Product Reviews

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.824 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (176 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
69
3 stars
28
2 stars
14
1 star
10
142 out of 176(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NorNorCermet
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good, but prefer others over it
Date:November 15, 2014
It was a little light for my taste. i prefer something a little richer and full bodied. But it was still good as far as reds go. It's light and has the full range, but it's missing the middle.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefExtraordinaire
Wonderful!
Date:November 15, 2014
Smooth and silky. We enjoyed this wine with a home cooked steak on the grill. It was absolutely delicious!!
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LBJR
Location:Arizona
Tasty!
Date:November 15, 2014
We hadn't tried a Malbec before, we enjoyed this bottle very much!
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vonkaefer
Location:California
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
nice surprise
Date:November 14, 2014
We were planning to get 'some" wine for dinner, and picked up this bottle as it was the least expensive from the Malbec case we ordered. Nice surprise! We enjoyed this wine. The quality of vine is really good for the price we paid - I would recommend this bottle for my friends. I am looking forward enjoying the next bottle :)
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quentin1
Location:Livingston, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Could not connect with this one
Date:November 12, 2014
I found this wine flat and totally undrinkable. I love malbecs in general but this one didn't register with me at all.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceNovember 17, 2014
Thanks for the review, we’re sorry to hear that the Opi Malbec wasn’t for you - we only want to send you wines that you love!

Any time you try a wine that you'd rather not receive again, you can let us know (and keep a record for yourself) in one quick click. From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and hit the ‘Not for me’ symbol next to the wine in question. We will then add it to your ‘Not for Me’ list and ensure that it’s removed from your future wine club cases. And while you’re there, you can also click on the heart symbol next to any wines in your list that you’ve loved, which will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages!
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCWineLover
Location:Charlotte, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nicely done, smooth
Date:November 12, 2014
Full bodied, smooth, nice dinner wine. Recommended for most wine lovers.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
liquorlover
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
sample case
Date:November 12, 2014
not much to say a little too dry and with a somewhat flat aftertaste
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceNovember 12, 2014
Thanks for your review, and sorry this one didn't quite hit the spot.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go!
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellzeena
Location:NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Like it
Date:November 8, 2014
Most of these wines in the initial order I do not like, this one I do and would re-order
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
505dk
Location:staten island
good
Date:November 7, 2014
don't want to write about the wines ,just rate them
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bronxie
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Superb Malbec
Date:November 5, 2014
This is probably one of the most sumptuous wines I've had. It truly delighted me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jmalea
Location:St. louis, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Too young to be enjoyed
Date:November 2, 2014
This wine is extremely young, almost no body, Consistency and taste closer to grape juice than to wine. Taste is good tough and it is not too alcoholic, so it seems like it could get better in some years. If you buy it, save it for 2016 at least.
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HuskerWineFan
Location:Lincoln, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Malbec
Date:November 2, 2014
Very good Malbec at any price. Cherry flavors, with undertones of oak. Light pepper finish. Medium bodied with a lot of flavor.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pasto911
Location:Brooklyn, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very nice
Date:November 1, 2014
Very dark color. Not much to report on the nose but the flavors are intense- smokey cassis and cherry cola. Really long finish.
Malbec is not my favorite grape but this is a really nice example of what it can do.
An ideal companion to a medium-rare NY strip or ribeye.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
douglaslybrand
Location:Elgin
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Tasty
Date:November 1, 2014
First Malbec, very good. Not sweet nor heavy. Good with steak.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blob
Nice little wine
Date:October 31, 2014
Versatile medium bodied wine - good for happy hour or with a meal.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blemdoh
Location:Hastings! Mi
Nice malbec
Date:October 30, 2014
Good flavor. Darkish but not too much. Moderately dark.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NowinCA
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not a fan
Date:October 29, 2014
I just opened this bottle, and I am sorry to say I don't like it.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceOctober 30, 2014
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wayne
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very thick and smooth.
Date:October 28, 2014
Outstanding wine for everyday. I like red wines and this one has a berry and vanilla taste that is sweet and smooth.
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
steelhead86
Location:Columbus Oh
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good value
Date:October 25, 2014
This wine is a very good buy for the price. You can utilize it with many dinner selections.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ViveLebonVin
Location:VA
Awful wine
Date:October 22, 2014
Well i don't understand the good reviews...This is a really bad wine and I have 2 bottle of it now that are going to the garbage... The smell was horrible and so was the taste...
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceOctober 27, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>