Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Cabalié 2011

Hervé Sabardeil’s Grenache-based Cabalié is a big house favorite. The velvety 2011 is his richest yet – and, it sports gold from a very competitive local show. Oh-so-smooth layers of sun-baked red berries ... this one's made for leisurely sipping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
31 out of 37(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabalié 2011
Review 1 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2016
Very dissapointing, flat, lacking flavor
Response from WSJwine:By BritanyCustomer ServiceFebruary 8, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any of your future wine club cases.
To help us serve you better, we'd love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It'll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under 'My Wine Cellar' and away you go.
Review 2 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2016
Good all round flavor
Review 3 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2016
Fragrant. Light. Delicious.
Review 4 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too sweet
Date:January 10, 2016
This was surprisingly sweet or had too much fruit for my taste
Response from WSJwine:By NickJanuary 13, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this

wine doesn't feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we'd love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and

dislike). It'll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles

that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under 'My

Wine Cellar' and away you go.
Review 5 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2015
Has a sweet taste without the after taste. good alcohol content at 13%
Review 6 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2015
great wine. Well balanced and flavorful with lots of fruit flavors.
Review 7 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015
Excellent
Review 8 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2015
We have ended this wine for years with Cassoulet, Chile and Lamb roast.It is a crowd pleaser.
Review 9 for Cabalié 2011
This review is fromCabalié 2014.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Date:June 24, 2015
The best wine I have ever tasted and I have tasted and drank a lot of different wines. It starts with a hint of sweetness and rolls of the back with a nice dry, peppery finish.
Review 10 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great red
Date:March 5, 2014
Loved everything about this one. Its very rich and aromatic, bold but silky smooth.
Review 11 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best ever
Date:January 31, 2014
Fruity! Bright berry and chocolate. Gorgeous ruby red. Buy ,buy, buy!
Review 12 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Cherry Cola Cabalie
Date:October 31, 2013
Everyone has a different palate and I most certainly both respect and understand all of the glowing reviews of the Cabalie 2011, but for myself and even more so for my wife we found the decadence of this wine to be somewhat over the top for our palates. It poured a lovely black cherry color and the bottom of the cork was saturated in the same deep color which I always take as a good sign. It had a powerful nose giving off the aromas of red licorice, sweet tea and dark plummy fruit. When tasted the wine did come across as dense with concentrated flavors, but for our palates the main taste was of semi-sweet cherry cola with a touch of spice towards the finish. This flavor was so strong and persistent that we both thought that we were having a soft drink rather than a glass of wine. I should note that we have been wine drinkers for quite a number of years and over the years our palates have evolved quite a bit. When we first started off drinking red wines I'm sure that we would have appreciated this bottle much more than we did now.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morgantown, WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
One of our all-time favorites
Date:October 20, 2013
This wine came in one of my wine club cases and was a true surprise- amazingly fruity and easy to drink. It would be a great choice as the red wine during a party; very enjoyable to drink on its own. I'm going to get a case.
Review 14 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Possibly my favorite wine!
Date:August 10, 2013
I have bought this already several times. I can drink it with anything or just enjoy alone. Intense, warm, fruity, smooth. Just love it!
Review 15 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North of Indy, East of Chicago
Diggin' da Duece
Date:July 22, 2013
This wine punches you in the mouth with deep dark chocolate-covered berries. It’s very smooth, full bodied, and ends with just a teeny tiny bit of spice. I had it before, during, and after Margherita pizza. I pulled this beauty out of the basement this evening. I didn’t remember that I had a second bottle, but I sure remembered that I liked it when I saw the label. I neglected to review it the first time around and was surprised that the overall rating didn’t surpass 4 (it averaged 3 .9 out of 5 at the time of this review). So, I added my two cents. There ya’ go.
Review 16 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Yum
Date:June 23, 2013
very smooth with a touch of spice - lovely red blend
Review 17 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Swampscott, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Our favorite
Date:May 8, 2013
I feel intimidated reviewing wine, as I really don't immerse myself in all the vocabulary - the "finish", etc. What I can say is, this is by far the yummiest (is that a technical term?) wine my husband and I have had in a long, long time. We like most of the wine that comes in the discovery case, and typically lean toward Malbecs and Zinfandels, but this blend is by far our favorite and everyone we've served it to raves about it as well.
Review 18 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Awesome value
Date:April 25, 2013
Excellent plum notes with a sweet finish. I hope this wine shows up more often.
Review 19 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:charlotte, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Best Purchase Ever
Date:April 24, 2013
This is just a great well rounded, soft, wine that goes well either by itself or with cheese and crackers as well as with a steak.
Review 20 for Cabalié 2011
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Dark & fruity, smooth & flavorful!
Date:March 22, 2013
This wine is a standout paired with food or even a nice strong cheese. It's mild tannins and big, round voluptuous and complex character make it perfect for a lover of red wines. Thank you WSJ, you picked a winner!
1 2 next>>