Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Cabalié 2010

In a part of France famous for rich, ancient-vine reds, Cabalié takes smoothness and drinkability to delicious new levels. Made in the opulent style enjoyed by Roman legionnaries 2,000 years ago, it offers a real taste of history (and boasts gold from a top show).
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
19 out of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabalié 2010
Review 1 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CodyB
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great red
Date:March 5, 2014
Loved everything about this one. Its very rich and aromatic, bold but silky smooth.
Review 2 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookie
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best ever
Date:January 31, 2014
Fruity! Bright berry and chocolate. Gorgeous ruby red. Buy ,buy, buy!
Review 3 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Cherry Cola Cabalie
Date:October 31, 2013
Everyone has a different palate and I most certainly both respect and understand all of the glowing reviews of the Cabalie 2011, but for myself and even more so for my wife we found the decadence of this wine to be somewhat over the top for our palates. It poured a lovely black cherry color and the bottom of the cork was saturated in the same deep color which I always take as a good sign. It had a powerful nose giving off the aromas of red licorice, sweet tea and dark plummy fruit. When tasted the wine did come across as dense with concentrated flavors, but for our palates the main taste was of semi-sweet cherry cola with a touch of spice towards the finish. This flavor was so strong and persistent that we both thought that we were having a soft drink rather than a glass of wine. I should note that we have been wine drinkers for quite a number of years and over the years our palates have evolved quite a bit. When we first started off drinking red wines I'm sure that we would have appreciated this bottle much more than we did now.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pianoman
Location:Morgantown, WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
One of our all-time favorites
Date:October 20, 2013
This wine came in one of my wine club cases and was a true surprise- amazingly fruity and easy to drink. It would be a great choice as the red wine during a party; very enjoyable to drink on its own. I'm going to get a case.
Review 5 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarketingMaven
Location:Long Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Possibly my favorite wine!
Date:August 10, 2013
I have bought this already several times. I can drink it with anything or just enjoy alone. Intense, warm, fruity, smooth. Just love it!
Review 6 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Levi
Location:North of Indy, East of Chicago
Diggin' da Duece
Date:July 22, 2013
This wine punches you in the mouth with deep dark chocolate-covered berries. It’s very smooth, full bodied, and ends with just a teeny tiny bit of spice. I had it before, during, and after Margherita pizza. I pulled this beauty out of the basement this evening. I didn’t remember that I had a second bottle, but I sure remembered that I liked it when I saw the label. I neglected to review it the first time around and was surprised that the overall rating didn’t surpass 4 (it averaged 3 .9 out of 5 at the time of this review). So, I added my two cents. There ya’ go.
Review 7 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrenTemp
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Yum
Date:June 23, 2013
very smooth with a touch of spice - lovely red blend
Review 8 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmgboston
Location:Swampscott, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Our favorite
Date:May 8, 2013
I feel intimidated reviewing wine, as I really don't immerse myself in all the vocabulary - the "finish", etc. What I can say is, this is by far the yummiest (is that a technical term?) wine my husband and I have had in a long, long time. We like most of the wine that comes in the discovery case, and typically lean toward Malbecs and Zinfandels, but this blend is by far our favorite and everyone we've served it to raves about it as well.
Review 9 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lush
Location:Atlanta
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Awesome value
Date:April 25, 2013
Excellent plum notes with a sweet finish. I hope this wine shows up more often.
Review 10 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VinoSport
Location:charlotte, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Best Purchase Ever
Date:April 24, 2013
This is just a great well rounded, soft, wine that goes well either by itself or with cheese and crackers as well as with a steak.
Review 11 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redd
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Dark & fruity, smooth & flavorful!
Date:March 22, 2013
This wine is a standout paired with food or even a nice strong cheese. It's mild tannins and big, round voluptuous and complex character make it perfect for a lover of red wines. Thank you WSJ, you picked a winner!
Review 12 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zippyme
Location:New Fairfield, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delish
Date:March 8, 2013
This was a nice change up - I love the blend and as advertised was just fruity enough to enjoy during conversation before dinner.
Review 13 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cestmoi
Location:WDC
Fun surprise
Date:February 24, 2013
Wonderful blend - rich and popping with berries - so smooth to the tongue. Great choice.
Review 14 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CarrieVA
Location:Northern Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not a good choice
Date:December 30, 2012
We did not enjoy this bottle - couldn't even finish it after the first glass. We normally love blends but wonder if perhaps this went off somehow. Honestly we regret that we received two bottles of this in our shipment.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJanuary 7, 2013
Sorry for the bad experience! One of our team will be in touch shortly to sort out a refund.
Review 15 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandy
Location:Washington
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Terrific surprise
Date:December 17, 2012
I have enjoyed many good wines but this one is a gem. Shhhh- let's keep it our secret, I need more.
Review 16 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillip
Location:Dallas, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
excellent
Date:December 7, 2012
I was very amayzed with the magnificent taste of this wine.
Review 17 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imajoey
Location:Maple Valley, WA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good wine
Date:December 3, 2012
This wine was very good, great with our steaks, very smooth, enjoyed thoroughly.
Review 18 for Cabalié 2010
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fisherman
Location:Madison, Wis
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Disappointing
Date:May 10, 2012
We enjoyed an earlier Cabalie and so, relying on the description as being "opulent", "full-bodied", etc. expected the same. Unfortunately, this vintage is disappointing. There is no body there to improve with age. I doubt that the WSJ buyer even tasted this wine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceMay 14, 2012
Sorry for any disappointment. Rest assured all our wines go through a rigorous selection process before being offered to customers. It’s possible you had a bad bottle — and we’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 19 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2009.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
anita
Location:nd
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
discovery club
Date:July 21, 2011
This bottle was not my favorite labeling, and I too stay away from french reds. What a nice suprise. Loved it.
Review 20 for Cabalié 2010
This review is fromCabalié 2009.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PandL
Location:Sterling, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great full red, excellent value!
Date:July 12, 2011
My wife and I generally steer away from French reds so we were a little apprehensive when we opened this tonight. What a nice surprise! Dark, almost purple color, deep nose and ful, long, consistent flavor of cherries throughout. Great value. ordering a case.
1 2 next>>