Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009

“Paolo Masi makes wines with irreproachably clean fruit and abundant personality,” says Gambero Rosso, Italy’s top wine guide. Here’s his delicious, feast-ready Chianti – for good friends only – at a great savings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
52
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
12
91 out of 117(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Review 1 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Werther
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Excellent choice
Date:September 11, 2014
I normally don't drink Chianti but this was a big surprise!
Review 2 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ohmy
Location:Washington State
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tart Tart Tart
Date:September 11, 2014
A really 'poppy' wine. Especially tart, and has a poppy fizziness about it, like it was slightly carbonated.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceSeptember 12, 2014
Thanks very much for your review. We have examined Paolo’s Chianti and can definitely report that it isn’t carbonated. Occasionally a few small bubbles may appear around the rim when the wine is first poured. These should dissipate after it’s been open a while. That said, we always want you to be completely satisfied and will be in touch soon to follow up with you.
Review 3 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AmyW
Location:MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
This wine taste like grape juice
Date:September 9, 2014
Not good at all. I would not buy it again and do not recommend it.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceSeptember 11, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 4 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
McLarryM
Location:Monterey Park, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Taste of Rufina
Date:September 2, 2014
This wine didn't stand out as great but there was also nothing wrong with it. It was pretty mild. My wife even liked it and she only drinks smooth non-tannen-like wines that are sweet. This is not a sweet wine though, I also felt it was very smooth. The nose was very faint. It didn't make me go, 'wow!' Chianti wines tend to be a bit harsh, which is ok with me, but this was an exception.
Review 5 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jgblaze
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Better than most
Date:September 2, 2014
Better than most...........................
......
Review 6 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sarita
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good wine, but not the best.
Date:September 1, 2014
Good wine, but not the best. Italian wines are good, but not my favorites.
Review 7 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Allen
Location:Austin, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Strong Contender
Date:August 18, 2014
Give this gem 20 minutes to open, and you will be rewarded with an excellent example of what Chianti is all about.
Review 8 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newkem
Location:southern, missouri
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Chianti
Date:August 17, 2014
A very good wine that can be enjoyed with a variety of dishes. Smooth with a taste that compliments your meal.
Review 9 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nothappy
lowsey
Date:August 14, 2014
very bitter and dry, difficult to drink, rolls your tongue
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceAugust 15, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 10 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
YerMas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Collezione
Date:August 12, 2014
Not normally a Chianti fan but this one was pleasant with not to strong an aftertaste.
Review 11 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JHutch
Location:Lampasas, Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Maybe I got a bad bottle
Date:August 12, 2014
Poured a glass, let it breathe a few minutes, took a sip and couldn't believe how bad it was. Waited 10 minutes and tried another sip- same vinegary taste. I'm even afraid to try cooking with this wine.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceAugust 14, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy the wine. Perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven't been refunded we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 12 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wine99
Good not great
Date:August 10, 2014
Just ok would not buy again unless it was significantly less
Review 13 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jack3106
Location:fairfax, va
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
good but not great
Date:August 3, 2014
tasted much better after letting it sit for while to breath. Still, other reds were better. prefer melbec
Review 14 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chuckles
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Least favorite
Date:August 3, 2014
Neither my wife nor I cared for this wine at all. Unfortunately we received THREE BOTTLES. Guess we'll gift them out.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceAugust 14, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 15 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rivera
Location:Cincinnati
Decent wine.
Date:August 2, 2014
This was good. It goes good with pasta. Not good the next day.
Review 16 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cwillie60
Location:Dudley, ma
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
good solid chianti
Date:August 1, 2014
perfect for pasta and red sauces. Also excellent with red meat!
Review 17 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JWJW
Location:MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Bad Bottle?
Date:August 1, 2014
haven't opened the other yet, but this was the first bottle I've ben really disappointed in.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceAugust 3, 2014
Very sorry you didn't like the wine. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
Review 18 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GodsNectar
Not bad
Date:July 27, 2014
Smoothe and delicate for a Chanti.................................
Review 19 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baczi
Location:Jackson, MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delicious
Date:July 24, 2014
I can't recall having a Chianti before, but I loved this one.
Review 20 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlbuquerqueRoja
Location:Albuquerque, NM
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Collezione di Paolo Chianti DOCG 2012
Date:July 16, 2014
This was the first bottle I tried out of my first shipment from WSJwine. Color was rich and clear. Aroma and flavor were excellent.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>