Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009

“Paolo Masi makes wines with irreproachably clean fruit and abundant personality,” says Gambero Rosso, Italy’s top wine guide. Here’s his delicious, feast-ready Chianti – for good friends only – at a great savings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
6
51 out of 65(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Review 1 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
maddog2
Location:table Rock, SC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A disappointing chianti
Date:April 15, 2014
Color: dark plum cherry
Aroma: a bit musty/yeasty, otherwise flat.
Taste: Got better as it breathed, but fairly light bodied, dark berries, pretty good finish. A funky sangiovese.
2010 may have been gold medal quality, but 2011 definitely was not.
Review 2 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cyradia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Sour and One Dimensional
Date:April 11, 2014
First bottle I opened out of my Discovery intro package and it's a disappointment. It's easy enough to drink because it doesn't have a lot of flavor. A bit sour and certainly one dimensional. Light effervescence present - which is usually due to a secondary fermentation going on in the bottle and a flaw. Probably explains the overly sour notes. Paired it with homemade pizza with red sauce - should have been a good pairing for a Chianti, but it wasn't improved. This is very reminiscent of what I'd expect if I picked a < $8 bottle of Chianti off of the Trader Joe's shelf at random.
Response from WSJwine:By CustomerCareApril 12, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy the wine, perhaps a bad bottle? If you haven't already been refunded we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 3 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
capitanA
Location:Mid-michigan
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tastes like vinegar
Date:March 6, 2014
I received two bottles of this Chianti in my case. When I opened the first one it tasted "funny" (vinegar-like). So I thought it might be a bad bottle since I have ran into some bad bottles before. Opened the second bottle and the acid taste was there. My reference for Chianti is Ruffino, which despite being a wine you find at your local supermarket offers reasonable value and doesn't taste vinegar-like.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from WSJwine:By CustomerCareMarch 8, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for the wines you enjoy and we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 4 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MPMcFadden
Location:Davidson, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A very nice chianti
Date:March 6, 2014
I liked this wine initially and the more I let it breathe the more I enjoyed it. The first night I had it with gnocchi's and a homemade red sauce. They complimented each other nicely. The second night I enjoyed it without food. My recommendation would be to decant this wine and let it breathe for 30-45 minutes before enjoying.
Review 5 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
brianearz
Location:Pickerington, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Poured it out
Date:March 3, 2014
My introductory order has been very very good with the exception of the 2 Chiantis included. The first bottle was not that good but the 2nd bottle was awful. I have liked all of the other wines so far...this one tastes almost sour to me. I will admit, I am not a big Chianti fan (partial to Cab, Malbec & Syrah)....but even by Chianti standards, I did not enjoy this one at all.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMarch 4, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment, it sounds like a faulty bottle. We never want you to pay for any wines that you do not enjoy. We have refunded you for those bottles.
Review 6 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LifeIsAJourney
Location:Michigan
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Average chianti
Date:March 2, 2014
For me this is an average bottle of chianti, at best. Not bad, but it did not leave me wanting more and I would not purchase it again. Too many others to try out there!
First taste was light but with some tannins, not smooth like the chiantis I seem to prefer. I don't know the words to describe it. It did improve in the decanter after a bit.
Review 7 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TyWebb
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Mediocre at best
Date:March 1, 2014
Nothing special in this bottle. Easy to drink but left me wanting to open a different bottle.
Description: blackberry, metallic, light body, medium dry
Review 8 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaiquiriDan
Location:Covington, LA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Really Nice Chanti
Date:February 24, 2014
Enjoyed this wine with a Pepperoni Pizza. Very smooth.
Review 9 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Designmind65
Location:Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice
Date:February 13, 2014
I don't normally drink Chianti, and the few that I have tried I was not excited about, but this one I enjoyed OK, but still do not prefer chianti. Just doesn't work with my palette, I guess.
Review 10 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WineLover12
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Awesome Chianti
Date:February 6, 2014
Had this Chianti with a marinara pasta dish and it accompanied the meal wonderfully. The Chianti complemented the sauce and vice versa. I love Chiantis in general, but this is definitely one of my faves. Great value. Excellent fruity aroma and a deliciously pleasant finish. Enjoy!
Review 11 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marty
Location:Indialantic, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice chianti
Date:February 5, 2014
Nice taste. Smooth. No bite. Flavor medium. Would buy again.
Review 12 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MickyB
Location:Dayton, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Quite good
Date:February 4, 2014
I enjoyed this wine with a marinara pasta dish and it was very nice. I think both the wine and food tasted better with each other. I don't drink Chiantis very often, but enough to know what I like and this one I like. Nice cherry aroma and great finish.
Review 13 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CodyB
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Awesone Chianti
Date:February 3, 2014
This Chianti is very enjoyable. Very nice aroma of cocoa and cherry and great tannin. Has a wonderful bold finish. Would take this wine to any friends house with confidence they would enjoy also. And for the price you cant beat the value.
Review 14 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DavePS
Location:Greater Philly
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Tasty
Date:January 26, 2014
Happy with this one for a Chianti - cocoa, black cherry, good tannins.
Review 15 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gonho
Location:davidson nc
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
ok
Date:January 20, 2014
we are not chianti fans overall but this one was ok
Review 16 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrandonCohill
Location:New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
One of the best Chianti's I've had.
Date:January 13, 2014
This Chianti was extremely surprising. For a 100% Sangiovese you get what you often expect, heavy cherry notes and a great pair for Italian food. What surprised me was the amount of tannin. Wonderful mouthfeel and finish, one of the best Chianti's I've had recently!
Review 17 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmmwine
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
great leisure Chianti
Date:December 29, 2013
This Chianti works well after sitting in the decanter for roughly twenty minutes. Fruity on the nose and smooth on the finish
Review 18 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Viking
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A lovely Chianti
Date:December 28, 2013
Taste was very good. I have had better. The enjoyment however was out of this world
Review 19 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roger
Location:Miami
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good decantored
Date:December 12, 2013
Young wine gets better with aerator. Was acidic but twith a litlle air and decantor it turned out tobe a good dinner wine and a little sipping. Fruity and typical of Chianti. Dry, but not astringent.
Review 20 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jsps
Would buy again
Date:December 9, 2013
Enjoyed two bottles, nice and rich no bitter taste. Would buy again. Nice and rich. Good Chianti
1 2 next>>