Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Pillastro Primitivo 2010

A huge favorite with customers and wine show judges ... star winemaker Angelo Maci's sumptuous Primitivo from southern Italy has scooped over 60 awards, including SIX gold medals. One taste of his latest release and you’ll see why.
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
44 out of 48(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Review 1 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Artie46
Location:Staten Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
House Wine
Date:July 28, 2014
I keep a case handy for guests who seem to like this one as much as I do.
Review 2 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MBHomer
Location:Phoenix, AZ
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I love this stuff
Date:September 7, 2014
We've had the gold label reserve as well. It is a bit better. But this wine is just a terrific value and a pleasure to drink. I need more!
Review 3 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redwinelover
Location:NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful Red
Date:September 4, 2014
What a wonderful addition to my wine collection! Great with pasta, steak and even a burger....or just enjoying a glass at the end of a long day!
Review 4 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pasto911
Location:Brooklyn, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good lord!
Date:August 12, 2014
A full bodied Primitivo? I didn't believe it either. But my goodness, what a winner! We've reordered twice already.
If you are willing to step up a bit in price, the gold-labelled "gold selection" is a bit better. But if you're looking at this bottle as part of case order, by all means proceed! You won't be disappointed.
Review 5 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Artie46
Location:Staten Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
House Wine
Date:July 28, 2014
I keep a case handy for guests who seem to like this one as much as I do.
Review 6 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomCat
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
VERY ENJOYABLE
Date:July 22, 2014
Full bodied, velvety feel, long finish, drank the entire bottle in one sitting!
Review 7 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marks
Location:Medina
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Best Bottle Yet
Date:July 14, 2014
We had the other night with friends and received numerous complements on the wine!!
Review 8 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
redwine5
Location:Omaha, NE
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
One of my favorites
Date:July 12, 2014
Apple and clove, full-bodied, smooth, medium tannins, touch of sweet in the finish. Love this wine!
Review 9 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DebE
Location:New York City, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Pillastro Primitivo
Date:July 6, 2014
Smooth and full bodied. I enjoyed drinking this wine.
Review 10 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gsdshahn
Location:Connecticut
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
PIllastro Orimitivo 2011
Date:July 3, 2014
One of my Favorites with red meat or end of the day on its' own.
Review 11 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WineGal
Location:The Berkshires
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Super-smooth and fruity
Date:June 2, 2014
This wine's got some personality. Lots of really ripe blackberries and cherries. Nice spicy finish. It was Chinese delivery night at home, and I was really impressed with how good Pillastro went with my hot 'n spicy shredded chicken dish. I have another bottle (yay!), so I think I'll save it for my famous beef chili in the fall. Or maybe pizza later this week ...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnny66
Location:Denver
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Light but good.
Date:May 19, 2014
I bought this wine because one reviewer said if you like Syrah you'll like this wine. While mostly correct, the wine drinkers in my home found it enjoyable but a little light on flavor. It still rates 5 stars for quality and value!
Review 13 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AllRedsAllTheTime
Location:Jordan, Mn
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I must have received a bad bottle....
Date:May 8, 2014
I brought two if these to a dinner party along with several others. We opened this bottle first and it was horrible. It was musty and moldy. I was mortified. The host dumped what was left of it and we opened a different one. I will update this when I try another one I have in my collection. The cork was good and it was handled well since it was delivered. Really disappointing but even worse embarrassing. I'm so surprised it was a customer favorite.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer CareMay 10, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment — we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it.
Review 14 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ruminatus
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Solid wine
Date:May 4, 2014
I enjoyed this one immediately at the first taste and it really held its own a couple of days later, the taste changing remarkably little. It has a light well-balanced taste, not too fruity and with some interesting stuff going on. I kept thinking apples afterwards.
Review 15 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rockymountaingal
Location:Loveland CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Red Wine
Date:January 15, 2014
Excellent soft and inviting taste initially as well as the final notes...not usually a red wine drinker but this convinced me to become one...
Review 16 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson
Location:St. Louis, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Top Primitivo
Date:January 12, 2014
One of the best Primitivo's available at this price. Has great body to be paired with meat, yet is light enough to be a perfect compliment for wine and cheese parties. I recommend it to all my friends!
Review 17 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yanknc
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Enjoyed at Mark & Katie's
Date:January 3, 2014
Very smooth, good flavor, nice finish but a little light.
Gina also liked a lot.
Review 18 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarketingMaven
Location:Long Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Surprisingly delightful
Date:December 15, 2013
This is a good wine with cheese, snacks and friends. It is light and pleasantly refreshing even for someone who generally prefers full bodied reds.
Review 19 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Salle31
Location:Coastal Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Yum!
Date:December 13, 2013
Opened this last night to go with a leg of lamb. Perfect pairing and sooooo good!!
Review 20 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bill3
Location:Ridgewood, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
puglia
Date:October 15, 2013
we thought this drank like it was much better than the price
1 2 next>>