Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(375 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
149
3 stars
71
2 stars
25
1 star
14
302 out of 375(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaptainJoe
Nice Malbec
Date:February 17, 2015
Very nice Malbec. Light but not weak, fruity but not sweet.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:New York
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
It was enjoyable.
Date:February 15, 2015
It was a little sweet, but yet still pretty dry, giving it a very nice blend. I would buy again.
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tnkrtam
Location:Tucson, AZ
My Favorite Wine is:White Wine Only
Enjoyed this Malbec
Date:February 15, 2015
Malbecs are one of my favorites. This one was less robust than I'd anticipated with a Malbec, yet flavorful and thoroughly enjoyable. Had a really great finish.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hoover
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Average
Date:February 14, 2015
Bold and full bodied. just did not knock my socks off. Love dry wines. This was good but not exceptional
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LI00385
Location:Le Claire, IA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Malbec
Date:February 14, 2015
Very good Malbec from Argentina. Nice body and taste
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Switch73
Location:Arizona
MIxed
Date:February 7, 2015
I like, my wife doesn't (she doesn't like Malbecs).
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tjaslbauer
Location:Milaca, MN
Our first bottle.
Date:February 4, 2015
I have had Malbecs before and found them too dry. Both my wife and I loved it. I look forward to drinking another bottle.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jonesy
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:February 3, 2015
Decent wine for my wife and I. Wouldn't turn it down, but probably would pick a different wine if we were choosing.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VinoLover17
Location:Mohegan Lake, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nothing Better
Date:February 1, 2015
Although Ive had others, I always keep OPI in my house because I can drink it anytime! Love the mellowness and smooth finish
Whenever I make a recommendation or share with first timers nothing but accolades!!
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammer
Location:Cleveland, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best Malbec Ever!
Date:January 30, 2015
Delicious, absolutely wonderful! I can see why the maker has won so many awards.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DMick
Location:Bismarck, ND
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Loved I Think!
Date:January 27, 2015
A very smooth yet powerful red. I love malbecs and this one ranks among the best I've tried!
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Timm
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Argentina Malbec
Date:January 25, 2015
Unfortunately did not hold up to steak dinner. Perhaps too young. Lacked expected tangy plum taste.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimmieD
Location:Nashville
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Really enjoyed
Date:January 25, 2015
Robust and flavorful, this was one of the best Malbec's I have ever had.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jetflyer
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
J Opi Malbec
Date:January 24, 2015
Taste was ok, but too rich ad robust for our preference..
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJanuary 26, 2015
Thanks for your review; we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go!
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kemau
Location:Boulder, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Surprised by the Malbec
Date:January 24, 2015
I was worried about a red from Argentina but we were pleasantly surprised.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WolverineReds
Location:Holly, mi
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Friday evening fruity
Date:January 23, 2015
Enjoying this bottle of wine with my dad, who is recovering from cancer treatments. Every bottle, whatever the quality, is a moment shared and had only once. Enjoy!
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Payit4wardken
Location:Pueblo Colorado
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
2014 Mendoza Malbec
Date:January 22, 2015
Well balanced and smooth. I found it to be quite enjoyable. Deep rich, red color with a bouquet and tastes of blackberry and plum with light smoky notes. I savored it as suggested. Dinner included a hearty spicy burger and cheesy biscuits and starchy vegetables!
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamasWine
Location:WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Loved It
Date:January 21, 2015
I dont know anything about pairings or age just what I like, and I will open this bottle before all others. Not dry and not too sweet.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alegria32
Location:South Carolina
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good value
Date:January 21, 2015
If you like malbec, you won't be disappointed with theJ. Opi. It's smooth while also maintaining that powerful flavor of a good malbec. We served it with a grilled ribeye and it really complemented the steak.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AaronG
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Wine
Date:January 18, 2015
Dry, Flavorful. Excellent alone or paired with red meat.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>