Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009

“Paolo Masi makes wines with irreproachably clean fruit and abundant personality,” says Gambero Rosso, Italy’s top wine guide. Here’s his delicious, feast-ready Chianti – for good friends only – at a great savings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.599 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(382 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (382 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
150
3 stars
91
2 stars
21
1 star
35
277 out of 382(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Review 1 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Easy drinking Chianti
Date:August 30, 2015
I love dry full bodied Chianti. This does not fall in to this category. Definitely on the lighter side and probably paired well with pizza. Easy drinking. However, cannot say I would go out and buy it again.
Review 2 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015
I really dug the acidity and fruit forward characteristics. The smooth finish was impressive.
Review 3 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2015
Tried it with Baked Pasta with Chicken Sausage. We liked it.
Review 4 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015
This was a great chianti, not too dry or sweet, well balanced.
Review 5 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Bad bottle?
Date:August 17, 2015
I HATED this wine from the first sip! Since I only know French wines (as I lived in Paris for 20 years until recently), I thought it must be Chianti, or????
In any case I couldn't dump it fast enough, and am not about to open the second bottle, either.
Very poor introduction indeed.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceAugust 18, 2015
We are sorry for the disappointment. A refund for this bottle has been made and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 6 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2015
Not the best Chianti I've ever had. Very far from it, in fact. Still, coupled with Italian food, it went down well.
Review 7 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015
First bottle I liked, but the second bottle had a skunky smell
Review 8 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
All around good
Date:June 22, 2015
This Chanti surprised me. It had a lovely aroma and a very smooth pleasant taste. I'd say this was one of my favorites in the box. :)
Review 9 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
More Bitter Than Expected, But Good
Date:June 20, 2015
I'm no wine expert, and I generally prefer a moscato or Merlot, so the first sip was a bit of a surprise. By the end of the first glass, however, I did find myself enjoying the bitter bite on my tongue and the way it interacted with the food. Not my favorite, but good.
Review 10 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great value and flavor
Date:June 5, 2015
Definitely a good buy, great notes of cranberry and blackberry with a great finish
Review 11 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waynesville, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Possibly Our Favorite
Date:May 25, 2015
Excellent bouquet, initial taste and lasting taste - all excellent.
Review 12 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great chianti
Date:May 15, 2015
I am usually not a big chianti drinker. This wine is delicious and very drinkable.
Review 13 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Not bad, but didn't impress
Date:May 9, 2015
There wasn't anything ti really dislike about this one, but it didn't really impress us either.
Review 14 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rye NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delicious Sangiovese!
Date:April 23, 2015
Enjoyed this @ a pizza party!
It's not heavy or full bodied at all.... Great for everyday drinking...
Review 15 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ft Worth, Tx
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Date:April 22, 2015
I enjoyed but my did not. Pretty tasty with tomato pasta dish.
Review 16 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Sour bottle
Date:April 18, 2015
One bottle of this was good but the other bottle was sour and undrinkable
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceApril 18, 2015
Very sorry you didn’t enjoy the wine. Perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 17 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Dakota
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Classic
Date:April 13, 2015
Classic Chianti - everything one expects from a Chianti and more !
Review 18 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Longmeadow, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
throw in 9 more!
Date:April 4, 2015
This was part of the 3 extras on my first case. Love it.
Review 19 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reston, Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Lovely Chianti
Date:March 22, 2015
Smooth, well balanced wine that drinks well now. Not too fruit forward; nice tertiary flavors.
Review 20 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midland, MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
CdiP Chianti
Date:March 19, 2015
Very good. Much better than the Chianti my Mom used to buy when I was a teenager.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>