Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at WSJwine.

WSJwine Pillastro Primitivo 2010

A huge favorite with customers and wine show judges ... star winemaker Angelo Maci's sumptuous Primitivo from southern Italy has scooped over 60 awards, including SIX gold medals. One taste of his latest release and you’ll see why.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
62
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
4
119 out of 132(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
Review 1 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015
This was one of the smoothest red wines that I've ever had.
Review 2 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2015
Great experience, love the depth and complexity. I look forward to the wine improving with age.
Review 3 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2015
This zinfadel/primitivo is perfect with grilled meats!
Review 4 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy Again: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NYC & Denver
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Uninspiring
Date:July 29, 2015
After the buildup, I was looking for something more. Nothing remarkable about this wine. Some body and a bit of flavor, but not up to the suggestion of the nose. I won't give up on primitivos -- but I don't think I'd re-order Pillastro.
Good average wine for an evening after work with some antepasto.
Review 5 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2015
Always enjoy this not too complicated, but smooth and flavorful red with body galore.
Review 6 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Why doesn't this sell of $6.99?
Date:July 19, 2015
I have a hard time accepting that anyone likes this wine. Maybe I just don't like primitivo, but this wine - and some similar ones - may lead me to exit WSJwine.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJuly 22, 2015
We are sorry for the disappointment. A refund for this bottle has been made and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
Review 7 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy Again: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Primitivo Not
Date:July 8, 2015
My wife and I usually enjoy most Primitivo's but this one was disappointing. Not terrible just not real good. Very dry and almost an acidic finish. Did get a little better with some bread and cheese.
Review 8 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rye NY
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Date:July 7, 2015
Deliciously rich, full bodied red... Juicy,well structured, heavy w/ pigment & concentration ,,, This is a hearty wne compared to a more fruity, lighter zinfandel.
Overall, ~ a great Great Value!
Review 9 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
A Walk on the Wild Side
Date:June 30, 2015
This wine shows nice fruit with a bit of wildness, almost like a Syrah. It's not the most refined wine but an excellent example of Italian "country-style" wine. It's an enjoyable drink best paired with bbq or rich meats.
Review 10 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2013.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Remains Number One Favorite
Date:June 18, 2015
Wife and I both love this wine. We have many "favorites" but this one is THE FAVORITE.
Response from WSJwine:By Customer ServiceJune 19, 2015
Thanks for your review; we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Pillastro Primitivo! Here’s how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click:

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
Review 11 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
I'm a Fan
Date:June 1, 2015
I have become a big fan of primitivo (ironic since I'm lukewarm on zinfandel) and Pillastro is a very good one. It has attracted a lot of fans at our parties, surprisingly many are people not known for enjoying red wines. This is a very drinkable wine that has a permanent place in my cellar.
Review 12 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island
My Favorite Wine is:Red & White Wine
Primitivo getting better
Date:May 20, 2015
I've had some bad experiences with Primitivo, as the Italians haven't been as good at their cousin grape as California is at Zinfandel. This one is a relative 4 stars, meaning that this Primitivo is moving in the right direction, but there is much room for improvement it if wants to measure up to it's American cousins. Full, but not too jammy, with tons of flavor. A good steak wine.
Review 13 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful
Date:March 22, 2015
I really enjoyed this wine from the very first taste. For dinner or just sipping it works on every level.
Review 14 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crystal River, FL
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Enjoyable
Date:March 19, 2015
This is an easy wine to like. Very nice first taste and excellent finish. Good value and enjoyable with dinner or cheeses.
Review 15 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Nice Pugliese wine
Date:March 16, 2015
Having spent several months in southern Italy in recent years, I was eager to try this wine. I think it's now one of my favorites. I enjoyed it with meals and by itself. Just a nice wine.
Review 16 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Good Value Italian Wine
Date:March 8, 2015
I enjoyed this Italian wine. Nothing complicated, but a good value for a wine that could be served with just about anything.
Review 17 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Texas
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Wonderful wine
Date:March 6, 2015
This wine is one of my favorites. We have had two cases and we enjoyed every one. Good sipping wine and good with just about everything. It is very similar to a red Zin.
Review 18 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy Again: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Big, Fruity and Earthy Red
Date:March 3, 2015
I was surprised as this Primativo had bold fruit and tempered tannins to create a very enjoyable big red.
Review 19 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2011.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
One of the best
Date:February 19, 2015
One of the best wines I have had recently! Great value for the price.
Review 20 for Pillastro Primitivo 2010
This review is fromPillastro Primitivo 2012.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Again: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
My Favorite Wine is:Red Wine Only
Very Smooth
Date:February 15, 2015
Had it with Romaine and Gorgonzola salad. Good pairing.
1 2 3 4 next>>