Product Reviews

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.873 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
5
62 out of 79(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VikingBuckeye
Location:Akron, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Solid
Date:May 19, 2012
A good Malbec... maybe not as "meaty" as we had expected.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Glassaday
Location:Houston, Tx
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good taste for a low price
Date:May 17, 2012
The best wine of the introductory wine club. It is a bargain at this price. Looking to add a few bottles to my next case.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moods
Date:May 8, 2012
Bought a Malbec collection. Four family members did a blind taste test. This was the best by far of the 4 labels sent. When I went to reorder, I found that it is also the least expensive of the bunch.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWS007
Location:NW Indiana
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Enjoyable
Date:April 28, 2012
This was an enjoyable Malbec and paired very nicely with a steak. You certainly cannot dispute the value; this would be a great go-to wine when you have a bbq.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrea
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
very good
Date:April 22, 2012
I served this wine to some dinner guests. All thought it was a very good wine. Perfect to serve with steak.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dana
Location:TN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Maybe Just Too Young
Date:March 26, 2012
We love a good Malbec and this one is not there yet. Another one that is too astringent and tannins are overpowering. I hope this is just way to young, but just in case, we gave the second bottle away.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Winegirl
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Horrible
Date:March 13, 2012
Of all the wines in my introductory shipment this is the worst of the bunch, I have been pleased with the others. I was not sure if I really liked Malbec or not from the others I have had in the past but this made up my mind for me. I will never recommend this to anyone. It did not have a pleasant taste. Unfortunately, I had half a glass and poured out the rest of the bottles. I didn't have the heart to give this to anyone else.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By WSJwine Customer CareMarch 15, 2012
Very sorry you had a bad experience — if you haven’t already contacted us, we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lvwinelvr
Location:Las Vegas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Meh...
Date:February 29, 2012
This came in my intro order, and while it was ok I wouldn't buy it at more than $10 a bottle. It's FAR better however than the Firesteed 2009 Pinot Noir, which I poured out - and which is no longer on the site, although my first shipment just came last week.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FinzLeft
Location:Fort Collins, Co
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Nice Suprise
Date:February 18, 2012
This was my first Malbec ever and what a nice surprise.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Joshuax3
Location:Nixa, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Rich & Full
Date:February 17, 2012
My first malbec. Bold, full flavored rich ripe grapes. A little more bold than I have been use to. A flavor all it's own in a red. And it is red.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HagueGal
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Deep flavor
Date:February 8, 2012
I found this Malbec to be smooth and deep, but not overpowering.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
clevelandlakergirl
Location:pittsburgh
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
not the greatest
Date:January 5, 2012
i agree with one of the previous reviews: i think this wine needs to mature a little more.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rich
Location:Western NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not very pleasant
Date:December 17, 2011
This wine was part of my New Member selection. Of the four wines I've tasted, this is the worst of the bunch, I have been pleased with the others. I don't know if it has not 'matured' enough yet (2011 date) or what. It did not have a pleasant taste. Unfortunatley, I was sent 2 bottles in the introductory offer. I considered giving the other bottle to a friend for Christmas, but I will not do that.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
danobrew
Location:Boulder
Very average
Date:December 2, 2011
Vintage 2010 - not the best, not the worst Malbec I've had. Wouldn't buy at more than $7 a bottle.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2Sheas
Location:Spokane WA
Not the Best!
Date:November 8, 2011
Both my husband and myself thought this was just an OK wine. Had full body but didn't care for the wine itself much. We decided to hurry and drink both bottles first so we could get on to something we really might enjoy. Didn't like the spicey flavor.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bunny
Location:Bellingham, WA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Opi Malbec-Love this wine
Date:October 27, 2011
Excellent wine though I have rarely met a Malbec that I didn't like. This is a must have for ordering more
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1babywinelover
Location:Henderosn, NV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Mal that I like
Date:September 30, 2011
Very good. not a fan of malbec this one changed my mind
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
S35flyer
Location:Hayward, wi
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very nice
Date:September 7, 2011
I don't usually drink Malbec, but wow this is one great wine. I enjoyed it very much. I will reconsider my wine choices from strictly cabs to include malbecs like this.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewbaumTurk
Location:Columbus, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Keeper
Date:August 31, 2011
The initial nose had an organic layer reminiscent of a Bordeaux. The oak is subtle with only the slightest hint of green. There is a boldness to it that would compliment a hearty meal but it is balanced enough to enjoy on its own. I am one of those wine snobs that thinks wine does not benefit from alcohol that goes north of 12%. That said, there is enough fruit that it is not terribly damaged by it's 13.5% content. For the price, this one is a keeper.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Memrin
Location:Buda, Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Excellence in Action
Date:July 10, 2011
Loved it. An excellent product. Full Body and dry.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>