Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009

“Paolo Masi makes wines with irreproachably clean fruit and abundant personality,” says Gambero Rosso, Italy’s top wine guide. Here’s his delicious, feast-ready Chianti – for good friends only – at a great savings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.554 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(251 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (251 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
99
3 stars
58
2 stars
12
1 star
28
175 out of 251(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Review 1 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CasualGlass
Location:Washington
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Too Young
Date:January 25, 2015
A tart, but a little wine. Should definitely be paired with a food, not to be had on its own. Reminded me of a homemade wine. Might need more time in the bottle.
Review 2 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MamasWine
Location:WV
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Just Good
Date:January 21, 2015
We are new to wines or at least to drinking better wines so dont let my review persuade you. This was the best dry wine we have ever had and we generally dont like dry. We will probably buy it again because, there is a place for it but, it wont be one we reach for all the time.
Review 3 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarvelousMarv
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Smooth Chianti
Date:January 16, 2015
Overall, a nice bottle with the farmy, earthy flavor Chiantis are known for. Very smooth, unlike other Chiantis. Moderate fruit. Easy drinking. Better than the 90-rated, Top 100 wine, Nippozano Chianti
Review 4 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hammer
Location:Cleveland, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not Bad
Date:January 15, 2015
I don't normally drink chianti, so I'm not the best one to review this wine. It was ok.
Review 5 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SandDollar
Location:Rye NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Light Bodied Chianti
Date:January 14, 2015
I love Sangiovese based wines, but this Chianti was somewhat of a disappointment. Very light bodied and mellow for a Chianti! Personally, I prefer a Chianti with a bit more “oomph”.
Review 6 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JonB
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice for a Chianti
Date:January 13, 2015
We dont drink many Chiantis but this was very nice.
Review 7 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PaulD
Location:SW Florida
Young but good
Date:January 13, 2015
Drinkable now, but needs a little time in the bottle
Review 8 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OG1010
Location:Lunenburg, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Corked?
Date:January 12, 2015
Opened the first of two of these bottles and, while it may be slightly corked, it may just be that there is a flavor to it that I do not find to be in keeping with other chiantis. This, from someone who, until now, would have been hard pressed to cite a chianti that he didn't like.
Review 9 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashley
Location:Aurora
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Chianti
Date:January 9, 2015
Well balanced, and fruity. I really enjoyed this wine. This was the first time I've tried a Chianti and I really enjoyed it.
Review 10 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Payit4wardken
Location:Pueblo Colorado
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Chianti 1-5-2015
Date:January 6, 2015
I had it for dinner with a nice grilled ribeye. Actually enjoyed the flavor more without a meal. I had begun tasting it prior to my meal. I am not familiar with chianti but this is a very pleasant wine.
Review 11 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Newblue
Location:Plymouth, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A little sharp
Date:January 6, 2015
Maybe it is too young. But I found the wine to be too sharp and acidic.
Review 12 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katty
Location:Hammondsport, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Everything, but the cork!
Date:January 3, 2015
Excellent wine, I got three in my shipment, and gave 2 as gifts. My father and I shared the bottle. We both enjoy a good, dry red, and this one has a great taste to it. It will be a definite in future orders.
Review 13 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TallPaul
Location:Wine Country, Oregon
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Classic classico
Date:January 2, 2015
Great example of Chianti Classico, very quaffable with that nice balance of juice and acidity, mellow and smooth
Review 14 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VineCruiser
Location:Northern California
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Harsh, unstructured
Date:December 29, 2014
No distinctive or characteristic Chianti flavor. A disappointment.
Review 15 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nikita
Location:New York, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
good wine
Date:December 29, 2014
me and my wife enjoyed this wine. bought 15 reds for the holidays. would buy this one again
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 29, 2014
Thanks for your review; we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2013! Here’s how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click:

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
Review 16 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WineAndMe
Location:MIddletown, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Surprisingly very good!
Date:December 28, 2014
I've never been much of a chianti drinker but when I tried this, I really liked it! I'll be ordering this one again.
Review 17 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MelS
Location:Wisconsin
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Nice wine with a richer meal
Date:December 27, 2014
This was my first experience with Chianti, and I found it very enjoyable. It's definitely slightly drier, but has a nice strong flavor. It went well with our rib meal, as well as the sausage and cheese I served for appetizers. It was also a nice drink on its own. I look forward to trying this again.
Review 18 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aero
Location:IndIanapolis
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Best Chianti
Date:December 25, 2014
This was one of the best Chiantis I have ever had. It paired extreme well with my family recipe for pasta and sauce. Multiple complex layers. I am glad I have a second bottle to share with friends.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Danielle
Location:NYC
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Maybe the bottle is corked
Date:December 22, 2014
Its possible the bottle I received is corked bc this wine seemed to get good reviews from others but to me this wine tastes like vinegar. I would not recommend.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 23, 2014
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any future wine club cases.
Review 20 for Collezione di Paolo Chianti 2009
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Azam
Location:Hartford, CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Delicious from start to finish
Date:December 21, 2014
Really enjoyed the story of this wine as well as the full rich flavor. Paired with some light pasta - wonderful!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>