Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.804 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(592 Reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (592 reviews)
5 stars
168
4 stars
236
3 stars
117
2 stars
46
1 star
25
488 out of 592(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Not too shabby!
Date:June 23, 2015
Spicy and smooth to the finish. It's the perfect wine to either drink alone or pair with a flavorful dish.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Unexpected Delight
Date:June 22, 2015
I'm not a huge Malbec fan, but this one was different. It has a lovely flavor. I didn't notice any smoke notes from the oak. I was really pleased with this one!
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:lLong Island NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A wonderful new discovery
Date:June 14, 2015
This was my introduction to Malbecs. I loved its rich smooth taste. Since enjoying this particular Malcec, I have tried others and found that all Malbecs are not equal
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nope.
Date:June 9, 2015
I was not a fan of this wine. It was very metallic tasting.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJune 10, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Date:May 29, 2015
New World, medium oak, soft tannin-good finish with a nice mouth feel.
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgetown, Tx
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Fruity but not overwhelming
Date:May 28, 2015
was not too sweet and very smooth. Def a good choice.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Malbec's
Date:May 27, 2015
Not a huge fan of Malbecs. They're far too astringent.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJune 8, 2015
Thanks for your review.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
Date:May 25, 2015
This is excellent wine and every bottle has been great. Slightly on the sweet side, very nice.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Wonderful
Date:May 21, 2015
Oaky nose, great smooth mouthfeel, dark cherry notes, spicy overtones and dry, tannic finish
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Good wine
Date:May 20, 2015
I found it to have a nice fruity nose, tasted black cherry and a hint of dark chocolate. quite complex for my inexperience but very enjoyable. Flavor improved as it was left to breath for a while.
Medium tannin, low acidity and moderate alcohol. I am looking forward to my second bottle but may let it age a bit more.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Hard to go wrong with Malbec
Date:May 17, 2015
For those who favor a red wine, it is hard to go wrong with Malbec. Great with meals or without. Savored every drop.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Average Red
Date:May 13, 2015
A bit metallic tasting, not the earthy Malbec tones I was expecting.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Matamoras, PA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good value.
Date:May 12, 2015
Dry and fruity with an oaky finish. Great for the price.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Appealing Malbec
Date:May 9, 2015
Appealing crimson color. A dry Argentine Malbec with a slightly spiced aroma and a mild finish. An okay value for the price, probably would buy again. Paired well with red meat from the grill. Next time we’ll pair with sausage and hard cheese!
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not understanding the Opi thing
Date:May 9, 2015
Maybe we're strange, but we're just not really enjoying the Opi wines. They seem to be a big thing at WSJ, but our 'taste profile' must be out of sync with this wine. Nothing wrong with it, just not what we like.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMay 12, 2015
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that this one wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love.

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you do like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go!
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Surprise
Date:May 9, 2015
It's my first time taste the Argentina Malbec. Quite different from other Malbac.
Very soft and fruity.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome Malbec
Date:May 1, 2015
One of my favorite Malbecs. Smooth and not too spicy. Elegant for a grape grown in a severe climate.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lakeway
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Best 5 of 5
Date:April 25, 2015
We rated it last of the 5 but it was good too, just not as good as the Farbre or Schroeder
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not the best Malbec
Date:April 24, 2015
The Malbec was dry for my test, probably would have been better to drink a year or two down the road.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Love it
Date:April 23, 2015
I paired this with salmon prepared with a spicy Chinese bbq sauce. The sauce is deep and dark and the malbec complemented it beautifully. Finished the bottle in two quick evenings. Deep berry flavor, delicious.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>