Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Pillastro Primitivo 2010

A huge favorite with customers and wine show judges ... star winemaker Angelo Maci's sumptuous Primitivo from southern Italy has scooped over 60 awards, including SIX gold medals. One taste of his latest release and you’ll see why.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
25 out of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Review 1 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rockymountaingal
Location:Loveland CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Great Red Wine
Date:January 15, 2014
Excellent soft and inviting taste initially as well as the final notes...not usually a red wine drinker but this convinced me to become one...
Review 2 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson
Location:St. Louis, MO
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
A Top Primitivo
Date:January 12, 2014
One of the best Primitivo's available at this price. Has great body to be paired with meat, yet is light enough to be a perfect compliment for wine and cheese parties. I recommend it to all my friends!
Review 3 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yanknc
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Enjoyed at Mark & Katie's
Date:January 3, 2014
Very smooth, good flavor, nice finish but a little light.
Gina also liked a lot.
Review 4 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarketingMaven
Location:Long Island, NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Surprisingly delightful
Date:December 15, 2013
This is a good wine with cheese, snacks and friends. It is light and pleasantly refreshing even for someone who generally prefers full bodied reds.
Review 5 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Salle31
Location:Coastal Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Yum!
Date:December 13, 2013
Opened this last night to go with a leg of lamb. Perfect pairing and sooooo good!!
Review 6 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bill3
Location:Ridgewood, NJ
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
puglia
Date:October 15, 2013
we thought this drank like it was much better than the price
Review 7 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Injuneer
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I bought a case
Date:August 25, 2013
This is my favorite in my introductory shipment. If you like red Zin, you will like this. I liked it enough that I bought a case. After drinking half of that case, like it more than ever!
Review 8 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wilhelm
Location:Cleveland, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Fair offering
Date:September 22, 2013
Pleasant and silky, but way too sweet for my palate.
Review 9 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Good Primitivo
Date:July 17, 2013
The 2010 Pillastro Primitivo turned out to be a good bottle of wine although not quite as good as the 2008 vintage. It poured an almost blackberry color. Its nose was quite interesting and it projected the aromas of black currants, smoke, tobacco leaf and some sweet smelling floral notes which I cannot define. It was soft on the palate with black currant & blackberry fruit flavors which were on the sweet and jammy side. The depth, complexity and finish could all be rated at medium. Overall a good bottle of wine for an easy on the pocket price.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JasonB
Location:Raleigh, NC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Smooth, Jammy, Very nice wine
Date:June 1, 2013
The nose is very jammy with smooth vanilla. I think "Toast with Jam". The finish of the nose hints a chocolate as well which made this a very nice surprise.
Blackberry jam with hints of chocolate and clay open up the flavor of the wine. It's dry but pretty well balanced. The clay flavor seems to linger. This would pair excellent with salami or any spicy meat. Perhaps a cajun ribeye.
I liked this wine and guessed it valued at $13. Close on the price point. If you have it, pair it well with medium rare steak cajun style and you will enjoy them both. I would buy this again.
Review 11 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parkerisoverrated
Location:Indiana
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
great
Date:March 1, 2013
wife and i loved it and have purchased more. complex flavors, very smooth.
Review 12 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ZinPunFail
Location:Florida
Flat
Date:January 18, 2013
The first taste of a primitivo for this zin lover, and it was a bad first impression I have to say. Tannins were non-existent, with poor structure and mouthfeel overall. Almost syrup-like, it would have been passable as a fruit-bomb sort of wine, but I didn't find the fruit very attractive. A slightly sweet dish could tamp down the syrupy quality and bring a little something out in the wine, but then again why bother.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWS007
Location:NW Indiana
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Versatile
Date:April 30, 2012
Dress this up with a fine dinner; dress it down on the patio; this wine does it all. I can't imagine not having a few onhand for that go-to wine that has so much versatility.
Review 14 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NewbaumTurk
Location:Columbus, OH
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
2007 vs. 2008
Date:January 19, 2012
I received the 2007, not the 2008. While the overall structure was good, it was damaged by a mustiness coming from the cork. It would have been a decent bottle otherwise...
Review 15 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jrtexas
Location:Mansfield, TX
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Our favorite
Date:January 7, 2012
This has become our favorite wine. A tremendous value, it goes very well with almost any meal or just for sipping. We have served it to many friends who have enjoyed it enough to order it for themselves.
Review 16 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MD53
Location:NW Indiana/Chicago
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Primitivo Perfection!!
Date:November 24, 2011
Bursting with cherry & licorice flavors on the palate and producing a silky smooth finish this wine is simply a dream to drink with or without food. I have tasted at least 15 other Primitivo's (many more expensive) and this one is hands down the best.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dayglowjim
Location:Arlington, VA.
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
One of my all time favorites.
Date:September 23, 2011
This wine surpasses "big" when it comes to flavor. Huge is more the description I would use! Silky, complex, and very deep, it is good with nearly any food, or all by itself!
Review 18 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeeHizzle
Location:Charlotte
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Pillastro Prego
Date:July 20, 2011
We have purchased CASES of this Primitivo. Very easy to drink. Not too dry and not overly complex. It has nice plum and chocolate notes. Enjoy anytime.
Review 19 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bubbleslv
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Exellent!!!
Date:April 1, 2011
This is one of my favorite wines so far, smooth and fruity, good with Italian dishes and also very enjoyable by it self . First I tried 2006 vintage and fell in love with a first sip, 2008 is as good and maybe even better. Love it!!!
Review 20 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2008.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GolfingMAD
Location:Bloomfield, MI
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Italian Wine Alternative to Chianti
Date:February 17, 2011
Really liked this wine. Have enjoyed a bottle on several occasions and has not dissapointed. Nice rich flavors, smooth, not acidic or too dry. Great with a variety of foods, especially red pasta sauces. I like it alone prior to dinner just as well. Very good value.
1 2 next>>