Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Cabalié 2011

Hervé Sabardeil’s Grenache-based Cabalié is a big house favorite. The velvety 2011 is his richest yet – and, it sports gold from a very competitive local show. Oh-so-smooth layers of sun-baked red berries ... this one's made for leisurely sipping.
Average Customer Rating:
3.98 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
6
32 out of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabalié 2011
Review 1 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2016
More of a new world wine, lacking acidity and minerals typical of this region. I did enjoyed the wine though
Review 2 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2016
A bit sweet for my taste
Response from WSJwine:By NicholasCustomer ServiceMay 23, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 3 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2016
The 2014 Cabalié blend (70% Grenache, 20% Syrah, 10% Carignan) is an unusual wine, jammed with heavy, sweet strawberries. Nothing like any other Grenache-based wine we've tried. It's full-bodied and has subtle tannins despite its young age. It is a good value at a price of $12.50 per bottle, though we aren't sure if we enjoyed it or if we just enjoyed pushing our boundaries.
Review 4 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2016
This wine is on the sweet side, very easy to drink on it's own.
Review 5 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2016
too jammy for me
Review 6 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2016
A wonderful full bodied wine.
Review 7 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2016
Smooth, great for sipping and with cashews
Review 8 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2016
Very different. Smooth and rich color.
Review 9 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2016
Very balanced; great by itself or with food
Review 10 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016
Deep bodied red with deep textures. The online description is spot on.
Review 11 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2016
I have had this wine before and always enjoyed it with this vintage being no different. We were talking and enjoying the wine when we realized that we had finished the bottle in no time! Very smooth!
Review 12 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2016
Absolute pleasure to drink!
Review 13 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2016
Very dissapointing, flat, lacking flavor
Response from WSJwine:By BritanyCustomer ServiceFebruary 8, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any of your future wine club cases.
To help us serve you better, we'd love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It'll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under 'My Wine Cellar' and away you go.
Review 14 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2016
Good all round flavor
Review 15 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2016
Fragrant. Light. Delicious.
Review 16 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too sweet
Date:January 10, 2016
This was surprisingly sweet or had too much fruit for my taste
Response from WSJwine:By NickJanuary 13, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this

wine doesn't feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we'd love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and

dislike). It'll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles

that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under 'My

Wine Cellar' and away you go.
Review 17 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2015
Has a sweet taste without the after taste. good alcohol content at 13%
Review 18 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2015
great wine. Well balanced and flavorful with lots of fruit flavors.
Review 19 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015
Excellent
Review 20 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2015
We have ended this wine for years with Cassoulet, Chile and Lamb roast.It is a crowd pleaser.
1 2 3 next>>