it simply was heavy. a bit like a sweet syrup in motor oil ~
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CT460
Location:Avon, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Malbec
Date:March 15, 2015
Let it breathe for 30+ minutes and you'll be rewarded. Went very well with a big juicy steak.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DonJusn
Location:Bergen County, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good but not great
Date:March 15, 2015
Love Malbecs and this one had nice smokey hints but overall didn't really love the experience. Tasted a bit too acidic and the aftertaste wasn't good.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iceman
Location:Plano, Tx
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec
Date:March 15, 2015
Loved it especially for the price and age! Thoroughly enjoyed!
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
agolex
Location:Lexington, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Weird Taste
Date:March 13, 2015
Bad finish - Licorice type taste. I will not get this again ever.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wine118
Corked
Date:March 12, 2015
First bottle was good, second was corked. Disappointing.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMarch 13, 2015
Very sorry you didn’t enjoy the wine. Perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>