Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Pillastro Primitivo 2010

A huge favorite with customers and wine show judges ... star winemaker Angelo Maci's sumptuous Primitivo from southern Italy has scooped over 60 awards, including SIX gold medals. One taste of his latest release and you’ll see why.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
51 out of 55(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Review 1 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jaclip
Location:Cape Cod, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great puglian
Date:October 8, 2014
I have enjoyed all of the Pillastro line and this vintage lives up to my expectations.
Review 2 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Too sweet & syrupy for our palates
Date:November 14, 2014
We have had multiple vintages of the Pillastro Primitivo over the years and overall we found the 2012 vintage to be our least favorite so far. Our biggest complaint is that we found it to be very syrupy and much sweeter than previous vintages making this more of a sipping / desert type of wine rather than a good pairing for a traditional Italian style meal. In my opinion it would be great with a nice piece of thick cheesecake for desert., It poured a very blackberry type of color. Its nose projected the aromas of dense & dark fruits with a good dose of cloves added in. On the palate it provided very plump, fleshy and syrupy sweet black fruit flavors with the cloves experienced on its nose translating over to the taste with a significant clove bite to it. The finish was nice and long. We still recommend this wine and you cannot argue its value for the price, but it will appeal more to novice red wine drinkers rather than seasoned red wine drinkers.
Review 3 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not as good as 2010
Date:November 9, 2014
This is a really good wine, especially for those zin lovers. very good value. Wine goes well with just about any food and even for sipping by itself. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because the 2010 was better... had a whole case of the 2010, and it was more complex and flavorful. Still a great wine for the money
Review 4 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skitchy
Location:Minneapolis, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Bold and Smooth
Date:October 19, 2014
This wine impresses everyone we serve it to. A great alternative to Cabs and Pinots we have so often. No tannin taste, yet bold and smooth with a great aftertaste.
Review 5 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mccaefer
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Spicy Italian
Date:October 14, 2014
Great flavor and an excellent table wine for an itialian feast. We drank it with a braised and pulled pork shoulder in a beer reduction and it was great.
Review 6 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tlsgreen
Location:Jacksonville Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Wonderful Red
Date:October 5, 2014
Very nice smooth drinking red. Would buy again and would give as a gift.
Review 7 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kidd
Location:Ohio
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Good Wine with anything
Date:October 3, 2014
This was a surprise in my cellar. I knew I had a few of these and had never actually sampled them.
Was looking through my stock and decided to try a bottle. Decanted it about an hour, severed it with good French cheeses and breads and WOW.
For price it is a Good wine!!!
Review 8 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Artie46
Location:Staten Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
House Wine
Date:July 28, 2014
I keep a case handy for guests who seem to like this one as much as I do.
Review 9 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MBHomer
Location:Phoenix, AZ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I love this stuff
Date:September 7, 2014
We've had the gold label reserve as well. It is a bit better. But this wine is just a terrific value and a pleasure to drink. I need more!
Review 10 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redwinelover
Location:NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful Red
Date:September 4, 2014
What a wonderful addition to my wine collection! Great with pasta, steak and even a burger....or just enjoying a glass at the end of a long day!
Review 11 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pasto911
Location:Brooklyn, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good lord!
Date:August 12, 2014
A full bodied Primitivo? I didn't believe it either. But my goodness, what a winner! We've reordered twice already.
If you are willing to step up a bit in price, the gold-labelled "gold selection" is a bit better. But if you're looking at this bottle as part of case order, by all means proceed! You won't be disappointed.
Review 12 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Artie46
Location:Staten Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
House Wine
Date:July 28, 2014
I keep a case handy for guests who seem to like this one as much as I do.
Review 13 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomCat
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
VERY ENJOYABLE
Date:July 22, 2014
Full bodied, velvety feel, long finish, drank the entire bottle in one sitting!
Review 14 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marks
Location:Medina
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best Bottle Yet
Date:July 14, 2014
We had the other night with friends and received numerous complements on the wine!!
Review 15 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
redwine5
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
One of my favorites
Date:July 12, 2014
Apple and clove, full-bodied, smooth, medium tannins, touch of sweet in the finish. Love this wine!
Review 16 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DebE
Location:New York City, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pillastro Primitivo
Date:July 6, 2014
Smooth and full bodied. I enjoyed drinking this wine.
Review 17 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gsdshahn
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
PIllastro Orimitivo 2011
Date:July 3, 2014
One of my Favorites with red meat or end of the day on its' own.
Review 18 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WineGal
Location:The Berkshires
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Super-smooth and fruity
Date:June 2, 2014
This wine's got some personality. Lots of really ripe blackberries and cherries. Nice spicy finish. It was Chinese delivery night at home, and I was really impressed with how good Pillastro went with my hot 'n spicy shredded chicken dish. I have another bottle (yay!), so I think I'll save it for my famous beef chili in the fall. Or maybe pizza later this week ...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnny66
Location:Denver
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Light but good.
Date:May 19, 2014
I bought this wine because one reviewer said if you like Syrah you'll like this wine. While mostly correct, the wine drinkers in my home found it enjoyable but a little light on flavor. It still rates 5 stars for quality and value!
Review 20 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AllRedsAllTheTime
Location:Jordan, Mn
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I must have received a bad bottle....
Date:May 8, 2014
I brought two if these to a dinner party along with several others. We opened this bottle first and it was horrible. It was musty and moldy. I was mortified. The host dumped what was left of it and we opened a different one. I will update this when I try another one I have in my collection. The cork was good and it was handled well since it was delivered. Really disappointing but even worse embarrassing. I'm so surprised it was a customer favorite.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMay 10, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment — we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
1 2 3 next>>