Product Reviews

WSJwine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Average Customer Rating:
3.752 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
51
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
10
108 out of 141(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 21 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wayne
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very thick and smooth.
Date:October 28, 2014
Outstanding wine for everyday. I like red wines and this one has a berry and vanilla taste that is sweet and smooth.
Review 22 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
golf4food
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
solid wine
Date:September 10, 2014
First time i had it, i was impressed. A few times later, I still think it is nice, but needs to be on sale to buy it..
Review 23 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
steelhead86
Location:Columbus Oh
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good value
Date:October 25, 2014
This wine is a very good buy for the price. You can utilize it with many dinner selections.
Review 24 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ViveLebonVin
Location:VA
Awful wine
Date:October 22, 2014
Well i don't understand the good reviews...This is a really bad wine and I have 2 bottle of it now that are going to the garbage... The smell was horrible and so was the taste...
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceOctober 27, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 25 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
redwine6
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not Awesome
Date:October 18, 2014
A full-bodied wine - liked the dark red color - but it wasn't that awesome. I was ready for this bottle to be done so we could move on to the next!
Review 26 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wahwahnyc
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Dry, Smoky w/Vanilla
Date:October 7, 2014
A very good Malbec. Dry and smoky, with strong notes of vanilla.
Review 27 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DallasWineGal
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Solid Malbec
Date:October 7, 2014
Very nice Malbec. It's less smokey than they can be, which I appreciated. It's a beautiful deep color and went famously with a heavy steak dinner.
Review 28 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BIRDMAN
COOKING WINE
Date:October 6, 2014
WE COULD NOT DRINK THIS WINE. WE HAVE TWO BOTTLES. MY WIFE WILL USE IT FOR COOKING
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceOctober 9, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment . We only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 29 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Iwona
Location:Europe
Average
Date:October 6, 2014
This wine has good reviews here, I dont now why. Average would be propeer rating thats it. For up to 10 usd, no more
Review 30 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
truly
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Harsh tannins
Date:October 4, 2014
Not very pleasing as far as Malbecs go. This wine had a harsh tannins which all but drowned out the fruity flavors of the grape and ruined the smooth finish.
Review 31 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vinny2Times
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I ordered another case
Date:October 3, 2014
This was great with a steak or just sipping with cheese and crackers. My favorite thus far!
Review 32 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BenH
Full-flavored
Date:October 2, 2014
Bold, earthy flavor; I can see the appeal, but it is a bit too indelicate for me.
Review 33 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cluo007
Location:Brooklyn, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
J Opi Malbec 2013
Date:September 26, 2014
My first taste of this S. America red, it's smoky and smooth; a light and young red wine. I like it.
Review 34 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
markizdekarabas
Location:Chicago, IL
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
berries
Date:September 22, 2014
Great value. Sweet. Smoky. Was a little bit too sweet for my taste.
Review 35 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Paweljan
Location:Poland
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nothing special
Date:September 22, 2014
Everybody likes it? I doubt. Maybe I am wrong, tried second bottle, barely acceptable
Review 36 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redisimo
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Superb!
Date:September 19, 2014
Smooth as silk and pleasurable to my palate. Will definitely purchase again.
Review 37 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ECUPirate
Location:chocowinity, nc
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
very nice and fruity
Date:September 19, 2014
Rich and tasty. I would buy again....great gift for those that dont know Malbec
Review 38 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fritz
Location:Houston, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best Malbec
Date:September 9, 2014
Very mellow easy drinking red. Great long task with little after tast
Review 39 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tripor
Location:Bay Area, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
My Favorite
Date:September 6, 2014
Best Malbec I've tried. A real value at this price.
Review 40 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lisa
Location:Buffalo Gap TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not for me
Date:September 4, 2014
I found this to be too dry and it has a definite bite. Maybe too peppery. My husband and I both could barely finish our first glass.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>