Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010

Cherry-laden, impeccably balanced Chianti handcrafted from premium Sangiovese by maestro Paolo Masi. Always a big customer favorite, this 2010 was a huge success at a top international show.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (307 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
122
3 stars
74
2 stars
14
1 star
31
216 out of 307(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Review 1 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zoene
Location:Iowa
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
An amazing red
Date:February 27, 2015
This was a red that when I opened the bottle I took a long inhale and just grinned knowing this was going to be a nice red, the first sip made my jaw flare up and tingle in the perfect ways by the third sip I was practically drooling. It had wonderful accents of violets which I haven't had the pleasure of experience until now. Reading the back of the bottle and explanation of the wine is very accurate and would refer to it for any questions on flavor.
Review 2 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shuttleboogie
Location:Indianapolis, IN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
novice
Date:February 24, 2015
I really don't know wine, but I know if the taste is what I like. This is a wine that has a taste that I like.
Review 3 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sumsar
Location:Tucson, AZ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not for me
Date:February 23, 2015
I had two Chianti's in my last shipment and did not care for the wine. We forced the first bottle down and gave the second to a friend that enjoys Chianti. They were moderately pleased
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceFebruary 24, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any future wine club cases.
Review 4 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gallops
Location:Northern Neck, VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Smooth.
Date:February 21, 2015
Fruity. Very nice. Tannins not too harsh. Well balanced.
Review 5 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JuanS
Location:Long Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Ho-Hum
Date:February 20, 2015
I generally like Chianti since I prefer full bodied wines. However, while I did enjoy this, I wasn't overly impressed especially at the price. I found the flavor a tad bitter and not very smooth.
Review 6 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
juanquis
Location:El Paso, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Bold and smooth
Date:February 17, 2015
Very surprised of the smooth taste and strong body.
Review 7 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vabene
Location:Keene, NH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A lively, sparkling red
Date:February 8, 2015
No, not really sparkling but this wine feels alive in the mouth. It is light, refreshing and full of red fruit flavors. For me, this is exactly the kind of wine I look for as a table wine, the kind of good wine that can be found at village shops in Italy.
Review 8 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tjaslbauer
Location:Milaca, MN
Where is the Rooster?
Date:February 4, 2015
We were in Italy last summer and tasted some fine Chianti Classico wines. They told us to look for the Red Rooster for authenticity. This wine was OK but I've had better.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceFebruary 5, 2015
Thanks for your review. The black rooster (Gallo Nero) is the symbol for Chianti Classico (usually appears on neck of bottle). Chianti Classico is just one of several sub regions in Chianti - Paolo Masi's estate is in Rufina (another well-regarded district). Hope that clears up the mystery of the missing rooster!
Review 9 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SippingSal
Location:Waterford, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great with spaghetti & meatballs
Date:February 2, 2015
Not too familiar with many Chianti's, but I thoroughly enjoyed this with a great pasta sauce & meatballs. I would drink this again.
Review 10 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheDuke
Location:New York
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Viva italia!
Date:February 1, 2015
Fruity and mildly sweet. Finished off the bottle quickly and enjoyed every sip.
Review 11 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VinoVeritasDuo
Location:Verona, New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not a bad Chianti
Date:February 1, 2015
Not a big fan of Chianti but this one was better than most Chiantis. Medium bodied.
Review 12 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
monkeymaker
Location:NorCal
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Enjoyable despite flawed seal
Date:January 26, 2015
I'd have preferred to let this bottle age a couple years but could not because the top seal was broken; pushed in somehow. Despite this, I suppose we got lucky because the wine turned out to be one of the better Chiantis I've had recently. The value was great at $6 per thanx to the WSJ introductory deal, though I would not want to pay retail price knowing the bottle may be flawed. Thus, I'm not likely to buy it again.
Review 13 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Darlin
Location:Nashville, TN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tasty
Date:January 25, 2015
Not the best, but tasty. Lighter than what I prefer.
Review 14 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CasualGlass
Location:Washington
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Too Young
Date:January 25, 2015
A tart, but a little wine. Should definitely be paired with a food, not to be had on its own. Reminded me of a homemade wine. Might need more time in the bottle.
Review 15 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jetflyer
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not the best Chianti
Date:January 24, 2015
It was an ok taste for chianti, but we have had better.
Review 16 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SherryW
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big disappointment
Date:January 24, 2015
This is one of the few Italian wines that I frankly did not like at all and could barely drink. I was glad I didn't have company when I opened it. I have a Riserva in my new shipment, so I'll be interested in seeing how it compares.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJanuary 26, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment.  We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 17 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MamasWine
Location:WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Just Good
Date:January 21, 2015
We are new to wines or at least to drinking better wines so dont let my review persuade you. This was the best dry wine we have ever had and we generally dont like dry. We will probably buy it again because, there is a place for it but, it wont be one we reach for all the time.
Review 18 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarvelousMarv
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Smooth Chianti
Date:January 16, 2015
Overall, a nice bottle with the farmy, earthy flavor Chiantis are known for. Very smooth, unlike other Chiantis. Moderate fruit. Easy drinking. Better than the 90-rated, Top 100 wine, Nippozano Chianti
Review 19 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hammer
Location:Cleveland, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not Bad
Date:January 15, 2015
I don't normally drink chianti, so I'm not the best one to review this wine. It was ok.
Review 20 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2010
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SandDollar
Location:Rye NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Light Bodied Chianti
Date:January 14, 2015
I love Sangiovese based wines, but this Chianti was somewhat of a disappointment. Very light bodied and mellow for a Chianti! Personally, I prefer a Chianti with a bit more “oomph”.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>