Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Pillastro Primitivo 2010

A huge favorite with customers and wine show judges ... star winemaker Angelo Maci's sumptuous Primitivo from southern Italy has scooped over 60 awards, including SIX gold medals. One taste of his latest release and you’ll see why.
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
46
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
87 out of 97(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Review 1 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taumbu
Location:NYC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful
Date:March 22, 2015
I really enjoyed this wine from the very first taste. For dinner or just sipping it works on every level.
Review 2 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Osprey
Location:Crystal River, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Enjoyable
Date:March 19, 2015
This is an easy wine to like. Very nice first taste and excellent finish. Good value and enjoyable with dinner or cheeses.
Review 3 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherryW
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Pugliese wine
Date:March 16, 2015
Having spent several months in southern Italy in recent years, I was eager to try this wine. I think it's now one of my favorites. I enjoyed it with meals and by itself. Just a nice wine.
Review 4 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cecco
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Value Italian Wine
Date:March 8, 2015
I enjoyed this Italian wine. Nothing complicated, but a good value for a wine that could be served with just about anything.
Review 5 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful wine
Date:March 6, 2015
This wine is one of my favorites. We have had two cases and we enjoyed every one. Good sipping wine and good with just about everything. It is very similar to a red Zin.
Review 6 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarvelousMarvin
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big, Fruity and Earthy Red
Date:March 3, 2015
I was surprised as this Primativo had bold fruit and tempered tannins to create a very enjoyable big red.
Review 7 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WineMan
Location:New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
One of the best
Date:February 19, 2015
One of the best wines I have had recently! Great value for the price.
Review 8 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marco
Location:New Hampshire
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Smooth
Date:February 15, 2015
Had it with Romaine and Gorgonzola salad. Good pairing.
Review 9 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarvelousMarv
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Sip on the Wild Side
Date:February 3, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised. Nice plum fruit, bramble and herbs. A bit of a wild flavor mix but very nice. Tamed tannins. Really good and easy drinking. It is well made and well priced.
Review 10 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wineforlife
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Could Drink Every Dinner
Date:January 25, 2015
Just as excellent to our taste as 2011. One of our dozen true favorites.
Review 11 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
goletamonitor
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good Primitivo
Date:January 4, 2015
AKA - Italian Zin. Nice wine with Italian or grilled food.
Review 12 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmh5
Location:Waynesboro,VA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Absolute
Date:December 29, 2014
This has so far been my absolute favorite of the shipment. Will buy again with it's rich fruit, short after taste and complex taste.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 29, 2014
Thanks for your review; we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Pillastro Primitivo 2012! Here’s how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click:

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
Review 13 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Iwona
Location:Europe
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not wotrh mentioning
Date:December 27, 2014
Its a pity it comes from Italy i wouldnt bother if it would have come from France but... Bad tasting not a wine at all avoid
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceDecember 28, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. That's where our money-back guarantee really helps - we'll be in touch soon.
Review 14 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jaclip
Location:Cape Cod, MA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Great puglian
Date:October 8, 2014
I have enjoyed all of the Pillastro line and this vintage lives up to my expectations.
Review 15 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Too sweet & syrupy for our palates
Date:November 14, 2014
We have had multiple vintages of the Pillastro Primitivo over the years and overall we found the 2012 vintage to be our least favorite so far. Our biggest complaint is that we found it to be very syrupy and much sweeter than previous vintages making this more of a sipping / desert type of wine rather than a good pairing for a traditional Italian style meal. In my opinion it would be great with a nice piece of thick cheesecake for desert., It poured a very blackberry type of color. Its nose projected the aromas of dense & dark fruits with a good dose of cloves added in. On the palate it provided very plump, fleshy and syrupy sweet black fruit flavors with the cloves experienced on its nose translating over to the taste with a significant clove bite to it. The finish was nice and long. We still recommend this wine and you cannot argue its value for the price, but it will appeal more to novice red wine drinkers rather than seasoned red wine drinkers.
Review 16 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Not as good as 2010
Date:November 9, 2014
This is a really good wine, especially for those zin lovers. very good value. Wine goes well with just about any food and even for sipping by itself. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because the 2010 was better... had a whole case of the 2010, and it was more complex and flavorful. Still a great wine for the money
Review 17 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skitchy
Location:Minneapolis, MN
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Bold and Smooth
Date:October 19, 2014
This wine impresses everyone we serve it to. A great alternative to Cabs and Pinots we have so often. No tannin taste, yet bold and smooth with a great aftertaste.
Review 18 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mccaefer
Location:Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Spicy Italian
Date:October 14, 2014
Great flavor and an excellent table wine for an itialian feast. We drank it with a braised and pulled pork shoulder in a beer reduction and it was great.
Review 19 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tlsgreen
Location:Jacksonville Florida
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Wonderful Red
Date:October 5, 2014
Very nice smooth drinking red. Would buy again and would give as a gift.
Review 20 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kidd
Location:Ohio
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Good Wine with anything
Date:October 3, 2014
This was a surprise in my cellar. I knew I had a few of these and had never actually sampled them.
Was looking through my stock and decided to try a bottle. Decanted it about an hour, severed it with good French cheeses and breads and WOW.
For price it is a Good wine!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>